We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and service”
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison MK
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for five nights in early April 2014 to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time.

What really stood out for us was the outstanding quality of the service provided by every member of staff at Maison MK. Nothing was too much trouble. For example, on our last day, we said that we wanted to experience an authentic Moroccan lamb lunch, so Simo escorted us to a local eatery - we would never have found it ourselves, nor mustered up the courage to go inside, but Simo made sure we were well looked after.

Many super memories of Maison MK - excellent food both at breakfast and at Gastro MK, sitting up on the roof terrace at midnight wrapped in blankets and gazing at the stars, some great Moroccan spa treatments - but most of all the excellent service from Hanane and her team.

We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which is perfectly comfortable and luxurious. Bath with shower over is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
496
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My first time in Marrakech, and we actively sought out Maison MK when coming here as we had heard so much. The attention you get is first class - and starts before you leave home. We had communication from the owners as soon as we booked, and as we lived near by, Aoibheann even arranged to meet my wife and talk her through Marrakech and the Riad. The place oozes class from the moment you walk in and are greeted by the house manager - Hanane - who spends as much time as necessary with you making sure your every need is taken care of. The decor, ambiance and situation within the Medina, 2 mins from the main square, could not be better. We booked for 5 nights - they were full so we couldn't stay the full 7 nights - and did not want to leave. The rooms are sumptuous, well furnished and decorated and befitting Marrakech itself. The bathrooms are stunning!
We had dinner on the first night, and then the 5-course taster menu on another night - the food lives up to the reputation the Gastro-MK restaurant has locally. The riad has one of the few licensed bars within the Medina, and so attracts visitors - but it was never too busy.
Ultimately, what makes this place so special, is the staff. They are attentive but not overpowering, pleasant to a tee and knowledgeable. More than this, they are consistent. They make you feel special, every day. This consistency is something we understood is a rare commodity in Marrakech.
We will be back - as soon as possible. What a fantastic holiday. Thank you Aoibheann and Paul!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 - but managed to look in all 6 bedrooms. Whichever you choose - you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drpconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinjeoera, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First impressions of Marrakech are not all positive, 3/4 hour to clear passport control. However, bags were ready for collecting and a driver was wainting for us when we completed customs clearance. Short drive in to the city, 10-15 minutes, weaving and dodging mopeds, donkey pulled carts, pedestrians, vehicles coming from all directions etc. We were dropped off on an average street corner and waiting for us was Simo from the Maison MK. Our bags were loaded onto a home made oversized wheelbarrow and we passed through an archway into a different millenium. A small alleyway, mopeds, donkey's carts a mulitude of people and noises, we then turned into an even smaller alleyway, my wife and I looked at each other and we both began to wonder what the hell have we let ourselves in for. After a few more twists and turns we were soon outside a closed door, a ring of the bell and we were into the reception area. The door closed and then silence. A warm greeting from Hanane the hotel manager and we were shown into a small cosy sitting area and offered delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. We were then given a tour of the hotel and shown our room. We stayed in room 4 for 4 nights and Room 1 for 3 nights.
Whilst at the hotel we made good use from the spa and hammam with Roukia and Fatiha. The hammam especially is to be experienced.
We anticipated in the cookery course with Head Chef Omar and his assistant Mouna. This was a great experience and we got to eat the fruits of our endeavours for lunch. It was especially interesting to make bread and take this to the local communal oven for baking. We learnt a lot at this course and we highly recommend it.
Breakfast on the roof each morning, whenever we wanted it, was lovely and Fauzi made sure we got more than enough to eat.
We also enjoyed lunch and light meals in the hotel and were well looked after by Abdu.
Truly this was a wonderful experience, after 14 years together this was the first time my wife and I had been on holiday without any children, so we called it our honeymoon, and it was everything we could have wished for.
The rooms are lavish, full of colour. Room 1's ceiling must be at least 5m from the floor.
Cannot speak highly enough of the service, hotel and staff.
It really was an oasis of tranquility.

Room Tip: The nature and location of the hotel probably means that all of the rooms are good. However we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It is not often I get tears in my eyes leaving a hotel… But I must say, when leaving MK Maison I did. With my husband I spent a week here in this luxurious riad, and we where exposed for royal treatment from the minute we arrived.
First, the delicious fresh orange juice served on a very comfy couch, and we instantly got invited into the "MK Family" by the lovely hostess Hanane.
During our stay we had several spa treatments - that really helped for aching muscles. And we had a great experience when chef Omar took us into the art of Maroccan cuisine in the riad's kitchen. Just us, Omar and Mouna we had three interesting cooking hours, which also included a short walk to the communal oven to get our bread baked.
MK Maison is really a place to relax and get pampered after a hectic day in the souks. Allthough it is a fantastic designed place, and the food is outstanding, most of all we will remember the staff: for our interresting conversation, jokes and always big, gentle, beautiful smiles. Aoibheann, you and your staff have created an embracable place. Thank you <3

Room Tip: We stayed in both room 4 and room 1. Room 4 is fantastic. Room 1 is - to use a cliche - absolutely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a superb stay in Maison MK. This is not your traditional riad but a modern, updated take on a Marrakech riad in the heart of the Medina. However, the look and feel of the place is that of an upscale Moroccan home, albeit one that has been tastefully renovated with modern amenities
Pros:
• Location, location, location. Close enough to a taxi, yet a feel of being in the heart of the medina, and only about 5 to 7 mins walk to the quintessential Marrakech destination, Jemaa el-Fnaa.
• The rooms and most of the space are exceptional. From the superb lighting in the bedrooms and bathrooms (truly some of the most innovative and effective use of interior lighting I have seen), to the great music available piped into the room (I want that playlist), excellent bathrooms, cell phones provided in each room for the duration of your stay which double as room phones that are programmed with important local numbers. Lots of lovely nooks and corners, a working home theater where you can watch “Casablanca”, etc.
• Excellent wifi throughout.
• The roof deck, which doubles as the bar, is a great place to unwind and have a drink and/or a snack.
• Excellent restaurant and catering on-site; a modern take on Moroccan cuisine, with some western comfort food thrown in.
• As with any hotel, big or small, the staff makes all the difference and here the staff were all wonderful, and we were looked after very well.
Cons:
• Expensive experience. Even in March the price is ~E300. (It should be noted that transfers to/from the airport/train station are included). I saw some rooms available at the venerable La Mamounia at that price (obviously without transfers), although after visiting that establishment for a drink, it was definitely not our type of Marrakech hotel. All-in-all MK was well worth it for us.
• There is no traditional front desk/lobby, by that I mean the desk is in a very small tight corner by the front door and is mostly unmanned, requiring a short search for a staff/manager, sometimes a few minutes wait outside the front door waiting for someone to let you in.
• No proper bar although it made little difference to us given the beautiful roof area.
• The pool is just a tiny plunge pool for those that might need a pool in the summer.

All-in-all we had a wonderful time and I would strongly recommend Maison MK.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw are great. We had Room 4 and 6 and both were very nice. Room 4 does not have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife suggested we went on a short break at short notice and our stay here definitely justified the trip. From the moment the raid door opened to the end of our stay we were treated to a perfect hideaway nicely placed within the medina. The manager (hanane) and her staff greeted us on arrival and ensured we were well catered for during our stay. The signature meal on the Thursday evening was a real treat ( I can highly recommend the house red and also the dessert ;)) .Although fully booked , the seating arrangement near the indoor pool was ideal and private and the service and food was second to none
The roof top terrace was the best setting for breakfast and evening drinks ably served by aziz and faudy...
The raid met us, and delivered us back to the airport( all within the room rate) and spent sometime offering good advice on where to visit Aldo offering a local mobile phone should we get lost!
This is somewhere where( rarely for us) we will return...a splendid raid, nicely located with friendly staff.
Both the stay and the evening meal deserve their high ratings..

Room Tip: Room 1 was ideal, quiet and spacious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and had stayed one night at a different riad that did not live up to our expectations. We hurriedly looked for a replacement and were happy to find availability at Maison MK. When we walked in we knew immediately that we had made the right choice. After 10 days in Morocco we were in the mood for something less traditional and Maison MK was that, Morocco with a modern flair.There were just tons of thoughtful touches everywhere. We loved the book in the room that advised on every concern we could possibly have, The staff was a delight, warm, energetic, friendly and helpful. We loved the lounge music everywhere and the great sound system in the rooms. The music made us so relaxed. The roof terrace was breathtaking with its 360 view including the Koutoubia. We adored the cinema room and in all our travels have not seen anything like that. It was like being at home. We also did the East/West Hamman and the Tasting Dinner and have nothing but raves for both of them. My only negatives are, for the size of the rooms, I think they are a bit expensive and we paid a reduced rate because it was off season. Maison MK was significantly more expensive than the place we had come from. Overall I found prices in Marrakceh high for spa services and rooms, not what I would expect in Morocco considering the costs of labor. Also it would have been nice to have a bourbon or whiskey on the bar menu. All in all, a delightful place, great location, wonderful staff, charming stylish setting. I love the rubber ducks! In fact, we didn't leave at all one day except to go get mechoui(highly recommended) for lunch one day in the Medina and I am a leave no site unvisited type of person! Very thoughtful spot. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 3 with the bay window is very charming. It also has a huge bathtub, the only concern is it is p...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Freeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
2,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our five beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! We have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing