We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre and very commercial”
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Great location and felt safe--convenient access to Medina and taxis. Samir, one of the riad staff, was always friendly and welcoming. Aside from that, everything else about Riad Tizwa was mediocre and very commercial. We stayed 5 nights--in Room 4 and Room 1. The rooms were okay, but they were not well laid out and there was always something that was not quite right. Room 4 was on the terrace level, smaller, but offered more privacy. The bathroom had a bathtub only, so when you showered, even when you're kneeling in the tub, the water would spray all over the bathroom and so the toilet, rug and counter all got wet. Room 1 was large with a sitting area and the bathroom was up a steep set of stairs. This bathroom was awkward: 1) The only place to put your stuff was in an original built-in tile shelf that didn't look like it got cleaned much 2) There was no separation between the small shower area and the rest of the bathroom and the shower head didn't work well, so water would spray all over the toilet and the entire bathroom floor (tile, luckily) would get wet. 3) the sink faucet was also warped, so water didn't flow properly and splashed as well. I'm under the impression that the current owners of Riad Tizwa bought the dar in decent condition and freshened up the building with very minor renovations--or perhaps more accurately "decorations", as it looks like they put in new items such as toilets, sinks, faucets/shower heads (ones that don't work properly), rugs (to cover the worn out areas of the floor), ceiling lamps and king size beds. Some reviews raved about the in-room robes and slippers, but the robes didn't look all that clean and had a few pieces of hair dangling. The latches on windows also didn't fit or shut properly. Breakfast was fine except that the cutlery and dishes were always dirty, so every morning I had to wipe off any residue or stain before eating. One time, there was a sizable red stain on a spoon and the riad staff noticed it, looked at it closely, stuck it right into the jam and made sure to stick the spoon deep enough into the jam as to hide the red stain--yes, this was part of our breakfast and happened right in front of us at our small table. Another time, the butter was served with cereal crumbs on the dish possibly from the breakfast of another guest? The riad also came across overly money-oriented--from the moment we were picked up, the riad driver asked us about our plans with the intention of selling us tours, and upon arrival at the riad, the staff seemed keen on offering their recommended companies and seemed quite protective over that--when we informed the riad that we had arranged on our own a driver to pick us up upon check out, they asked a bunch of questions. If you're looking for a riad that is clean, designed with guest comfort in mind, chic and priced appropriately for what you get, then Riad Tizwa is not the place for you. Riad Tizwa is not terrible, but it's definitely not anywhere close to a 4-star experience, nevermind the 5 that they claim they strive to be on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank concorde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadTizwa, owner at Riad Tizwa Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

This is a very bad review. When we read it we launched an investigation. It was clear the reviewers did not receive the quality of service our guests have expected over the time we have been opened.

This is what we found out:

Cleanliness - The Riad should always be scrupulously clean.

We found this couple were staying during the time our regular person was off due to illness. We are afraid the temporary cover wasn't as good as our regular employee.

We are relieved to say Nadia is now back and working as hard as ever to make sure the place is clean.

We replaced the shower head in Room 1 .

Money orientated - "The riad also came across overly money-oriented--from the moment we were picked up, the riad driver asked us about our plans with the intention of selling us tours". The drivers we use for the airport transfers are a different and separate company from us. We simply employ their services i.e. they are not part of the Riad, and we don't make a profit offering their services. So we feel like we are being wrongly accused here. However we did speak to the drivers about the fact these people felt sold to.

We absolutely don't want our guests to feel like they are in an over commercial atmosphere. That runs totally counter to our philosophy and the relaxed "at home" nature we instill in the Riad.

When you are looking for a Riad and want to judge how commerical it is here are some pointers; Ask how much it costs to have a bottle of mineral water in your room for when you arrive. With us it is free. Ask if pots of Moroccan tea are available at anytime day or night free of charge. Work out if Wifi exists and is freely accessible to guests.

The renovation ; - the reviewer says they believe we the owners " freshened up the building with very minor renovations--or perhaps more accurately "decorations"". The truth is somewhat different. We spent a whole year - with up to 15 people working in the Riad on any given time renovating the Riad. We knocked down walls, we added bathrooms, we completely built certain rooms. We replaced, added and renovated the tiling, the plasterwork and reinstated and improved many traditional features. We were fortunate that the building didn't need knocking down and starting again from scratch, which many people do. So to that extent, our renovation was small. But small for Fes... However - we spent a year turning what had been a private house in to the optimum use of the spaces for a Riad.

It is clear from this review we needed to buck up our act. We have and efforts have been redoubled as a result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

Located just inside the medina in Fes, Riad Tizwa is easy to find, even if you get lost in the medina. The staff are very helpful and efficient and can arrange good guides for the medina or for visits to local attractions, such as Meknes, Volubis and the Middle Atlas. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The Riad will serve you well cooked food if you order in advance. However, there are a number of eateries located about 5 minutes walk from the Riad. As the Riad has a "green" policy, it uses low energy light bulbs. If you like reading at night, you might want to take a head torch. We enjoyed our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChandlerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed at Riad Tizwa for 4 days after Christmas and it was 100% magnificent. The Riad has been renovated with a beautiful eye for detail and with a new element of chic

The place – and specifically the breakfasts were wonderful – its’ like a private palace and the hospitality is perfect.

The staff was helpful and knowledgeable, the rooms comfortable and the location, the best in fes.

The soap is natural and just wonderful in the rooms. I have already recommended the riad to many friends and my advice to you if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Fes: is this place is beautiful

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngmumroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We spent 10 days between December 2009 and January 2010, this riad is a very nice place to be, walking distance from the medina, the staff (day and night) is always there to help and to pamper you, really nice people. We had a wonderful bedroom duplex type with fireplace, when weather permitted we had breakfeast on the terrace. The place is top clean and everybody make you feel at home. I surely recommand this riad if you plan on visiting Fes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat_andalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Based on the website and the pictures, I was expecting this Riad to be the best hotel of my stay, but there were lots of little problems that added up to a not-so-great stay.

Pros: it's beautiful, eco-conscious, generous with its breakfast, conveniently located, has pleasant staff, and clearly aspires to be a higher-end boutique riad.

Cons: Not all rooms are created equal--the room we were given (only ones left due to the high season) was sized for children/midgets and claustrophobic. Ceilings of bedroom and bathroom were only 6 or 7ft high. We were warned but didn't expect it to be that bad. They shouldn't rent them out at all.

Felt like it was a poor value for what we ended up getting.

Arranged train station pickup did not show, had to call to get someone to fetch us which they did so promptly.

Cleanliness was not great. Hairs found on the bedsheets.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank paperscissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Riad Tizwa in Fes. Our experience was very good. The staff could not have been more kind and friendly. We were in Room 1, which we thought was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent. Since the weather was good, we took breakfast on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the city with a view of the mountains. We had a dinner there, which was also excellent. They arranged a guide for us for a half day, and he was excellent. I plan to return, and also try their other Moroccan riads.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cndwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Beautiful, affordable riad in a great location. Super quiet. Great breakfast on the rooftop every morning. Miriam and staff were very welcoming and spoke very good English. We stayed in Room #2, which was on the top floor. Really pretty fairly large room but small bathroom with a bit of an awkward shower with very little water pressure. We could have paid more to stay in a bigger room with a better bathroom. Room 4 is the best! Huge bathroom with tub and on the rooftop, so totally separate. Get that if you can.
The first night we arrived the staff sent us to an amazing restaurant around the corner but it was $$$$. Try to stick with recommendations of places to eat off trip advisor. More affordable. One that we loved was le kasbah and cafe clock, both nearby.
The riad staff also hooked us up with 2 great tours. One of the medina which was amazing and the other tour of the mid-atlas mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aef9892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#51 of 100 in Fes
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#42 of 100 in Fes
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 100 in Fes
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#21 of 100 in Fes
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#14 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £36 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing