We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and wonderful people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Kantzaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Kantzaro
Ranked #408 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and wonderful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I chose this hotel because of the amount of positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I was so glad I did. It is 20 minutes away from the Medina but we were looking to morocco for new culture, sun and most importantly, relaxation- time much needed away from central London. We weren't disappointed!

On arrival we were stunned by the beauty of the hotel grounds and the reception rooms which were all traditionally Moroccan and beautiful. We were greeted with ceremony by Namia, the manageress and the rest of the staff, served mint tea and baklava and told about some of the Moroccan traditions and ways and then given a hotel tour, as we were the only guests! We were given an annexe, a little house a few metres from the house which was perfect for us. It had it's own little patio and table and chairs as did all of the other rooms but was very private. The suites were gorgeous and I loved the Casablanca room which was white with a four poster bed. Another couple arrived later on in the week who actually had been there 6 times and always requested this room for that very reason.

On the Monday we went on an excursion to the Ourika valley and it was market day so it was really interesting. We were taken up to see a waterfall after this and it was really fascinating to see how the locals live, definitely worth it. The guide basically held my hand the whole way to make sure I didnt stumble on all the rocky bits.

On our visit to the medina we were also looked after really well by our tour guide and both excursions were organised by the hotel as were our airport transfers, it was easy peasy.

Nazia was lovely and Badia, the cook, made food to die for. We had dinner at the hotel 3 out of 4 nights and the tagines were melt in the mouth. The breakfast spread was also insane- it was included in the room price and every day we said 'we'll have it at 9' or whatever time we felt like as well as where, depending on the weather. It included pancakes, little cakes with different fillings, pastries, cereal, toasted bread, yogurts, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee and cocoa. It was my favourite part of the day!

On one of the hottest days a little tortoise came out from the bushes and hopped into the pool to go for a swim. It was hilarious and we had to fish it out again to go for a swim. Shows how exotic the hotel grounds are. We felt like we were in paradise :)

To sum up, if you're looking for the Marrakesh experience- crazy medina fun- then maybe this isn't for you. It's far out. If you're looking for a beautiful hotel with lovely people and ultimate relaxation that isn't too far from the madness then Definitely stay here. Thanks to all the staff at Dar Kantzaro for making us feel so special! Ashley and Keeley

Room Tip: Any of them were Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeleylou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

A most wonderful place outside of Marrakesh's buzzeling city. The garden is carefully taken care of by the gardeners. Badia cooks exellent meals and Nazia and Hassan's attentive care made us feel more then wellcome. And each morning the birds singing.....paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Dar Kantzaro is a great place indeed. Let me say it first, the only downside is that it is a good 20 minute drive from the old city. If you are prepared for this (they don't try to hide it) then you will be delighted. The food is fantastic - the best we had in Morocco this time around. The rooms are very nice and spacious, AC worked well (essential in July!), pool is great and the garden is beautiful. Top marks for this family traveling with 2 young kids.

Room Tip: We were int he Damascus suite which is very large and well decorated and has a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MathieuL7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We wanted a place to relax in guaranteed sun after the aweful weather in UK.

What a great choice. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and cool. Garden and pool were lovely and somehow the pool stayed refreshingly cool even though temperatures were in the 40's.

Service and food were excellent. Badia and Nazia looked after us very well and the food was better than anything we ate on our expeditions into town. Breakfast was simple continental and dinners excellent home cooked local dishes. Very nice omelettes & sandwiches available to order when a large meal is not wanted.

They organized excursions on request and it was nice (and not that expensive) to have car & driver waiting to take us back to DK when we went out in the evenings.

If transfers are not included in package I recommend you ask hotel to arrange for collection at airport. I imagine it might be difficult to explain directions to a taxi driver and it is difficult to spot where it is until you know what to look for.

There were only one or two other couple staying while we were there. As Badia & Nazia seemed to be the only full time inside staff while we were there, I imagine service might be stretched if it was fully booked.

Overall we really enjoyed Dar Kantzaro which is close enough to get into town quickly but far enough out to be extremely quiet & peaceful.

Thank you Badia & Nazia for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms probably cooler in the summer as upper rooms get full sunlight all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bath_UKPatrickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I along with our wonderful friends Deb and Bill had stayed at Dar Kanzaro from April 14th till April 18th. I can't describe enough the beauty of this property and the excellent service once we had found the place. The home is about 20min from downtown Marrakech. It took us 2 extra hours of circling around the city to find this place as we couldn't get a proper address to locate it on GPS but at the end it was worth it. Once we arrived to the home at 10pm, the staff Badiaa and Jalal were very welcoming and worried about us. Once they heard we were hungry they set up a beautiful dinner table for, us even though the time was late. The rooms were large and comfortable. The place was surrounded with a grove of palm and olive trees. The garden was in full bloom with multiple colors of roses. Breakfast each morning was set up on the terrace where the sounds of birds chipping and the warmth of the sun made us feel like it was heaven. My girlfriend and I had a Moroccan hamam and massage by a lady named Saida who was great. There was also Najieh another staff member whom brother got married on the Tuesday that week and she was very excited to share with us the wedding pictures. we felt very comfortable even for us to join Badiaa in the kitchen while she was cooking Tagine. We really recommend this home to everyone hoping to enjoy the quietness, the beauty of nature and the excellent pampering from staff. I would go back to the same place now that I know how to find it.
I would alert everyone that the sign for this hotel is very small and it is hard to see off the road mostly when driving at night.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the main floor and 2 suites are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saide H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarKantzaro, Owner at Dar Kantzaro, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay at Dar Kantzaro last week.
I understand that you had some difficulties to find our place and I do apologise for the inconvenience. As you may have noticed, driving in Morocco is difficult and requires special attention at all time. This is partly due to the fact that most roads outside cities here do not have official names and signs. It is the case of Route de Fès where we are located. To ad to this, the road has been recently modified and signboards as well as lightings have been removed and not replaced. In the case of Dar Kantzaro, the signboard was available at the time of your visit but its current position makes it difficult to see from the road, especially at night, I confess.

To finish with, I would like to point out that our "hard to find" location is one of our main assets as you rightly mentioned the quietness and the peacefull environment of Dar Kantzaro.

I would like to apologise again for the inconvenience and hope to see you back in Dar Kantzaro soon.

Kind regards,

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed three days in April, and we had a very relaxing time. The staff are so friendly, and the food was delicious. The beds are very comfortable, and the interior design of the hotel is just beautiful. I would go there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Having stayed at Dar Kantzaro last year with a group of girlfriends, we came back for more with our husbands! Our return visit did not disappoint! Mehdi & Emilie, the owners, were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were all wonderful and attentive and the food was of an exceptionally high standard. Set in lush gardens dotted with olive trees, Dar Kantzaro is truly a gem away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Superbly decorated and so comfortable we felt relaxed from day 1! Taxi's were arranged for the 20 minute journey into the Medina and the drivers were at our disposal for when we wished to return. We will definately be back and I would highly recommend for groups, couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.1 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#136 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#167 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#255 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#105 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#48 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Kantzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Kantzaro

Property: Dar Kantzaro
Address: Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Kantzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Kantzaro lies at the heart of an olive grove of 2.5 acres, a stone throw away from Marrakech’s top attractions and faces the Atlas Mountains range. An ideal location for ultimate relaxing, for special events celebrations (weddings, birthdays…), or more simply for exotic holidays with friends or family. At Dar Kantzaro, we strive to make our guests' stay a true experience of Moroccan hospitality and our staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay is remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Kantzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing