We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice place, but not sure”
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Great location, 5 mins or so from the main gate, in the Batha area of Fes. Close to the recommended cheap restaurants and the main entrance of the medina. Taxis etc close by. Cars are not allowed in the medina, so this had the advantage of being able to drive right up to it. Very quiet.

The night staff were great. Didn't see so much of the manager. Beautiful riad. Nice roof terrace. Ate there one night and it was fantastic, one of the best meals we had. Breakfast (on the roof) was good. Included cereal and fruit salad (with avocado?!) which was a nice variation. Same every day. Pancakes might have been nice if only they had been fresh and hot - perhaps a bit less butter.

We stayed in room 3 and it was OK. Nice, spacious, but very dark, the only light place was the dressing room, which had lots of hangers, but no shelving / nowhere to put anything else. The shower was in the bathroom, so the whole place got soaked and flooded (but great pressure). There were many hazards that my 6' boyfriend kept hitting his head on - beams in bathroom, main light and the bed frame. Ceiling low in bathroom, but high in bedroom. Bed was pretty hard, but OK. Never replaced the soap that was all but gone after day one - but that's minor! So close to being great, but not quite there (in our room).

Kindly made us lunch for the train (we'd asked if they could get an extra baguette on our behalf when they got the bread for breakfast), was just half a baguette each, with butter and cheese, an apple and banana each and then it cost us £5.

For the location, I'd recommend. For the rooms, not so sure. Looked in another one and it was small, with very low ceilings too. The downstairs one looked good. Thought it was pretty expensive - double what we paid in Marrakech, but maybe that is Fes? So I was disappointed for the price. It's by no means bad, but for the price, I feel disappointed. We left it too late booking though. If you are more organised, you can probably do better!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadTizwa, owner at Riad Tizwa Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

We are very disappointed these people left the Riad not having had the best time.

We are not be a huge international hotel brand we are, a family run Raid whose sole purpose is to make sure people have as good a time as possible whilst they are with us. We'll do everything we can to make that possible.

The review starts well enough with recognising the benefits of our location - so close to the action but also easily accessible by cars. It mentions how lovely their dinner was on the roof terrace. We are very happy that some of the characteristics that drew us to this particular house are recognised in this review.

However as it continues the tone goes down hill. The breakfast seems to be a particular point. Mentioning "perhaps a bit less butter" on the pancakes - its difficult what to say about that - because clearly we can't do anything about it now. But we'd like to say - if you would like to change anything in the breakfast or indeed anything else during your stay please just say. We'll do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Our whole idea about breakfast came from one thought; we were sick of having to set an alarm in other hotels to get up in time for breakfast. We didn't want to miss out. So when we created our own place we decide a particular breakfast ethos which is "anytime anyplace anywhere" - so far the latest we've served breakfast is 4pm, beat that if you can!


On Room 3 - They say the only place with light is the dressing room. We find that surprising because the window in the bedroom is huge and over looks the courtyard . It has shutters so perhaps they didn't open them during the day we don't know but light streams in to the room which is made up of a large bedroom with both a dressing room and shower room en suite.

They mention that the dressing room doesn't have shelves, this is indeed true but there is also a full wardrobe in the bedroom. However hearing this we'll look in to the possibility of adding shelves in the dressing room too. The shower room is a traditional Moroccan set up - what we'd call a wetroom. But if the room gets too wet perhaps we'll look at reducing the water pressure. It is possible however to reduce the amount of water by simply not turning them on fully.


When it comes to price - we don't know how many Riads they looked at before choosing ours but we've done a lot of research. We continually look at what other equivalent Riads offer and at what price and we believe we come out really quite favourably.

On the whole this review is not terrible, it is just not as good as we'd like it to be. We'd like everyone who stays with us to really enjoy the Riad. Fes is a fantastic place and we've picked people to work in the Riad specifically because they know a lot about the city, they love their city - they are there as a resource for guests to chat, ask questions and advice.

Please do help us to help you thoroughly enjoy your stay - that is what we are here for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Riad Tizwa Fes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2010

Location: The riad is located near the edge of the medina-an ideal location for the visitor. It's a short walk from the taxi (I'd recommend that you ask the riad to send a car for you whether you arrive by train or air), and very close to the historic Blue Gate. It's very easy to dive into the maze of the medina from the riad, but my wife and I were also able to find our way back each night without difficulty.
Rooms: The rooms were the most luxurious that we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Each room has it's own private restroom (in fact, ours had 2!), and is tastefully decorated. All of the rooms look out over a central courtyard area. The bed we had was large and beautiful (tough to beat the four-poster with curtains around it), and firm but comfortable.
Food: One highlight of Riad Tizwa is the complementary breakfast each morning. Because the weather was wonderful, we ate breakfast on the rooftop terrace, which has beautiful views of the medina. The food was wonderful; Moroccan crepes, muesli, riad-made yogurt, pastries, as well as delicious coffee, tea, and fresh squeezed orange juice. We also (because of tripadvisor recomendations) had dinner one night at the riad. My wife and I both really enjoyed the lamb tangine, and, especially, the hearty soup that accompanied it.
Eco-Friendly: The riad prides itself on being eco-concious, which manifests itself in several ways. One is the riad-made soap and shampoos that are provided in the rooms. They were wonderful, and my wife wanted to take them home with us when we left. They also provide reusable bags for your use when shopping in the riad. The riad is really clean, and although there is a real eco-focus, it does not compromise the luxury of the experience.

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Riad Tizwa. Miriam, Samir, Mohammad, and the rest of the staff speak excellent English and are so attentive and courteous. In fact, after dinner one evening I spent an enjoyable hour or so playing chess with Mohammad. From the wonderful mint tea on arrival to the moment that we checked out, we were thrilled that we chose Riad Tizwa for our stay in Fes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReamsPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We are regular travellers to Fez & this is the second time in Tizwa. There will be many more times in the future. The Riad is ideally located for the medina, restaurants etc. Its in a safe location where you can walk happily at night. The Riad is clean, with good rooms & great breakfasts, but the most important thing is that this Riad feels like your own home. The staff are friendly & helpful, always happy to get you tea or coffee etc whenever you want it, however they will equally leave you to relax on the roof terrace and not bother you at all. I really cant say enough good things about them. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are good, beds comfortable, always plenty of hot water. The communal areas are also useable & comfortable. For those people worrying about carpets covering worn tiles, this is Morocco, that's part of the charm. Who wants everything pristine & perfect?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TrippersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Great location and felt safe--convenient access to Medina and taxis. Samir, one of the riad staff, was always friendly and welcoming. Aside from that, everything else about Riad Tizwa was mediocre and very commercial. We stayed 5 nights--in Room 4 and Room 1. The rooms were okay, but they were not well laid out and there was always something that was not quite right. Room 4 was on the terrace level, smaller, but offered more privacy. The bathroom had a bathtub only, so when you showered, even when you're kneeling in the tub, the water would spray all over the bathroom and so the toilet, rug and counter all got wet. Room 1 was large with a sitting area and the bathroom was up a steep set of stairs. This bathroom was awkward: 1) The only place to put your stuff was in an original built-in tile shelf that didn't look like it got cleaned much 2) There was no separation between the small shower area and the rest of the bathroom and the shower head didn't work well, so water would spray all over the toilet and the entire bathroom floor (tile, luckily) would get wet. 3) the sink faucet was also warped, so water didn't flow properly and splashed as well. I'm under the impression that the current owners of Riad Tizwa bought the dar in decent condition and freshened up the building with very minor renovations--or perhaps more accurately "decorations", as it looks like they put in new items such as toilets, sinks, faucets/shower heads (ones that don't work properly), rugs (to cover the worn out areas of the floor), ceiling lamps and king size beds. Some reviews raved about the in-room robes and slippers, but the robes didn't look all that clean and had a few pieces of hair dangling. The latches on windows also didn't fit or shut properly. Breakfast was fine except that the cutlery and dishes were always dirty, so every morning I had to wipe off any residue or stain before eating. One time, there was a sizable red stain on a spoon and the riad staff noticed it, looked at it closely, stuck it right into the jam and made sure to stick the spoon deep enough into the jam as to hide the red stain--yes, this was part of our breakfast and happened right in front of us at our small table. Another time, the butter was served with cereal crumbs on the dish possibly from the breakfast of another guest? The riad also came across overly money-oriented--from the moment we were picked up, the riad driver asked us about our plans with the intention of selling us tours, and upon arrival at the riad, the staff seemed keen on offering their recommended companies and seemed quite protective over that--when we informed the riad that we had arranged on our own a driver to pick us up upon check out, they asked a bunch of questions. If you're looking for a riad that is clean, designed with guest comfort in mind, chic and priced appropriately for what you get, then Riad Tizwa is not the place for you. Riad Tizwa is not terrible, but it's definitely not anywhere close to a 4-star experience, nevermind the 5 that they claim they strive to be on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank concorde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadTizwa, owner at Riad Tizwa Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

This is a very bad review. When we read it we launched an investigation. It was clear the reviewers did not receive the quality of service our guests have expected over the time we have been opened.

This is what we found out:

Cleanliness - The Riad should always be scrupulously clean.

We found this couple were staying during the time our regular person was off due to illness. We are afraid the temporary cover wasn't as good as our regular employee.

We are relieved to say Nadia is now back and working as hard as ever to make sure the place is clean.

We replaced the shower head in Room 1 .

Money orientated - "The riad also came across overly money-oriented--from the moment we were picked up, the riad driver asked us about our plans with the intention of selling us tours". The drivers we use for the airport transfers are a different and separate company from us. We simply employ their services i.e. they are not part of the Riad, and we don't make a profit offering their services. So we feel like we are being wrongly accused here. However we did speak to the drivers about the fact these people felt sold to.

We absolutely don't want our guests to feel like they are in an over commercial atmosphere. That runs totally counter to our philosophy and the relaxed "at home" nature we instill in the Riad.

When you are looking for a Riad and want to judge how commerical it is here are some pointers; Ask how much it costs to have a bottle of mineral water in your room for when you arrive. With us it is free. Ask if pots of Moroccan tea are available at anytime day or night free of charge. Work out if Wifi exists and is freely accessible to guests.

The renovation ; - the reviewer says they believe we the owners " freshened up the building with very minor renovations--or perhaps more accurately "decorations"". The truth is somewhat different. We spent a whole year - with up to 15 people working in the Riad on any given time renovating the Riad. We knocked down walls, we added bathrooms, we completely built certain rooms. We replaced, added and renovated the tiling, the plasterwork and reinstated and improved many traditional features. We were fortunate that the building didn't need knocking down and starting again from scratch, which many people do. So to that extent, our renovation was small. But small for Fes... However - we spent a year turning what had been a private house in to the optimum use of the spaces for a Riad.

It is clear from this review we needed to buck up our act. We have and efforts have been redoubled as a result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Located just inside the medina in Fes, Riad Tizwa is easy to find, even if you get lost in the medina. The staff are very helpful and efficient and can arrange good guides for the medina or for visits to local attractions, such as Meknes, Volubis and the Middle Atlas. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The Riad will serve you well cooked food if you order in advance. However, there are a number of eateries located about 5 minutes walk from the Riad. As the Riad has a "green" policy, it uses low energy light bulbs. If you like reading at night, you might want to take a head torch. We enjoyed our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChandlerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed at Riad Tizwa for 4 days after Christmas and it was 100% magnificent. The Riad has been renovated with a beautiful eye for detail and with a new element of chic

The place – and specifically the breakfasts were wonderful – its’ like a private palace and the hospitality is perfect.

The staff was helpful and knowledgeable, the rooms comfortable and the location, the best in fes.

The soap is natural and just wonderful in the rooms. I have already recommended the riad to many friends and my advice to you if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Fes: is this place is beautiful

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngmumroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We spent 10 days between December 2009 and January 2010, this riad is a very nice place to be, walking distance from the medina, the staff (day and night) is always there to help and to pamper you, really nice people. We had a wonderful bedroom duplex type with fireplace, when weather permitted we had breakfeast on the terrace. The place is top clean and everybody make you feel at home. I surely recommand this riad if you plan on visiting Fes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat_andalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#43 of 100 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#20 of 100 in Fes
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#45 of 100 in Fes
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#14 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £35 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing