We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential to be perfect...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Vert Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Vert Marrakech
Ranked #52 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Has potential to be perfect...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My daughter and I went to Riad Vert for a week long trip, the first holiday we have taken as mother and daughter. Many elements of Riad Vert are wonderful: we loved the interiors in the courtyard and roof terrace, the breakfast was lovely, the homecooked food was sensational (best food we ate our entire trip.) However, we were disappointed by our standard room. It was very dark, the bathroom smelt musty, and it was very noisy as it was next to the kitchen. We recommend fellow travellers to book any of the other rooms that are not on the ground floor. My daughter had to wear earplugs during her sleep, as the noise from both the kitchen and the office went way into the night.
Subsequently, we asked to upgrade and there the complications began. Saana, who was the manageress, seemed unable to give us accurate prices of each of the rooms, and the more we tried to understand it the more confused we got. There were no price lists of the rooms available to look at, and the price kept changing with every conversation we had. At the end of it, we realised that we had been overcharged for changing rooms, which would not have happened if we knew exactly how much each room cost.
A lot of the other reviews talk about meeting Isabel and good advice she had given, but unfortunately we did not meet her during our stay, and weren't told that she wouldn't be around. As it was our first time in Marrakech together, we were hoping to get some local recommendations on places to eat, things to see etc. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on this trip, and were looking for the smaller, more traditional eating places as well as hidden gems. The places to eat and tourist destinations that were suggested were either very expensive, or not what we were looking for. The places we did find, mostly by accident, were incredible and made our trip memorable. None of these places were recommended (some not even known about) by the Riad. It would have been useful to have a guidebook at the Riad to be able to look through, or some top tip leaflets for Marrakech (which have been provided in other places we have stayed in.) Even being told where to get stamps, internet cafes, the correct exchange rate (which we were told incorrectly) would be important, and useful things to provide to travellers.
Many days, nobody who could speak English was available until 11 in the morning. For us, as we are happy to explore on our own, this was okay, but the people staying next to us had put money in the safe and were unable to get it out as nobody was around.
As for a few other good points, the taxi bookings were always efficient, and as we already mentioned all of the food in the Riad was brilliant. The roof terrace is a particularly lovely spot to relax, and adds something special to Riad Vert. We also enjoyed that it was out of the tourist area, and it was very easy to get to by taxi or walking. It gave us a traditional and real feel of what Marrakech is like.
We would happily revisit Riad Vert, as we did enjoy our stay, but with these above reservations.

Room Tip: Choose any room that isn't on the ground floor. The cheap standard room on the first floor was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadvert, Propriétaire at Riad Vert Marrakech, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
dear Carol,

first thanks to take time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Riad Vert. Regarding to your room, i'm sorry you did not liked it, usually it's very appreciated at this period as it's very fresh and also the bathroom has just been renovated just before you arrival.
about the problem with the price to have a confort room, i'm very surprise as i told you the difference for the 4 nights when the room was available (63€ for 4 nights) and you agreed with this.

for all the advices, we have given you a map and all explanations plus taxi number to organize you day as we do usually with all our guests. You had also at the riad on the big old door in the living room all cards and places to visit but a guide book would have been useful for you as depending guests some want to discover the city and some just want to chill on the roof top.

for the noise at night i'm quiet surprise as the chef Fatima is working during the day and not during the night, may me you heard Aziz our watch man preparing the breakfast but only from 8am when the breakfast start to be served.
Isabel (which was on holidays) and i thank you again and hope to see you another time at Riad Vert
kind regards
Sanaa and Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    70
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
172
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I spend three great days in the Riad Vert. It was a great pleasure to spend time on the roof garden during the day and in the evening. The rooms are very nice and so quite. Isabel gave us a warm welcome and a lot of very good information about Marrakech and our further travel. Although we find the Riad on our own, we would recommend the transfer from the airport or from the bus station. It's much more hussle free.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are very nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My mother and I spent 5 nights at Riad Vert and enjoyed every minute of it. Upon arrival we were given mint tea and snacks whilst our very heavy cases were taken to our room. Isobel then gave us a tour of the riad, it was everything we were looking for and more. The roof area is fantastic with ample seating, sun loungers and a Jacuzzi. We relaxed here for a while before getting ready for our first trip to central square. Sanaa was very helpful giving us a map and directions. It was getting late so thankfully she insisted we take a taxi, the medina is a maze and it takes a few outings to get some bearings. The staff really care about their guests unlike a lot of hotels. Nothing is too much trouble for them and there is always somebody on hand to help out. The medina is a magnificent place full of chaos, the riad is definitely an oasis of calm. Quiet, relaxing and easy going. Both my mother and I will definitely be booking this riad again when we return. Thank you all for helping to make our holiday amazing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am just back from my second visit to the Riad Vert. Thankyou to Isabel and Saana for making me so welcome. I booked directly this visit and the airport transfers were completely hassle free. The Riad is perfect for chilling out after days out in the Medina. Fatima's cooking is excellent. This visit I also had lunch on a couple of days. It was a feast and such variety. Extremely good value for money. The tagines in the evening were very very good. The portion sizes are good, you never leave hungry. The Riad is spotless, kept this way by hard working staff who always have the time to smile and chat. My room was great, decorated in rich colours and cleaned everyday. You cannot ask for more. I love the roof terrace which has plenty of sunbeds and a lovely shaded area with the most amazingly comfortable beds and chairs. This was needed as Marrakech was having a heat wave and to be able to sit outside in the shade was very welcome. The courtyard is kept immaculate and again is a lovely place to sit. On the first floor there is a seated area with a small book library. Again a great area to chill out. Isabel arranged for me to have a guide on this trip who took me to places I would never have found on my own. A visit to the Palaces and Tombs are a must for everyone who visits. Thanks to everyone for making me so welcome and for looking after me so well. I will see you all again soon. Elaine

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for a week in May. It was our first time in Marrakech and we loved it. This was in no small part thanks to our stay at Riad Vert.

The airport transfer arranged through the Riad was simple and from talking to other guests who had arranged alternative transfers was definately the way to go.

The Riad itself is situated in the Medina to the North of the souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa. It's a pleasant neighbourhood but is by no means a tourist area. If you want to feel like a local this is the place. Jemaa el-Fnaa is easily within walking distance and it's an enjoyable one as you pass through the souks on the way. Otherwise the Riad will arrange taxis for you even arranging for you to be picked up again.

The Riad is beautiful, very relaxing and the staff are excellent. Isabel and Saana arranged everything we needed including taxis, a hammam, a guide for the day and even sorted out the pick up for a day trip we had booked separately. Our room was cleaned daily and all the public areas were of a similar standard. Our room tip would be to go for one of the canopy bed suites but all looked lovely.

Breakfast was a simple affair consisting of orange juice, tea or coffee, various breads and jams. The evening meals are without a doubt worth having. We had the best food we had anywhere in Marrakech.

We cant thank Isabel, Sanaa and the staff enough for all they did for us during our stay.

If you want a taste of the real Marrakech then you wont go far wrong here. Wonderful Riad. Excellent food. Exceptional Service.

Top tips from us for a fantastic stay in Morocco are:- pre-book the transfer with the Riad
Pick a canopy suite
Eat at the riad - the food always varies and is great
Arrange a guide through the riad early on. Our guide Youssef was fantastic, knowledgeable and will show you anywhere you want to go
Hamman Les Bains L'Alhambre was fabulous - again booked via Riad prior to travelling - we chose hammam and massage duo.
Taxi fares from the square to Riad Vert should not cost you more than 50 dirhams. Pick a smaller taxi to take you as near as possible to the Riad.

Room Tip: Any of the canopy bed suites in particular Tarbouch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve73Redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location is good...Riad beautiful and relaxing... beds super comfy...coffee is plentiful and stays hot all through breakfast in it's flask...and everyone welcoming, and helpful. You will be happy and thankful choosing this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 545claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say I have no idea why people have posted bad reviews about Riad Vert.
This is without a doubt one of the best places I've stayed. Not only is it beautifully decorated and extremely peaceful but ALL the staff are amazing. Sanaa greets you with open arms everyday with a constant smile on her face and makes you feel truly welcome in the Riad. Izabel is full of Marrakech knowledge and will tell you everything you need to know about the city. Aziz is a very sweet gentle soul and such a kind man as well as Fatima being a superb cook. You definitely need to eat in the Riad at least once as the food is delicious.
Even the maids are adorable, the staff couldn't be more friendly.

The riad was spotless, the maids are always discreetly cleaning.

The roof terrace is a must! Plenty of sun loungers, a shaded canopy area and cute little jacuzzi to cool down in.

This was a last minute yet well deserved holiday that me and my friend booked to have a few days of relaxing and soak up some culture.

We were sad to say goodbye to the Riad Vert family more than Marrakech itself.

Highly recommend if you're looking for peace and tranquility in a city that's quite the opposite.


Sending love to all at Riad Vert!


Sarah & Rachel x

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDavies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#90 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#87 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#68 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Vert Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vert Marrakech

Property: Riad Vert Marrakech
Address: 48 Derb Jdid Lakbir | Bab Kechiche, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Vert Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home at Riad Vert. Neasted in the heart of the medina of Marrakesh, 10 mn away from the souks and Jemaa el Fna square, you will find a peaceful haven, where green palm trees strikingly contrast with the whitewashed walls. The riad offers an outdoor hot tub and a rooftop terrace with views of Atlas mountains nearby.. The 7 guests rooms are stylishly decorated with traditional Moroccan furnishings. Each is equipped with an en suite bathroom and some have a seating area. Home made breakfast is served every morning and guests will receive a complimentary fresh mint tea at their arrival. The hotel boasts modern amenities such as WI-Fi access (free). Gay friendly guest house. Host table is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Vert Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Vert Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing