We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value mid-range option”
Review of Riad Dar Saba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Saba
Ranked #256 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I see no reason to pay any more on your trip to Marrakech. Very good value compared to what we've paid for in the past at other riads. Dar Saba is clean, friendly and well located. Mohammed is very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. I had quick email response from the owner (who I think is in France?) when I wanted to recehck my reservation.

Couldn't ask for more than Dar Saba. I rate it as excellent.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank MattLisa_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the start and end of a tour of Morocco and it's ideal. Located within the Medina, it's suitably located for getting to most of Marrakech's places of interest but also convenient for exploring the new part of town. It's situated down a quite street and is lovely and peaceful. Between the two of us, we stayed in four of the Riad's five rooms - all are of a similar standard, well decorated and appropriately quiet. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. We didn't partake of food other than breakfast or the change to organise trips, but both are available. Watch your head as you approach the Riad in the street... there are a couple of low arches!

Room Tip: First floor rooms a little more expensive, but I preferred my ground floor one - seemed a little lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Riad Dar Saba is located in the Medina, a 20 min walk from Djemaa al Fna. When we first arrived late in the evening, the street looked quite scary and dark but I later realized that most of the streets in the Medina appear that way at night. The staff were incredibly helpful and sat down with us on arrival to go over the map of the city and provided us with tea and delicious cookies made by the hotel cook. We got sick during our trip and ended up sleeping in and the hotel generously served us breakfast after the designated time and walked us to the pharmacy. The room was clean and pleasant but our bathroom was open to the bedroom which wasn't ideal since we got sick, but would have been fine otherwise. There is also a separate toilet room off of the lobby. We took the option of having the hotel cook make us dinner one night which was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. They hotel arranged a one day tour with a group to Ait Ben Haddou and Ourzazate which was okay but not really worth the drive and I wouldn't recommend it. Perhaps the two day tour would be worth the trip as the one day consisted mostly of driving in a van with only half of the seats having seatbelts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fujiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked this Riad in a hurry as my trip to Marrakech was a sudden decision and I relied on feedback from Tripadvisor. Well it turned out a good decision as I was really pleased with the Riad and the help and support I received from Mohammed -- the Manager there.He was patient and courteous to all my questions and requests and if he said he would do something then you could be sure it was done.He even helped to organize a trip to the Atlas mountains for a couple of nights at a cheap homestay there.
The room I had was spotless and comfortable with plenty of room and the shared areas were also clean and comfortable.
The owner Jeanne-Phillipe (I think that's the correct spelling) was also very friendly and helpful.
All in all I would recommend the Riad Dar Saba without any hesitation it was a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Medina

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimandHelenHuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This riad was a real relief! Marrakesh is a busy and noisy city. The heat can be quite oppressive and make you feel uncomfortable. But Riad Dar Saba was the perfect choice. It was in the right location, not too far from the main sites or the souks. Even a small shop at the end of the road which was great as you will be drinking loads of bottled water. After a day of exploring, you come home to a peaceful Riad where you can recoop and refresh. The staff were really helpful, very kind and willing to spend time with you. The owner is down to earth and seems genuinely interested in your story, but not in a prying manner. You can be as quiet or as open as you like. They were well organised when helping you, sorting days out for you and the manager is young but a wealth of information about what to pay in the souks or what to experience in Marrakesh Very clean, very friendly, very welcoming. This riad was perfect for the price, great value for money. You would not regret your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I made a last minute trip to Marrakech. I looked in Trip Advisor at the reviews, so I chose this Riad based on the positive comments. To get there was a bit tricky (taking in consideration the arrival time was 2am) However, upon arrival, I met Mohamed (the manager) and made me feel at home right from the start. He speaks Arabic, French and English. The bedroom was well decorated, very cozy, clean plus it had a ceiling fan with a AC. The breakfast was simple yet delicious. Very nice staff and owener. I stayed there for two nights, and I left very pleased! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 for four nights and had three of the rooms. The riad was charming although it was hard to find the first couple of days, after constantly getting lost in the souks. The staff made us feel very welcome and their coffee was delicious. I would recommend this riad to anyone who wants to be close to the souks and the square.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#265 of 500 in Marrakech
113 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
#339 of 500 in Marrakech
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#286 of 500 in Marrakech
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#233 of 500 in Marrakech
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#171 of 500 in Marrakech
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#394 of 500 in Marrakech
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saba

Address: 278 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Quartier du Riad Laarouss - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Saba 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Saba welcomes you in a typical Moroccan riad located in the medina of Marrakech at 15 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square and surrounded by the beauty and mystery of countless alleys of the souks. The property comprises 6 comfortable double bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and toilets. Each benefits from air conditioning. You can dine in the patio or on the terrace. You can also enjoy a sun-lounger terrace. The staff at the Riad Dar Saba will offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to introduce you to the culture, cuisine and Moroccan traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing