We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique friendly beautiful”
Review of Dar El Menia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar El Menia
Ranked #114 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A lovely Dar hidden right in the heart of the Fez Medina. Graham was laid back and helpful, the accommodation was clean and very beautifully restored. Our room was a little double that opened right onto the courtyard, which may not suit all, but we had been warned that was the case and it was the only room available. A comfy bed and lovely furnishings.
So I would return but would want to have one of the upper rooms which were even more lovely.
The breakfasts on the terrace were really delicious, served with great courtesy and care.
A delight and good value.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor rooms so long as you are OK with narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

After reading the reviews of Dar El Menia we booked a 4 night stay. We wanted to stay in the medina for an authentic old Moroccan experience, and that's exactly what we got. Dar El Menia is a beautiful old building with the artisan features and a sun terrace in a quiet little back street. There is plenty to discover within walking distance, and a personal guide can easily be arranged. The guide they arranged for us was a genuinely nice guy who was enthusiastic about the medina's history, didn't try to sell us anything and charged a very reasonable fee.

Ex-pat owner Graham lives in the house and plays the perfect host. His assistant Jamal is around during the day and makes sure your stay is as good as it can be.

Staying in the medina does have its downsides. The buildings are very old, depending on the time of year it can get cold at night, and sound travels quickly, particularly with the 4am call to prayer. In my opinion, it's all worth putting up with!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morfytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This riad was absolutely perfect for our honeymoon. Graham was very helpful and his assistant Jamal was a trusty sidekick. After arriving Jamal went to the Cafe clock and to supper with us. The following morning he drew up a map with the best things to do in Fez. Breakfast was delicious, simple and classically Moroccan. The rooms were well decorated with comfortable beds and a nice hot shower. Our only complaint was instead of one big double bed we had two twin sized beds pushed together. As newlyweds, we found this to be a nuisance.

Room Tip: Do not choose this riad if you have mobility issues. Then again, if you have mobility issues, Fez is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The medina in fez is an unbelievable compact, bustling and realistic glimpse into a morrocco of old. Although beautiful and inspirational, It could have been intimidating if it wasnt for the tranquil oasis of Dar El Menia and the friendly helpful staff. Being picked up from the airport and then escorted to the Dar was great after a late flight, Graham has sorted an arrangement that you he deals with the taxi service so no cash transaction and no danger of 'creative' routes and pricing that others we met had experienced.
This great start was continued with help and advice (including a tour/essential for orientation) that meant we were confident and informed regarding activities in and out of the medina.
The medina is beautiful and authentic with romantic rooms with ensuite.
Right in the centre of the medina but tranquil and quiet.
Great stay and so glad we stayed here, clean, safe and calm in an ancient city!

Room Tip: if mobility is an issue, make sure you get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a gem this small guest house is! Excellent location. Our host, Graham, as well as Jamal, could not have been more helpful to us. Graham arranged a wonderful day tour of Volubilis and Meknes that I will never forget. They also found a fantastic restaurant with someone to walk us there and back. We loved the breakfasts on the scenic roof, our cook and his wife were amazingly sweet. The riad could use a handrail up the steep stair.
We were so lucky to have stayed here!

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoMistakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Graham and the staff are friendly and helpful. The riad has been restored in keeping with a traditional Moroccan home. The courtyard and rooms are smallish, but well furnished (courtesy of Omar). It is located in the very heart of the Medina - although you'll never find it on your own! Ask Graham about his favorite lunch spot - 1/3 of the price of the fancy spots and twice as good - again, you'll never find it on yhouir own!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife, daughter, and I just had a very brief two night stay at the Dar El Menia. Like others have said, Graham and his staff are excellent.

There were three of us traveling, so Graham put us up in their triple room. It was very large, with a balcony overlooking the central courtyard. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was very well furnished. And everything, I mean everything, was spotlessly clean.

Graham has an excellent assistant named Jamal, who helped us arrange train travel, find a taxi, and was just a great extension as a co-host. We had a marvelous breakfast on the rooftop terrace.

My best memory of the trip: after a hectic day shopping, to open the door to the riad and find candles burning softly in antique lanterns in the courtyard. It was just an "ahhhhhhh" kind of moment, and exactly what I needed.

Oh, and they have wi-fi!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#4 of 223 in Fes
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#48 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Menia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Menia

Address: 7 Derb el Menia | El Kobra, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Menia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar El Menia lies in the heart of Fes (Fez) Medina, former imperial capital of Morocco and the world’s largest medieval medina. Fes is a UNESCO World Heritage Site but it is not a museum it is a living, breathing city and Dar El Menia provides the perfect luxurious base to begin exploring the old and the new. This dar, or courtyard house, is at least 250 years old and has recently been completely restored using local craftsmen, techniques and materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar El Menia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Menia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing