We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap last resort hotel”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Fes
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap last resort hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I arrived on the train from Marrakech around 8:30 pm without a hotel reservation. I walked to several hotels 1) Royal Mirage wanted $100 eventhough Internet rate was $46; 2) Ibis asked $65 with breakfast; 3) Ramada rate $80 and Perla $45 without breakfast. The bed in my room was full of hair and I saw long strands of hair on the tile floor. The heater blew cold air and I froze the entire night (in morning I realized that window was wide open!). TV worked well and I watched a movie in English.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
11
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were recommended this hotel by the Ibis receptionist, as their hotel was full.

Like Ibis, this hotel is close to the train station, but a fair walk from the Medina. It is certainly worse value for money than Ibis. The room was just OK (with a useless tiny niche with a table and two chairs - apparently they call this "junior suite", also the price was higher), the bathroom slightly moldy, the tooth cup disgusting, the shower nice. The hotel is in a side street, but still gets some traffic noise.

The receptionist insisted on cash payment in the evening (before the bill was issued), but the difference between what we paid and what was written on the receipt was "only" 4 Dh.

Further drawbacks:
- no internet access
- no credit cards accepted

Conclusion: O.K. if you are stranded at the train station, but there are certainly better places in Fez for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Overpriced small rooms. Walls a colour I have never seen before. If you have to stay here stay high up and don't book on the Internet as it's more expensive than a travelodge and half as nice. Don't book a taxi through them either unless you want to burn your money. The man on reception was nice but the older female one looked at me and the kids like we were dirty. We weren't - the bathroom was good with hot water and good pressure. The heater was broken and the tv had nothing like the promised 10 channels. Our friends were happy enoug with their room. The windows opened down onto the street but their kid got her own little nook. Ours was much mote due to being 'big'. Supermarket accross the road was good especially as the restaurant in the hotel was deserted and the tiny cafe full of smoking taxi drivers. Not recommended. The yha in Casablanca was nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfcubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Jadida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We reserved two rooms in this hotel on the recommendation of the nearby Ibis, which was full. The bedlinen in my daughter's room had not been changed since the previous occupant - you could see their hairs on the sheet. (Yeugh.) When she rang reception to ask for the bed to be changed, she was treated very rudely by the staff. Eventually just one replacement sheet was brought, and that one had a large tear in it. We left the hotel without staying the night.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel is within walking distance from the train station, you don't even need a cab. Good location, near restaurants.
The rooms were clean and good value for the price. We had a little area ouside the room where we could sit. Our breakfast was the typical : bread, bread, bread and more bread with coffee to wash it down. Could do better outside the hotel for breakfast if you don't want to pay for it with the room cost.
The staff were aloof but would answer questions but never offered anything more than an answer to the question.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raalte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Good hotel near the station of Fes. Situated in the hew city, but only a two km walk to the old city and the medina.
Great service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Staff was friendly, helpful, and caring when I got sick. Great heater in the room when it was cold in December. Western feeling hotel. Cramped room setup. Noisy, but we brought ear plugs. Television with terrible movies, but in English. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced, but you could probably get it cheaper outside the hotel. Internet and grocery stores nearby. One block walking from the train station, but no negative impact from it. Easy to access the new town. It only cost 25 DH to get a cab back from the Medina. Laundry service was a bit expensive, but was back the same day.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occidentalexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#81 of 98 in Fes
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#52 of 98 in Fes
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#90 of 98 in Fes
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#57 of 98 in Fes
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#70 of 98 in Fes
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jnane Sbile
Hotel Jnane Sbile
#69 of 98 in Fes
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: 15 Rue de La Jordanie | Quartier de la Gare, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing