We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old time charm with modern service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus
Ranked #555 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived in Marrakech after dark on March 25th. The taxi dropped us off just inside the city walls ,where we were met by Hesha the hotels charming and friendly security man. He guided us to our Riad through the maze of cobbled streets. He also escorted us to the main square where we ate. This was a lovely start to our holiday. The Riad Angsana has old time charm with modern service, Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The spa was also excellent with a good choice of treatments. We would recommend a day trip to the atlas mountains which Mohammed the excellent Riad host organised. Marrakech is a very enjoyable short break destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 481steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetraTrapp, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear 481steve,

It has been a pleasure to have you with us recently. Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback in Trip Advisor. There’s nothing that makes us happier than to see a guest delighted by our service. Whether it is to escort you, to organize tailor made tours or to provide you relaxing moments in our Angsana Spa.
We are happy that you enjoyed the stay in our Riads, as well as the visit of the surroundings of Marrakech.

We hope there is a return visit in the near future.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
With best regards,
Petra Trapp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights at Riad Bab Firdaus in the old medina the end of February 2013. Yes, February 2013. I was impressed by the warmth of the staff and have been meaning to write this review ever since returning. I had chosen this property for its proximity to the square and reasonable prices. As many other reviewers have also noted, I was impressed by the hardworking staff. The night manager watched for me in the evening from the end of the street, and guided me back to the correct Riad almost every night. The place itself is beautifully decorated with traditional furnishing and fabrics. I didn't swim in the many little pools but found them very calming to look at. Breakfast was served at another Angsana Riad but adequate and made-to-order. Most importantly, I slept well despite being within the bustling medina. Overall, very charming and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouserou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetraTrapp, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear mouserou,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at the Angsana Riad Collection Marrakech on Trip Advisor.
Your valuable comments about our staff are motivating our team to go the extra mile.
To see that you appreciate the beautifully decorated Riads with traditional furnishing and fabrics shows us that we are doing well, preserving the charm of our antique places, which provide you a calm and safe setting to relax after coming back from the vibrant ambiance of the old medina.
If ever you will have a possibility to come back to visit the red city it will be our pleasure to look after you and to ensure that you will once again have a memorable stay in Marrakech.
Our team wishes you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Warm regards,
Petra Trapp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The actual accommodation is very comfortable, clean and well located and exudes local charm, but this is not the best aspect - this is delivered by the staff. They could not be more welcoming, courteous, helpful and friendly. If you ask for a recommendation for a restaurant they will not only suggest a number within easy walking distance and make your reservation, they will actually accompany you there to make sure you find the right one! Also the local mobile phone supplied for your use during your stay is a masterstroke! We had a great 5 days and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the big bath - it takes a while to fill but at 5'11" I could lie flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Charming riad, spotlessly clean, lovely big bathroom with wetroom type shower, little 'cadeaux' and first class service from the staff. I was on a VJV tour, but on my own and couldn't have been made more welcome. Perfect location too. When I left I asked if they had any scales I could weigh my case on (too much shopping!) and a member of staff went round to one of the oher Angsana riads to find me one - and all with such a nice smile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Riad Bab Firdaus is a haven in the old medina of Marrekech,it is in a great location close to market square and the souks.The staff are great and very helpful,the rooms are very comfortable and very clean.The Riad has a fantastic spa which was very good and was one the highlight of our holiday.Breakfast was served at a sister Riad a short walk away this was nice but more choose would have been good,we spent most of our time at this Riad as the roof top terrace had a plunge pool which made it more appealing to us.To some up this review I would suggest more service by staff ie drinks and snacks could be offered round the pool area and courtyards where you can relax (great opportunity to make more money) also a bar where you could buy drinks in the Bab Firdaus would also be fantastic.Enjoyed our 4 night holiday in this very good Riad.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ianward29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

The staff are lovely and extremely helpful! The rooms are good,we stayed in a suite! Nice and clean! The bed was a bit too hard for my liking but otherwise fine! Breakfast is in the Si Said riad round the corner! If you want some sunshine the roof terrace at the other riad is better! The terrace at Bab Firdaus isn't very nice with only a few sunbeds and a view of neighbouring satellite dishes!! All in all we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled E, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the service provided by our colleagues and the ambiance & roof terrace.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of a great motivation for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

With warmest regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just came from Angsana Riad Bab Firdaus.

First, the downside.

1. We booked this riad via Venere.com, and per our booking, we were supposed to stay in a suite with a kingsize and queensize bed. When we arrived we were surprised to see the our room was a regular deluxe room with one kingsize bed. The riad staff just made us stay in two separate deluxe rooms for our first night, and moved in an extra bed in one of the rooms the next day.

You should really make sure you get the room you booked for as you might get disappointed or harassed when you check in.

2. Since we were there during the height of summer, it was very hot. Although the rooms are airconditioned. the airconditioning just couldn't handle the heat. For instance, we set our aircon at 16 degrees but it could only cool down the room to 24 degrees. And the property did not have functioning electric fans

Now the good part:

1. The service provided by the staff is excellent. The "concierge" nicknamed Couscous and the bellboy Hitcham did all they can to make us feel welcome. As we didn't want to have to haggle for a cab at the airport, we decided it was best to have the hotel arrange a pick-up for us. This was easily arranged and for 170 Dirhams it was a good deal. When we arrived at the gates of the Medina from the airport, both Couscous and Hitcham were there to welcome us and and brought us to the property through a short 3 minute walk.

2. We arrived in the evening and I wanted to explore the Djemaa El-Fna, so I asked Hitcham how to get there. Instead of just showing me the way, he actually accompanied me not only to the square but even through the souqs and acted as a tour guide. Such a great unexpected service.

3. Since Angsana has five properties close to one another and the restaurant wasn't located at our riad, the staff would always accompany us to and from the restaurant.

4. Our flight out of Marrakech was in the evening but we had to check out at noon, so the the hotel gave us a "wash-up" room where we could take a shower and even sleep from 12 noon until the time we had to leave at 4 pm.

5. The hotel also recommended and excellent personal guide to take us around the major sights of the city

I would recommend this riad if only for the excellent and friendly service provided by the staff. They really go out of their way to help you. However, just make sure you actually get what you book for to avoid complications

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leadfaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaled E, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey

We are delighted to know that you had a ‘Magical stay’ at Angsana Riads Collection. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the service provided by our colleagues.

Our sincere apologies about the misunderstanding upon arrival, your feedback has been discussed in length with head department for follow up. Kindly be assured that your comments is shared to our entire team and I am certain that this will serve as a great inspiration for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us & recommending our Riad! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#92 of 501 in Marrakech
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 501 in Marrakech
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#20 of 501 in Marrakech
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 501 in Marrakech
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus

Address: N. 57 -58 Rue de la Bahia | Riad Zitoun Jdid Medina | Medina of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £79 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name which means "gateway to heaven" conjures up a sense of magic, and you will see why when you arrive. Beautifully restored, this seven-room riad is filled with traditional artifacts, hand-woven carpets and custom-made furniture. After a day of sightseeing, indulge yourself in a luxurious massage at the Oriental Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing