We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, beautiful riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location, beautiful riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Fez and thought the riad was stunning. The location was good and the breakfast delicious. The room was very comfortable and traditionally decorated. We enjoyed chatting to our host and was the only local we spoke to in Morocco who gave us a better idea of what growing up in Morocco was like. It was easy to book the accomodation and the owner went out of his way to recommend places for us to eat on arrival and arranged a shuttle service from the airport (although expensive, very convenient). We would stay in this riad again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSkinner83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
105
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed with two girl friends at this superb Moroccan Riad. From the moment you walk through the huge old wooden doors and into the cool interior courtyard you feel calm and relaxed, a perfect antidote to the bustling, hectic Medina. The staff are very attentive in a non intrusive way ... you really feel like Riad Tizaw is your home while you are there but with staff on hand to look after you. Good English and French spoken and they can offer advice on places to eat and other trips. Beautiful views from the roof terrace, a wonderful place to enjoy the scrummy breakfast of museli, fresh fruits, bread pain au choc and yoghurt. Lovely furnishings, extremely comfortable beds and splendid architectural features all add to the comfort and ambience. This is a real gem and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoukmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Morocco and Riad Tizwa have become synonymous to me. Once again it was a delight to be able to enjoy the comfort of Riad Tizwa, Marrakech even if it was only for one night/day prior to taking the evening train to Fes. All our travel arrangements having been organised by Sanna the manager. The 7–8 hour journey is tedious but made less so by the ever-helpful staff at Riad Tizwa, making-up packed sandwiches, fruit and drinks for the journey. We were met at Fes station and whisked off by car to Riad Tiizwa, Fes – and in a most comfortable bed, 30 minutes later.
Ryanair's (recentl) direct flight from Edinburgh to Marrakech had encouraged me to revisit Morocco and Fes's Annual International Music Festival of Sacred Music. I had been to both Riads Tizwa last year and was pleased to see that the wonderful breakfasts can still be had where and when one wished. I recommend the terrace in both cities. The staff in both riads could not be more helpful, serving the ever welcome mint tea or cold drinks, at the drop of a hat. The return trip to Marrakech, a few days later, was again organised by the manager, this time Merieme. Another night/day in Riad Tizwa, Marrakech, a short car trip to the airport and home to Edinburgh in less than four hours.
All in all a great trip, made all the better by the hospitality of the Moroccan people and Riads Tizwa's staff in particular.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyPurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

My wife and I took a 3 week break to see morocco and really lucked out. This riad is beautiful. Real simple to find, friendly and just sorelaxed. There is a real home environment here ( and they are environmental too)

We had trekked down from south of spain in to tangier and made our way on the overnight train to marrakech (which was like lying on a hard board and being shaken all night ) - but it saved quiet a bit of time (so we found out when we took the train north to Fes),

We first stayed in marrakesh which was really comfortable, so we booked the riad in Fes too. This riad is so beautiful and grand, but it still feels like a home. It was also relaxed and the staff were very good.

The Marrakesh staff helped get us from riad to riad and even made a packed dinner for the train. The long train!

Fes is more pretty and grand as a city and far more cultural. The riad is easy to find and they got us a guide to help us navigate through those impossible streets (watch our for the donkeys)

It was also romantic and the room was huge. Like really big.

great place to be

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Gorgeous riad in the Batha neighborhood of the medina. As someone mentioned, cabs can go to the square about 4-5 mins walk from the riad -- a plus. We stayed 2 nights in #1 which is basically an apartment in 2 floors - 1 large BR/living room, 1 shower/toilet, 1 toilet, and a walk-in closet (which can realistically sleep 1 person as long as they are not claustrophic). Its like having your own awesomely decorated house! A great haven for us.

Samir and Taha were very helpful. You can ask for breakfast anytime and anywhere (your room, the courtyard, the terrace) and they will get it for you. Free WiFi. They also serve food but we ate out.

The only suggestion I would make to mgmt is to put a mirror in the bedroom of Suite 1. It was tiring to go up and down the stairs (and the steps are steep!) just to get to a mirror. Someone else mentioned that the shower and toilet do not have a partition -- we were mostly OK with that, just part of the charm of the riad.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Riad Tizwa was a great refuge in the bustling city of Fes. We felt comfortable in the spacious and beautifully appointed courtyard and the dining room. Our room (#1) was large and welcoming. The tile work throughout the riad is spectacular and we loved the bathroom with the copper sink. Samir and Taha were very helpful. Would definitely stay there again if we are in Fes.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Riad Tizwa - the title of my review sums it up!

A much needed holiday before my friend and I had a nervous breakdown from work related stress and cancelled holiday in April due to the volcano, we were looking for somewhere that would treat us kindly, enable us to feel relaxed, provide beautiful surroundings and for not exorbitant amounts of money! Tall order? No! From the moment I fired off the first email enquiry, a reply shot back from Richard which immediately provided peace of mind of the efficient and hospitable service we were to receive from then on.

We arranged through the Riad to be collected at the airport and upon our arrival were greeted warmly by Miriam, a lovely warm and friendly local lady who manages the Riad with an air of calm. Whilst Miriam poured out our freshly brewed mint tea she explained the layout of Riad Tizwa, asked us what we would like to do and how she could help in any way to book guides, told us the best places to go for views, for shopping and for a wonderful hamam spa treatment.

Riad Tizwa is restored to a high standard, reclaiming original architecture and features, providing modern touches of decor in a simplistic and stylish manner - splashes of colour from cushions and soft furnishings, echoing the fabulous colours of the stained glass panels above the windows and the beautiful Moroccan lamps that were to be found in every room. The soft glow of the candles that were lit every night transformed the central courtyard into a magical place to come back to after an evening out or whilst having a fantastic meal in the main salon.

The dinners were probably the best we had whilst in Fez, certainly in the Medina. The ingredients freshly bought that morning in the souk, and served at a time of our choice (just as breakfast is - such bliss), the rose petals strewn across the low tables and the all the little bowls of hot and cold dishes that were served as a starter was just subliminal. The main dishes of rabbit and lamb were divine and the Moroccan wine was an excellent choice to wash it down. All served by a terrific guy called Taha, who usually had an exotic choice of material wrapped around his head because in his words 'his hair is a little bit mad'!

We had booked another 2 nights at Riad Tizwa at the end of our 10 day trip around northern Morocco and the response to our knock on the big oak entrance door was met by Taha, who welcomed us with a huge smile and lots of hugging, saying 'welcome home'! It did indeed feel like coming home, back to our familiar room and surroundings.
Back to the wonderful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, looking at the great views that surrond Fez, the life going on around us on all the other roof terraces - it was another world and one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

The location is absolutely perfect, a safe district, close to the Petite Taxi rank and easy to walk in to the souk and other areas. Our thanks go to Miriam and 'all her boys' who help run the riad and make it such a special place. We send her our very best wishes for the birth of her first child and hope she returns very soon as she promised us.

Riad Tizwa I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#50 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#29 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Property: Riad Tizwa Fes
Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing