We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Maison MK

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison MK
Ranked #77 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

This is a fabulous riad, the location is superb and the views from the roof terrace are breathtaking. It is very obvious from the moment you arrive that someone or some people have taken great care and pride in it's construction and design down to the very last petal. There are petals strewn on the beds and in the baths, all very romantic shame we were on a girl's wk end away without the fellas! Pauline the manager is very sweet and helpful and we found the rest of the staff particularly Ismail also very attentive. We would recommend the riad's own spa treatments which are also very reasonably priced. We only stayed for three nights, so a very short trip but still worth going for a taste of Marrakech. I am sure we will return and would consider booking the whole riad with our friends who all want to come now that they've looked at our photos.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

Maison MK is a truly fabulous riad/hotel, I would say the best I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is fantastic and the staff are without exception excellent, welcoming and very good at what they do. The location is perfect, and the decor fantastic, especially the roof terrace and the sunken lounge (which I loved).

We heard of Maison MK through Mr and Mrs Smith and also Conde Nast. The website is excellent and particularly useful is being able to see up to the minute availability (or close to at least). We were given excellent advice before visiting and the owner's recommendation to go to Kasbah du Toubkal led us to stay there also, which we really enjoyed.
The manager (Pauline) gives a tour of the riad upon arrival which is a very nice touch. Not once did I see anything out of place or unclean about our rooms. The beds are really comfy and the bathrooms very well done (wet room are a big bonus).

Individually, Laila (the cook) is one of the nicest, friendliest individuals you could ever hope to meet. We really enjoyed our cooking course at the riad. The food was also of an extremely high quality throughout our stay. Hasnaa is an excellent masseuse and also all the housekeepers and other spa ladies were totally on top of everything.

The owner (who was staying out there whilst we were) clearly cares so much about the place and it all shows to the guests as every little thing makes a difference. Pauline, is full of helpful advice and great recommendations.

We have already been recommending the riad to our friends and will hopefully be back one day. Whilst it is not cheap, you definitely get what you pay for. All in all, an absolutely excellent place to stay, can't think that any place in Marrakech could possibly be better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chancer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Fantastic location in the Medina with excellent staff who were so friendly, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. They arranged our guide around the city, booked restaurants and arranged for a guided trip up into the Atlas Mountains and lunch at Kasbah Tamadot.

The riad itself was stunning and with only 6 rooms, it felt more like a home than a hotel.

The owner and managers were charming, courteous, efficient and friendly. This riad comes highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

On arrival at the hotel we had to park a short walk away as you cant take a car up to the door of the hotel. We arrived amongst a huge amount of hustle and bustle on the streets which to most Europeans would seem like chaos but for Morocco this is the norm. We were met out on the street by Pauline the Manageress who greeted us at our taxi and had also arranged for our luggage to be taken to our rooms within the hotel. The short walk from the street to the hotel was an interesting opportunity to sample the delightful chaos of Morocco and as we arrived at the door of Maison MK there was a wedding procession with lots of people baring gifts and playing music going past, another culture experience right on the door step. As you walk through the door of the hotel it is a million miles away from the chaos out on the street and as soon as the door is closed the transition from chaos to serenity is instant!!!! We were greeted by all the staff who through out the stay were helpful and friendly and Pauline spent time showing us around and explaining the facilities of Maison MK. We were then taken to our rooms where much to my delight there was an iPod docking station with speakers surrounding the room for you to play a selection of music from the iPod in the room or for you to use your own. The room was very tastefully decorated, the lighting in the room is amazing, the bed was extremely comfortable, the mini bar was full, the bathroom was stunning and there were rose petals spread across the bed and the bathroom adding a stunning finishing touch. The room had fresh flowers, the linen and towels, dressing gown and slippers in the room where of very good quality and I can not find one single fault with the place. I am currently sitting here desperately trying to think of one single improvement of potential enhancement they could make to improve my stay and experience of Morocco and I can’t think of one single thing.

All that remains is a huge thank you and congratulations to Paul and his wife (the owners) for creating this hidden gem and to Pauline and the staff for making our stay a fantastic and memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We can thoroughly recommend this Riad. If you would like a really special experience, something completely different from the normal hotel stay, this could be for you. The standard of personal service from Pauline and her staff, was nothing short of amazing, with nothing too much trouble. The Riad is well located, with just a short walk through the Souks to the main square, which is the centre of activity, especially at night. If I have one small caution, would say that it will normally be more expensive to book taxis through the Riad, as against a direct arrangement. All in all, we had a really lovely stay and a most interesting time. The Sunshine Family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdf123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Fabulous hotel, great lighting and decor and excellent location. Facilities and spa excellent and good value. Rather short of hanging storage space in the bedrooms - great for a couple of days but difficult if you are taking a lot of clothes for a longer period. Mood lighting in the bathroom looks good but can make it difficult to see in the mirror. Service is not quite up to excellent standard but will be soon - we are sure.
Overall a wonderful experience and a great place from which to explore Old Marrakech being very close to the Souk and the main square.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptraveller789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We had a wonderful long weekend. Marrakech is such a vibrant city and Maison MK provides the perfect haven and place to retreat to after a busy time exploring the souks. Staying at Maison MK is like being a guest in someone's home and all the staff are determined to make sure your stay is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OasthouseKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#95 of 500 in Marrakech
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#129 of 500 in Marrakech
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £264 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our five beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! We have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing