We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, Style and Comfor in Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace, Style and Comfor in Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Riad Tizwa - the title of my review sums it up!

A much needed holiday before my friend and I had a nervous breakdown from work related stress and cancelled holiday in April due to the volcano, we were looking for somewhere that would treat us kindly, enable us to feel relaxed, provide beautiful surroundings and for not exorbitant amounts of money! Tall order? No! From the moment I fired off the first email enquiry, a reply shot back from Richard which immediately provided peace of mind of the efficient and hospitable service we were to receive from then on.

We arranged through the Riad to be collected at the airport and upon our arrival were greeted warmly by Miriam, a lovely warm and friendly local lady who manages the Riad with an air of calm. Whilst Miriam poured out our freshly brewed mint tea she explained the layout of Riad Tizwa, asked us what we would like to do and how she could help in any way to book guides, told us the best places to go for views, for shopping and for a wonderful hamam spa treatment.

Riad Tizwa is restored to a high standard, reclaiming original architecture and features, providing modern touches of decor in a simplistic and stylish manner - splashes of colour from cushions and soft furnishings, echoing the fabulous colours of the stained glass panels above the windows and the beautiful Moroccan lamps that were to be found in every room. The soft glow of the candles that were lit every night transformed the central courtyard into a magical place to come back to after an evening out or whilst having a fantastic meal in the main salon.

The dinners were probably the best we had whilst in Fez, certainly in the Medina. The ingredients freshly bought that morning in the souk, and served at a time of our choice (just as breakfast is - such bliss), the rose petals strewn across the low tables and the all the little bowls of hot and cold dishes that were served as a starter was just subliminal. The main dishes of rabbit and lamb were divine and the Moroccan wine was an excellent choice to wash it down. All served by a terrific guy called Taha, who usually had an exotic choice of material wrapped around his head because in his words 'his hair is a little bit mad'!

We had booked another 2 nights at Riad Tizwa at the end of our 10 day trip around northern Morocco and the response to our knock on the big oak entrance door was met by Taha, who welcomed us with a huge smile and lots of hugging, saying 'welcome home'! It did indeed feel like coming home, back to our familiar room and surroundings.
Back to the wonderful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, looking at the great views that surrond Fez, the life going on around us on all the other roof terraces - it was another world and one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

The location is absolutely perfect, a safe district, close to the Petite Taxi rank and easy to walk in to the souk and other areas. Our thanks go to Miriam and 'all her boys' who help run the riad and make it such a special place. We send her our very best wishes for the birth of her first child and hope she returns very soon as she promised us.

Riad Tizwa I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
105
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

This was my second stay at Riad Fes Tizwa and I hope to make it there again soon! The staff of Riad Fes was outstanding and accomadated our every need!

Samir was a great help! He actually met us by the old medina and walked us to the Riad.
He had tea ready upon our arrival and checked with each of our 15 guests to make sure we all were comfortable in our rooms. It's rare to find such care filled service!

If the weather is nice get yourself up on the roof top for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Perhaps the most gorgeous view of the culture filled Fes Medina!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We arrived at Riad Tizwa at short notice after another booking fell through. It is in a convenient area in the medina, close to Batha for car access, and is (relatively) easy to find.

We were immediately made to feel at home with mint tea and a tour of the Riad. The courtyard is beautiful and light, and there is a terrace on the roof.

We had a choice of rooms, all large, comfortable and unique, at different price points. We chose the cheapest and were very happy with the large four-poster bed, bathroom and separate dressing room. The only slight downside to this room was the dim lighting - the Moroccan lamps create a beautiful atmosphere but were not very practical.

The staff were friendly and attentive, and were happy to help us out with any requests or questions about the medina. A definite highlight was breakfast on the terrace - delicious and a great way to start the day in Fes!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Beautiful place to be.

Its one of the most beautiful riads i have seen so far. Fes is amazing and this place is the place to stay.

Great location, breakfast on the terrace is quite amazing and the staff really helpful.

Place to park nearby was helpful too

The room was huge - room 1

Ipod recharging was a life saver

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I recently spent 4 nights at Riad Tizwa in April before moving to the Ville Nouvelle near the Arabic Language Center to begin studying Moroccan Arabic. I have been to Morocco several times for both business and pleasure, but this is my first visit to Fes. Met at the train station by Abdellatif from the riad, I was whisked (delightfully) through the new town North to the Mdiina with running geographical and cultural commentary.

I had packed two oversize suit cases for my 7 week stay and was not looking forward to a long trudge from the car park. A short block & a half walk later Abdellatif was ringing the door bell and motioning me to enter. The customary narrow entrance opened onto a large and very high ceilinged central courtyard of exquisite zellige tile, carved plaster and painted wood ceilings.

With in minutes I was seated with a freshly brewed pot of mint tea and talking with the staff about what I wanted from my stay. Hospitality seems a natural born trait of Moroccans and Merieme, Samir and the crew have it in spades. As to amenities: beautiful rooms, robust breakfasts, delightful roof terrace (roof tops reveal parts of Moroccan life unlike anything else) and by far some of the best meals I’ve had in Morocco. What really strikes me is the personality of the Riad and staff. Within an hour of arriving I felt like I was in my home with family. They arranged guides and transportation, recommended restaurants and places to visit only after we had discussed exacly what it was I really wanted. I mentioned one time I’d like to learn how to make mint tea. Merieme brought me right to the kitchen and within 15 minutes I had brewed my first pot of Atay b’ naA naAA.

Not only will I go back to Riad Tizwa for future accommodations, I go back now, once or twice a week, for tea, a wonderfully cooked meal and the pleasure of good conversation and company.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank schnittguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

My wife and i stayed at Riad Tizwa for 4 nights being the first part of our honeymoon and it was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys who helped and served us (Samir and Taha). Miriam who was also there was very helpful too. Our room was beautiful, very clean and tidy with it's own separate shower room and dressing room on 2 floors. We can't thank everyone enough for their hospitality and would thoroughly recommend this riad to anyone. The streets of Fes are a maze and it is hot and you will get stopped, and haggled with however that is part of the experience and it's not as bad as Marrakesh. At least you know you can come back to the riad and Samir would normally great us with a welcoming smile and a nice mint tea to take away any frustrations either in your room or on the lovely roof terrace!! Great place, great food and very relaxing. Thanks again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Great location, 5 mins or so from the main gate, in the Batha area of Fes. Close to the recommended cheap restaurants and the main entrance of the medina. Taxis etc close by. Cars are not allowed in the medina, so this had the advantage of being able to drive right up to it. Very quiet.

The night staff were great. Didn't see so much of the manager. Beautiful riad. Nice roof terrace. Ate there one night and it was fantastic, one of the best meals we had. Breakfast (on the roof) was good. Included cereal and fruit salad (with avocado?!) which was a nice variation. Same every day. Pancakes might have been nice if only they had been fresh and hot - perhaps a bit less butter.

We stayed in room 3 and it was OK. Nice, spacious, but very dark, the only light place was the dressing room, which had lots of hangers, but no shelving / nowhere to put anything else. The shower was in the bathroom, so the whole place got soaked and flooded (but great pressure). There were many hazards that my 6' boyfriend kept hitting his head on - beams in bathroom, main light and the bed frame. Ceiling low in bathroom, but high in bedroom. Bed was pretty hard, but OK. Never replaced the soap that was all but gone after day one - but that's minor! So close to being great, but not quite there (in our room).

Kindly made us lunch for the train (we'd asked if they could get an extra baguette on our behalf when they got the bread for breakfast), was just half a baguette each, with butter and cheese, an apple and banana each and then it cost us £5.

For the location, I'd recommend. For the rooms, not so sure. Looked in another one and it was small, with very low ceilings too. The downstairs one looked good. Thought it was pretty expensive - double what we paid in Marrakech, but maybe that is Fes? So I was disappointed for the price. It's by no means bad, but for the price, I feel disappointed. We left it too late booking though. If you are more organised, you can probably do better!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadTizwa, owner at Riad Tizwa Fes, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
We are very disappointed these people left the Riad not having had the best time.

We are not be a huge international hotel brand we are, a family run Raid whose sole purpose is to make sure people have as good a time as possible whilst they are with us. We'll do everything we can to make that possible.

The review starts well enough with recognising the benefits of our location - so close to the action but also easily accessible by cars. It mentions how lovely their dinner was on the roof terrace. We are very happy that some of the characteristics that drew us to this particular house are recognised in this review.

However as it continues the tone goes down hill. The breakfast seems to be a particular point. Mentioning "perhaps a bit less butter" on the pancakes - its difficult what to say about that - because clearly we can't do anything about it now. But we'd like to say - if you would like to change anything in the breakfast or indeed anything else during your stay please just say. We'll do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Our whole idea about breakfast came from one thought; we were sick of having to set an alarm in other hotels to get up in time for breakfast. We didn't want to miss out. So when we created our own place we decide a particular breakfast ethos which is "anytime anyplace anywhere" - so far the latest we've served breakfast is 4pm, beat that if you can!


On Room 3 - They say the only place with light is the dressing room. We find that surprising because the window in the bedroom is huge and over looks the courtyard . It has shutters so perhaps they didn't open them during the day we don't know but light streams in to the room which is made up of a large bedroom with both a dressing room and shower room en suite.

They mention that the dressing room doesn't have shelves, this is indeed true but there is also a full wardrobe in the bedroom. However hearing this we'll look in to the possibility of adding shelves in the dressing room too. The shower room is a traditional Moroccan set up - what we'd call a wetroom. But if the room gets too wet perhaps we'll look at reducing the water pressure. It is possible however to reduce the amount of water by simply not turning them on fully.


When it comes to price - we don't know how many Riads they looked at before choosing ours but we've done a lot of research. We continually look at what other equivalent Riads offer and at what price and we believe we come out really quite favourably.

On the whole this review is not terrible, it is just not as good as we'd like it to be. We'd like everyone who stays with us to really enjoy the Riad. Fes is a fantastic place and we've picked people to work in the Riad specifically because they know a lot about the city, they love their city - they are there as a resource for guests to chat, ask questions and advice.

Please do help us to help you thoroughly enjoy your stay - that is what we are here for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#50 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#29 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Property: Riad Tizwa Fes
Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing