We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely riad - unhelpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Vert Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Vert Marrakech
Ranked #59 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely riad - unhelpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

beautiful and comfortable, clean beds and pleasant welcome. It was let down by unhelpful staff, others staying felt the same. Refused to give breakfast to one of our party - a mystery why and very disappointing. Staff would not help with directions, advice re taxis etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadvert, Propriétaire at Riad Vert Marrakech, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nigel,

First of all thank you for taking care to leave us a comment on our riad, cleanliness and hospitality. By cons I am very surprised about your comment about the fact that you have not received good service. Indeed it is myself who've accomodated with a mint tea and you have shown your rooms (one of you had even been upgraded to a superior room). When you decide to explore the Medina of Marrakech, I have provided you with a map and all the necessary explanations to guide you well. Regarding the taxi, I had contacted you by email when your booking afi offer you our transfer but you have not answered me. Year I have therefore concluded that you arrive by your own means.
Regarding the fact that a family member did not have breakfast, this is completely false. When you are down all four to take your breakfast, it was served in the dining room as all our other guests. Your son did not you come and stayed in the patio with her phone connected to wifi. We can not force customers to go take their meals when they are served. Plus it is not very fair to include in your comment the other guests who were delighted with their stay and some would have stayed longer if we had not been complete.
there just go and read the comments that we received at the same time as yours. Sanaa and myself we attach to time and professional hospitality to offer a quality service
and fortunately you remain an exception
regards
Isabel Riad Vert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    70
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
174
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just come back from staying at the Riad Vert in Marrakech.The Riad is a calm and beautiful oasis for travellers and we loved staying there. Isobel, Sanaa and all the staff cannot do enough for you. Their attention to making your stay the very best of experiences is stunning. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staying there is like a home from home. We had lovely breakfasts, and many evening meals, it was like we had a personal chef for the week. Every day we had a new eating experience, traditional food well cooked and a delight. If you are thinking of going to Marrakech book in at the Riad Vert you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had the rare experience of feeling truly at home this past week in Marrakech. The Riad's staff truly, genuinely cared about my experience inside the Riad and in Marrakech as a whole. Between recommendations for restaurants, reservations, taxis, giving complicated directions, and recommending shops that the staff themselves go to, they sincerely didn't miss a beat. Isabel and Sanaa are helpful and efficient in everything they do.

Fatima's cooking is truly wonderful, so be sure to take the staff's advice and eat there when you arrive. Definitely use the taxi service to and from the airport as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the rooftop was sunny and peaceful; but the courtyard with a relaxing sofa and music was were I chose to spend my time.

The location is on the north side of the Medina in a zone that seems to be local families. This is a great thing in my opinion, but it's also true you should memorize your way back to the Riad as well as you can on the first time. The street of the Riad is truly calm and safe, but if you get lost too far behind it, you'll have to be clever enough to dodge lots of false guides and young locals trying to profit from you. Either way, I was very happy to be staying tucked away in the quiet rather than in the noise near the square.

Those who left comments saying the Souks/ Center/ Main Square were too far away to walk were definitely doing something wrong. Once we got the hang of the way, we were at the Main Square in 15 minutes or less (and you go through the souks on your way..it's perfect!) But it's true that if you're in any hurry to catch a train or bus or anything, I'd recommend a cab in case you get lost.

I miss it already. Until next time!

Room Tip: A superior room is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgil08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Riad Vert for 4 nights with my mum. The Riad is beautiful. Exceptionally clean and the food - wow!! Fatima is a world class cook! Saana Can't do enough for you - from recommending restuarants, booking trips, to checking if you need anything - she makes you feel at home from the start. Yes, the Riad is about a 20 min stroll to the souks (we got lost everytime but always found it in the end). The souks are not for the faint hearted, but then, nor is the experience of Marrakech! You will get hassled pretty much everywhere you go, but just go with the flow. Like everywhere in the world, you will meet some unsavoury characters (mainly teenagers in the market sending you in the wrong direction for a laugh/ demanding money), but overall, we had an amazing holiday, made perfect by saana and her smiling team. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Riad is sure charming enough once you are inside, However to actually get to it is another story! Located in the Medina it is locate din one of those narrow back streets of Marrakech just like you would see on travel programs etc…even by Taxi you will not be able to arrive at it's entrance although only a few meteres walk, but in the evening this will mean getting passed the local teangers hanging around to carry your bag or just ask you for Euros..usually in a drunken state and from what I experience rather ready to put up aright with you if you try to ignore them! based on this alone I would not recommend this place to anyone even though the Riyad itself was good enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaMafalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Top Medina location, really friendly hosts ..
Ethnochic design, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely roof terrace.. Great food (Tangin) and perfect coffee!
If time allows, I recomend a day trip to Essoeyra coast (bus apprx 3.5h w SupraTours)!
All in all, my 7 day stay was a great success!

Next time in Marrakesh, Riad Vert no.1 choice:)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the Riad Vert for 3 nights.

The Riad Vert and its staff are wonderful. The riad itself is situated about 10 mins from the Square in an old part of the Medina which gives you a real flavour of the old town of Marrakech which really appealed to us.

The Riad Vert is beautiful, a real oasis of peace, calm and the most accommodating and friendly owners and staff you could imagine.

Our room was on the top floor, it was beautiful, authentic and spotlessly clean. The bed comfortable and a real bonus was the small window by the bed that allowed us to "spy" on the local people in the Medina going about there daily business whilst laying in bed. !

Our room was next to the roof terrace which is just great place to sunbathe and rest and chillout and great views across the rooftops of the medina..

We did not arrive until after 9 because of the flight time, but we were collected promptly and driven straight to the Riad where we were met by the owners Isobel and Dominique. We were shown to our lovely room and after a quick splosh we went down for our dinner, which was lovely authentic Moroccan chicken tagine, perfect start.

Throughout our entire stay we were treated superbly, nothing was too much trouble,from organising taxis, to arranging meals, to advice on where to visit and where to avoid etc.

If you want 5 star service, and get a flavour of the real Marrakech then we can not recommend the Riad Vert Highly enough. We are certainly going back to "our" oasis....

Dont use the travel company transfer from airport, use the service from the riad, it is much quicker only 15 mins compared to over 1 hour on bus and cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulEmWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#90 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#78 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#71 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Vert Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vert Marrakech

Property: Riad Vert Marrakech
Address: 48 Derb Jdid Lakbir | Bab Kechiche, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Vert Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home at Riad Vert. Neasted in the heart of the medina of Marrakesh, 10 mn away from the souks and Jemaa el Fna square, you will find a peaceful haven, where green palm trees strikingly contrast with the whitewashed walls. The riad offers an outdoor hot tub and a rooftop terrace with views of Atlas mountains nearby.. The 7 guests rooms are stylishly decorated with traditional Moroccan furnishings. Each is equipped with an en suite bathroom and some have a seating area. Home made breakfast is served every morning and guests will receive a complimentary fresh mint tea at their arrival. The hotel boasts modern amenities such as WI-Fi access (free). Gay friendly guest house. Host table is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Vert Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Vert Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing