We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay”
Review of Corail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corail Hotel
Ranked #467 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Nice looking lobby but corridor to room was pitch black.Room itself was quite reasonable and bed cmfortable.There appeared to be only two staff doing bar resturant and coffee shop as well as all the portering.They were confused and totally overrun by the workload.The staff were arguementative and totally unhelpful.The food was a total joke.Breakfast was crusty bread and coffee.Most of the dinners were cold and consisted of pasta, bones(lamb),soup and spagetti.A small amount of horrable looking salad was also provided in the darkest of corners.On the day we left there was nothing for breakfast exept coffee ........they were still waiting for the bread to arrive!!!! A thoroughly bad hotel that I would advise you to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    35
    34
    35
See reviews for
25
55
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel on September 2012. The room was really nice, clean and confortable and also the bathroom was pleasant. Clean towels, shampoo and soap. Also the roomservice worked well and the staff of the hotel was really nice and helpful and they wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The location of the hotel is good. Local attractions are quite close so it's possible to walk but of course if you want to save time, you can always use the local taxis.

Breakfast was good with fruits, bread and fresh coffee. The waiters were really friendly and we even had a small convercation with them. The staff in general mainly speaks basic english and spanish. If you know some arabic, better but not mandatory.

Overall the experience for us was great and i highly recommend this hotel. If I will go to Marrakech again I will defenately choose Corail Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Lovely lobby, pitch black corridor to room, no towels (recurring theme, if they do arrive they are small hard and grey) only one light in bathroom so v.dark in shower makes mouldy shower curtain less noticable. Comfy bed rotten pillow quiet as Marrakesh goes to bed early. Food either micro portions if edible (breakfast) or cold dinner buffet - cold pasta with passata, lamb bones in gravy, white ? soup, dubious chicken. Salad in a dark corner. Rained, and water had come through glass roof - dinner 'served' in the narrow area around the tiny pool, so trecherous conditions & staff could not understand that this was dangerous! Also very rude reception staff - to your face or would cut off your call if you rang to ask why your hard grey bath towel had disappeared. Handy for the station. Would rather sleep in the street.

Room Tip: Please choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The location of the hotel was good as it was only a few streets away from Avenue Mohamad V. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was also of the same standard. Although we didn't have much contact with the staff, they were still very friendly.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The location and standard of the rooms should place this hotel high for travellers, but the unhelpful, rude and money-grabbing staff let this place down.
The entrance to the hotel gives a great impression. There is a small pool in the breakfast area which is a great place to dangle your legs in (although the staff will eye you up if you actually went for a dip). There is a bar and cafe, but it is never staffed. Breakfast is standard - cake, pancake, bread, jam, butter, tea & coffee and boiled eggs. Beware of the small lifts for the claustrophobic, and the movement sensitive lights.
The rooms are great, large and bright with great central heating, extra pillows, balcony and clean sheets and towels. The rooms are cleaned daily and there is complimentary shampoo and body wash. The hot water is temperamental - best time seemed to be mid-day - but the water pressure is great.
By all accounts this hotel should rank highly. so why doesn't it? The simple answer is the staff.
On our last day after our tour we checked out early and asked for suggestions about what to do for few hours. The guy just used this as an excuse to try and push us with a full day tour inc. a transfer to the airport that we already had. We continually tried to steer him onto suggesting activities not selling to us - after all we had already given them 3 nights stay and very few people spoke English, so who else could we ask?
After giving up we asked if there was a book shop in Marrakesh, so I could get a new book and spend our day reading. Again he vaguely suggested we take a taxi to have a look around, indicating there might be something maybe in the Medina. His prices for the taxi was vastly overpriced - do not spend more than 50-100 Dirham to go from train station to airport. Once he realised we were not going to hand our money over to him, he immediately dropped us and refused to give us any more help. We ended up with a wasted day.
Incidentally the only bookshop we did find was in the gate lounge in the airport, and they had French and English.

Corail needs to rethink their staff choices before this hotel losses all good reputation.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are more quiet (further away from the road vertically speaking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishTripHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was very surprised reading some of the negative views on this website - I recently spent two nights at this hotel in Marrakech and could not have been happier. My room was very nice, very clean, and very comfortable. In the bathroom I enjoyed the same levels of cleanliness- no signs of cockroaches or dust anywhere. The air conditioner worked just fine, and I had a very pleasant night sleep. The dining area is small, granted, but I had a very good dinner there, and the portions were hearty- I couldn't finish either of the 2 courses, but I did polish off the dessert! The staff was also very friendly, and chatted with us for a couple of minutes after our dinner. The breakfast, as another commentary observed, is simple but good, and the delicious freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly brewed coffee made it worth it. It's in a good location, and has a nice feel to it. The Wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms, but is fast and reliable in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an inexpensive, good option in an advantageous location in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The receptionist did not accept my voucher from Agoda.com and offered a room for much higher price. Demanded full prepayment in cash only. Did not let me see the room and did not give any information at all except 'you pay me now´.
After calling Agoda which did not help very much I just walked out. Fortunately this area does not lack other hotels. For a solo female traveler in a late evening first time in Marrakech this event was quite an experience.
I picked this hotel for it´s location. Mea culpa - did not read the reviews.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#401 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#433 of 500 in Marrakech
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#450 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#437 of 500 in Marrakech
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Kabir
Hotel Al Kabir
#457 of 500 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corail Hotel

Property: Corail Hotel
Address: 18 Avenue Hassan II | Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corail Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in downtown area, the hotel Corail 3* is a new hotel full with charm at 2 minutes of the principal avenue Mohamed V and at 10 minutes of the legendary place Djemaa el Fna. The hotel has 50 rooms, modern and comfortable distributed on 5 floors. They all are air-conditioned and equipped with the telephone, satellite television, bathroom, safe (with supplement) and minibar (on request, paying drinks). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Corail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corail Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing