We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after all the glowing reviews”
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
Ranked #20 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
marlow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all the glowing reviews”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Staff are very pleasant but the rooms are small and like one reviewer mentions the bathroom facilities are not separate to the room with just a curtain between the two. New age type Muzak is played all the time everywhere which is truly annoying, Have to request for it to be turned off at mid-night - you can hear EVERYTHING that is happening in the Riad in your room. Could not get a table in the fully booked restaurant - but there were no diners that night(?). Next day it was definitely fully booked as we could hear the diner's conversations and noise late into the night. Roof terrace is lovely but there is a permanent smell of sewage - like all African/Med countries wafting unwelcome smells are a fact of life because of the heat, but although it is not the hotel's fault, the permanent nature of the bad smell needs to be addressed. Like one review says, the website seems to offer so much, but the close.communal atmosphere with muzak and smells for 350 Euros a night is not right.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Maison MK, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
It makes us very sad and sorry when we read comments like this on Tripadvisor – fortunately it is very unusual and almost all guests have a great time. We have a feedback form for every client at checkout & this client had no mention of any of the problems he is now writing on Tripadvisor, nor did he mention them to the manager, nor has he responded to my request for more information so we can help.
But I do need to address his points, for the benefit of other Tripadvisor users.

1. "Rooms are small" – the sizes of all rooms are on the website & I believe they are typical of traditional riads in the medina. The layout of these ancient houses means that 95% of riads in Marrakech have a bathroom as part of the bedroom – there are long rooms, with the bathroom at one end, a thick privacy curtain, and the large bed at the other end.

2. “Muzak” – chilled music is on in the public areas from about 11am & can be turned off easily if a client does not want it. In the bedrooms is an iPod and a dock so you can have your own music, our music, or no music. Music is off at the latest at 11pm each night & the staff turn it off without request. Sadly the client was annoyed & yet did not tell anybody so that we could help.

3. "Restaurant booking" – it was not fully booked on the night he ‘requested’. It was actually the chefs night off – maybe some confusion over language ? For the following night, the client is correct that we were fully booked (8 outside guests and 6 internal guests). ‘Late into the night’ is open to interpretation – the restaurant was empty & lights off at 11.40pm. But we did have a noisy group of diners & the dinner was running late because several of the residents arrived an hour late for dinner. Be assured this will never happen again - we have now made several changes to ensure dinners finish by 10:45pm at the latest & that any unwanted noise has been significantly reduced.

4. "Roof terrace" - The roof terrace smells were not mentioned by any of the other guests staying at the same time as this gentleman, but occasionally there are smells in Marrakech– good & bad, but most guests comment that the riad smells gorgeous & that the bread ovens & city smells are exotic & interesting. If any smell was permanent, I would have expected the other 200 reviews & the 700 feedback forms to have mentioned it.


Maison MK is sophisticated, yet very personal and friendly and mostly described as a home from home by our clients – with luxury and flexibility to suit.
Some people do not like Marrakech, occasionally a guest does not like maison mk, but it seems a shame when a guest does not give us the chance to make their stay perfect, does not tell us anything, and then uses a public forum to finally express their views. So, I must go through all of this detail on Tripadvisor, but I hope it shows that we do care & the we actually want our guests to have the perfect break at maison mk & thankfully, 99.9% of guests certainly do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
496
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I spent a brilliant weekend at Maison MK as guests of a good friend, who had taken over the hotel and was celebrating her birthday.

After navigating our way on foot through the narrow streets, the hotel was a stylish oasis of calm. ... and mojitos! All the staff were very friendly, responsive and efficient and seemed to really care that we should have a good time.

The room was small, but very comfortable and the smell of burning orange oil added to the exotic atmosphere. We both really enjoyed our massage and hamman treatment. The food was delicious, especially Gastro MK. We did a cookery course which was fun and shopping for the ingredients in the souk beforehand really gave you a sense of the culture.. The view from the roof terrace over the city is stunning - both by day and by night.

I would definitely like to go back and would especially recommend Maison MK for a group of friends travelling together, as it felt like our very own home in Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I travelled here with 5 other couple to celebrate my birthday, and took over the whole riad for 3 nights. We couldn't have been happier with the way the trip turned out. It exceeded expectations! Paul and Aiobheann, who run the riad from the UK, helped make planning the event as fun as the event itself, and their attention to detail was second to none.

From the moment we arrived, with Mojito in hand, we were treated like Kings and Queens. Yohann (and Pauline) and his team went out of their way to look after us and meet our every need, and with such a willing attitude.

We had planned the trip to have a balance of relaxation time in the riad to relax on the roof terrace and make use of the spa and outings to the souks/the square/food markets, and Paul and Yohann had organised every detail for these including souk guides. I highly recommend the trip to the food markets with Omar, the riad's moroccan chef. Such an authentic experience, followed by a session in the kitchen making a delicious tagine and some local salads.

I would not hesitate to rebook, and in fact, since we returned to earth from our 'heaven' in Marrakech, we have been talking about just that! Thank you Maison mk for making my birthday such a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

It is impossible to write a review of the Maison MK without using superlatives. We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon, and wished we had stayed for longer. The attention to detail is amazing and the staff are all incredible - highly motivated, intelligent and genuinely friendly. It is a cliche, but they simply could not do enough. The location is excellent, and the views from the roof are some of the best in town. They simply do everything right - the rooms, complete with ipod and mobile phone are very comfortable and contemporary, the cinema room and popcorn, tea and cake at 4.00pm, the great pool, comprehensive library, games collection, the MK gastro experience with top chef Andrew, the friendly and efficient staff. All in all - perfection! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marklongmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2010

A fantastic place to stay for a short break. We all loved the rooms, bathrooms and the view from the roof terrace was incredible. Maison MK advised and arranged some great activities, we all loved the cooking course, had a good guide to show us the sights and experienced an authentic Hammam. We would absolutely recommend this as a perfect place to stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuceLuce44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

A wonderfully stylish haven from which to explore the medina and beyond. Johann and his team were charming, helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent service - we didn't have to fill in the police forms (Johann did it for us) or think about our return to the airport (all organised for us - all we had to do was let them know when our flight was). Wonderful decor - a belnd of moroccan and Elle Deco! We booked the last room (numer 4), which we knew was small but it was so beautifully put together that it really didn't matter. Lots of little areas to sit inside in the cool (and play with the ipad!) and a beautiful roof terrace to eat delicious breakfast looking at the Koutoubia and across the rooftops of the median to the Atlas Mountains (with a smattering of snow on - magical). Returned to the roof terrace for sunbathing and for drinks in the evening - magical. So many areas to sit and chat that we rarely saw any other guests. You must eat in gastroMK - seriously good food ... way beyond expectations and up there with top restaurants worldwide (we enjoy our food...). We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The hotel is small but perfectly formed, a oasis of clam in the middle of the bustling medina. It is a perfect blend of cultural tradition and modern comfort, with exceptional attention to detail, and enough technology and gadgets to keep teenagers happy.
The staff provided a service that was the ideal combination of extremely attentive without being invasive. They were charming, friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable.
We had the most relaxing stay and would happily recommend it to anyone who wants to recharge their batteries (except perhaps those with small children).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x-x0x0x0x-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#30 of 499 in Marrakech
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our five beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! We have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing