We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Saba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Saba
Ranked #203 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I liked the riad and it was a very good value for me _because I paid 40 euros per night. It is charming, clean, the room is beautiful, the breakfast is good, the staff is simpathic. But it could be better. Below are the bad things:
1) You can not trust if you book the transfer at the airport. It is a big big big big problem. I had booked it, I received a confirmation by e-mail and, when I arrived at the airport, nobody was waiting for me. I called the riad and could heard that it is very commom (because the taxi they asked not always goes there). The problem is bigger because it is so difficult to find the riad the first time you go there (the taxi driver didn't know it and the car can not enter in the street);
2) The staff don't speak even one word in english or spanish. So, although they are simpathic, if you don't speak french be sure you will not receive any recomendation/tips about the city;
3) My room was very small. It was not a big problem for me (I think it is more important that it is clean), but be concious about it;
4) You can hear everything (each step on the floor in the oposite room). It was not a big problem for me because I can sleep even with noisy, but be concious about it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alencarizidoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    51
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
89
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casteau, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We were victims of a scam and ended up in Marrakesh with a three year old baby and no place to stay late at night. By great good fortune, we were steered to Riad Dar Saba 2 where Simo saved us by giving us rooms for the night. Since his place was full, he helped us find another riad the next morning - which turned out to be wonderful. He then came every single day during the week to check and make sure we were OK. Simo is a kind, gentle soul and I would highly reccomend anyone to stay at Riad Dar Saba 2. You will be well taken care of!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We enjoyed one night at this sweet place which is beautifully decorated and the rooms and bathrooms are very well looked after and designed with love. :0)
The little fountain is relaxing and we liked that it was so quiet there (good sleep). Very good and friendly service! WiFi wasn't working with our laptop but we would come back anyway!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodenseegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights, and absolutely loved it. It indeed is a perfect retreat, so peaceful and quiet. The courtyard and the rose petals were beautiful, especially during the evening. We booked through booking.com, and were emailed by Rachid a few days before arrival offering pick up services - as we were coming from the train station we didn't need any but he provided us with very good directions. On arrival we were welcomed with tea and excellent hospitality, answering any questions we had and providing us with a map and the best things to see. The raid is a little difficult to find on arrival (ask a small boy and give him 10-20 dirams), but once you find it the first time its quite easy. It is down a very small alley, but it is quite well lit and it didn't feel threatening and a 15 minute walk to the main square. Breakfast was ok, basically bread/croissants and coffee. As some people commented, the two rooms on the ground floor (Secrets du Desert and Délice D'épices) do lack a little in privacy, as guests take breakfast in the courtyard, but it wasn't really a problem for us.

We decided to stay an additional 2 nights in Marrakech, but unfortunately they were fully booked. They transferred us instead to Riad Dar Saba 2, which was also very nice, but lacked a little the warmth and romance of Riad Dar Saba 1 (very comfy beds though!).

I would definitely recommend this riad, and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW_2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I spent four nights at Riad Dar Saba and absolutely loved it. Rachid and Christophe were excellent hosts, very helpful and insisted that we treat the Riad as our home which we did. We enjoyed a lovely meal on our first night

I would advise booking your airport transfer with them as the Riad can be hard to find, especially if this is your first visit to Marrakech. We paid 12 Euros; it would be cheaper if you found your own way there but it was much easier than trying to navigate in the Medina after a long flight. After that, it was easy enough to find our way back; the Riad is situated down a very narrow, but well lit, derb (alley). You can walk to Djemaa El Fna in about ten minutes. Nice neighbourhood, we didn't get any "hassle" and there was a little shop just around the corner selling large bottles of water for 6 dirhams.

The Riad itself is charming; you walk in through the heavy, studded door (mind your head!) and walk along the candle lit hallway to the patio which is a little oasis complete with fountain and scattered rose petals. There are only five rooms and a lot of the time it felt like we were the only people there so felt very intimate. The roof terrace provided enough of a breeze to cope with the heat and the fan in the room made the Moroccan heat bearable. The room was great - huge king size bed built into the wall, very comfy mattress and pillows and spotless bedlinen. Bathroom was made from tadelakt, polished plaster, candles, Moroccan lamps and more rose petals and everything looked really authentically Moroccan without looking twee. If I was going to be harsh, the toilet sometimes had problems flushing and the hot water tank leaked but this didn't affect our trip and who can complain at 40 Euros a night? One curious thing was that you can't lock your room from the outside; I had read this in an another review and thought I would feel uncomfortable with this but after the first day, we forgot about it and it was quite nice to not have to worry about keys! Our room also had an iPod dock which would've been handy if we'd brought ours (!) and there is free wi-fi which was very useful although you couldn't get a signal on the roof terrace.

We booked a trip to Imlil which was a great day out, cost 90 Euros. Hassan drove us up through the mountains in a Toyota Landcruiser, he was an excellent driver, stopped if we wanted to take photos on the way then left us with a local guide (200 dirhams) in Imlil who took us on a 2 hour trek around the area where we saw some beautiful scenery, learnt a lot about the local villages and got a taste of the real Morocco. Highly recommended.

I will be recommending this Riad to everyone I know and will definitely be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papillon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I stayed at the Riad Dar Saba during the low season (2nd week of August), so the price was great. We both loved this place---it is cozy and warm. And I'm not using "cozy" as a euphemism for small and cramped. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. Our room was nicely decorated. It's great for solo travelers and couples. While we were there, we met a French family (with kids) and as far as I know, they very much enjoyed their stay there." Rachid, Fatiha and Brahim are great. I definitely recommend this place. Walking distance to the souks, Jemaa el Fna, Koutoubia. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabrerachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

Nice friendly riad in heart of the medina. Situated north of the busy souks down a small isolated lane way in amongst the locals. Location great for the hardened traveller but could be overwhelming for others as can be pretty difficult to find you way about in the maze of lanes and souks nearby.
Riad itself i found very nice though never stayed in a moroccan riad before to draw any comparisons with local competition. Rooms were very nice and the bed and bathroom were covered with rose petals which was a nice touch. Not being able to lock the door when you leave the room was very strange and did come back to find another resident had been in our room to plug in his laptop power pack which i wasn't too happy about. You can lock the rooms from the inside though so you are perfect safe whilst sleeping.
Staff were very friendly and could speak a number of languages including English and very happy to give you some travel advice.
A continential breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace which was very nice and a nice relaxing way to start the day before venturing out to the busy streets.
Overall a nice Riad with good customer service but the location wasn't the best for my needs.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Nice Rooms and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#245 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#314 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#235 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#188 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#249 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#122 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saba

Property: Riad Dar Saba
Address: 278 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Quartier du Riad Laarouss - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Saba 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Saba welcomes you in a typical Moroccan riad located in the medina of Marrakech at 15 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square and surrounded by the beauty and mystery of countless alleys of the souks. The property comprises 6 comfortable double bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and toilets. Each benefits from air conditioning. You can dine in the patio or on the terrace. You can also enjoy a sun-lounger terrace. The staff at the Riad Dar Saba will offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to introduce you to the culture, cuisine and Moroccan traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Riad Dar Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing