We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, perfect facilities, perfect spa treatments, perfect team infact just perfect all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison MK
Ranked #18 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, perfect facilities, perfect spa treatments, perfect team infact just perfect all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

A great location close to the souks, a real feel of being home from home due to the intimacy of the riad and the staff who were attentive without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. Just be careful if they book you a taxi as it is not the street taxi prices (which are very reasonable) more around the 30 euro mark if you ask the team at the riad to do it for you. Make sure to have a hamman spa treatment.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
490
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Central, remarkably quiet, lovely staff, best lamb I have ever eaten, great room, superb roof, only six rooms so it is quite intimate and personal ... what more can I add. Perfect.

Did they sin at all. Yes - twice they forgot to replace the flannels but you just asked and it was dealt with. And that is the only criticism I can think of.

I hope it does not get too popular because I would not want it booked out when I return.

Bob

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Staff are very pleasant but the rooms are small and like one reviewer mentions the bathroom facilities are not separate to the room with just a curtain between the two. New age type Muzak is played all the time everywhere which is truly annoying, Have to request for it to be turned off at mid-night - you can hear EVERYTHING that is happening in the Riad in your room. Could not get a table in the fully booked restaurant - but there were no diners that night(?). Next day it was definitely fully booked as we could hear the diner's conversations and noise late into the night. Roof terrace is lovely but there is a permanent smell of sewage - like all African/Med countries wafting unwelcome smells are a fact of life because of the heat, but although it is not the hotel's fault, the permanent nature of the bad smell needs to be addressed. Like one review says, the website seems to offer so much, but the close.communal atmosphere with muzak and smells for 350 Euros a night is not right.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Maison MK, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
It makes us very sad and sorry when we read comments like this on Tripadvisor – fortunately it is very unusual and almost all guests have a great time. We have a feedback form for every client at checkout & this client had no mention of any of the problems he is now writing on Tripadvisor, nor did he mention them to the manager, nor has he responded to my request for more information so we can help.
But I do need to address his points, for the benefit of other Tripadvisor users.

1. "Rooms are small" – the sizes of all rooms are on the website & I believe they are typical of traditional riads in the medina. The layout of these ancient houses means that 95% of riads in Marrakech have a bathroom as part of the bedroom – there are long rooms, with the bathroom at one end, a thick privacy curtain, and the large bed at the other end.

2. “Muzak” – chilled music is on in the public areas from about 11am & can be turned off easily if a client does not want it. In the bedrooms is an iPod and a dock so you can have your own music, our music, or no music. Music is off at the latest at 11pm each night & the staff turn it off without request. Sadly the client was annoyed & yet did not tell anybody so that we could help.

3. "Restaurant booking" – it was not fully booked on the night he ‘requested’. It was actually the chefs night off – maybe some confusion over language ? For the following night, the client is correct that we were fully booked (8 outside guests and 6 internal guests). ‘Late into the night’ is open to interpretation – the restaurant was empty & lights off at 11.40pm. But we did have a noisy group of diners & the dinner was running late because several of the residents arrived an hour late for dinner. Be assured this will never happen again - we have now made several changes to ensure dinners finish by 10:45pm at the latest & that any unwanted noise has been significantly reduced.

4. "Roof terrace" - The roof terrace smells were not mentioned by any of the other guests staying at the same time as this gentleman, but occasionally there are smells in Marrakech– good & bad, but most guests comment that the riad smells gorgeous & that the bread ovens & city smells are exotic & interesting. If any smell was permanent, I would have expected the other 200 reviews & the 700 feedback forms to have mentioned it.


Maison MK is sophisticated, yet very personal and friendly and mostly described as a home from home by our clients – with luxury and flexibility to suit.
Some people do not like Marrakech, occasionally a guest does not like maison mk, but it seems a shame when a guest does not give us the chance to make their stay perfect, does not tell us anything, and then uses a public forum to finally express their views. So, I must go through all of this detail on Tripadvisor, but I hope it shows that we do care & the we actually want our guests to have the perfect break at maison mk & thankfully, 99.9% of guests certainly do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I spent a brilliant weekend at Maison MK as guests of a good friend, who had taken over the hotel and was celebrating her birthday.

After navigating our way on foot through the narrow streets, the hotel was a stylish oasis of calm. ... and mojitos! All the staff were very friendly, responsive and efficient and seemed to really care that we should have a good time.

The room was small, but very comfortable and the smell of burning orange oil added to the exotic atmosphere. We both really enjoyed our massage and hamman treatment. The food was delicious, especially Gastro MK. We did a cookery course which was fun and shopping for the ingredients in the souk beforehand really gave you a sense of the culture.. The view from the roof terrace over the city is stunning - both by day and by night.

I would definitely like to go back and would especially recommend Maison MK for a group of friends travelling together, as it felt like our very own home in Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My husband and I travelled here with 5 other couple to celebrate my birthday, and took over the whole riad for 3 nights. We couldn't have been happier with the way the trip turned out. It exceeded expectations! Paul and Aiobheann, who run the riad from the UK, helped make planning the event as fun as the event itself, and their attention to detail was second to none.

From the moment we arrived, with Mojito in hand, we were treated like Kings and Queens. Yohann (and Pauline) and his team went out of their way to look after us and meet our every need, and with such a willing attitude.

We had planned the trip to have a balance of relaxation time in the riad to relax on the roof terrace and make use of the spa and outings to the souks/the square/food markets, and Paul and Yohann had organised every detail for these including souk guides. I highly recommend the trip to the food markets with Omar, the riad's moroccan chef. Such an authentic experience, followed by a session in the kitchen making a delicious tagine and some local salads.

I would not hesitate to rebook, and in fact, since we returned to earth from our 'heaven' in Marrakech, we have been talking about just that! Thank you Maison mk for making my birthday such a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

It is impossible to write a review of the Maison MK without using superlatives. We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon, and wished we had stayed for longer. The attention to detail is amazing and the staff are all incredible - highly motivated, intelligent and genuinely friendly. It is a cliche, but they simply could not do enough. The location is excellent, and the views from the roof are some of the best in town. They simply do everything right - the rooms, complete with ipod and mobile phone are very comfortable and contemporary, the cinema room and popcorn, tea and cake at 4.00pm, the great pool, comprehensive library, games collection, the MK gastro experience with top chef Andrew, the friendly and efficient staff. All in all - perfection! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marklongmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

A fantastic place to stay for a short break. We all loved the rooms, bathrooms and the view from the roof terrace was incredible. Maison MK advised and arranged some great activities, we all loved the cooking course, had a good guide to show us the sights and experienced an authentic Hammam. We would absolutely recommend this as a perfect place to stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuceLuce44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#10 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our five beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! We have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing