We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value riad - quiet location but right next to the action!”
Review of Riad Dar Tah Tah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tah Tah
Ranked #827 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value riad - quiet location but right next to the action!”
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I visited Dar Tah Tah at the end of March as part of an adult family group of 5. Getting out of the taxi straight into the heart of Jemma El Fna at 9pm on a Saturday night threw us straight into the middle of the madness that is Marrakech!! Fortunately we had a porter who duly loaded our cases into his wheelbarrow and guided us down the winding alleys for the 5 minute walk to the riad.

The riad is basic but good value for money and in an excellent location. It's close enough to the main square that you can be in amongst the madness in a few minutes, yet peaceful enough to sit and chill out on the terrace if you prefer. The living room area is quite dark and dingy but the weather meant we spent very little time in there.

We had Room 4, which is the terrace room at the top of the riad with air-con and it's own terrace. The rooms are small but functional and are cleaned daily. Residents can use the kitchen facilities if they want, although the food was so good elsewhere that we only used the fridge. While we were there, the fridge was also stocked up with water (10DH), beer (30DH) and wine (100DH) which you could charge to your room if you didn't want to go out to source this locally (we couldn't be bothered!!).

Breakfast was served 9-10am and normally consisted of fresh bread, butter and jam, pastries, something warm (e.g. omelette, pancakes) plus freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. We had dinner on the first night (180DH) which was lovely - salad/veggies to start then a delicious tagine with bread followed by fresh fruit!

The staff are often on site and, if not, are usually at the sister riad (Villa El Arsa) or ca be contacted on their mobile. Brahim and Hussaine both speak English and French and were very helpful in terms of hints and tips for where to go/what to do/what to avoid. They can also organise trips for you - we want to Ourika Valley which is beautiful and well worth the journey. Brahim also recommended an excellent Hamam (more of a 'tourist' one) just around the corner, which was bliss.

Would definitely recomment as a good value, basic place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed 6 nights in Marrakech and had a wonderful time. We had initially booked Dar Tah Tah, but because the toilet was broken in our room we got transferred to Riad Villa El Arsa, without any problems or extra cost. We also stayed one night in Dar Tah Tah, after coming back from the west coast at the end of our trip. Both places are beautiful. We felt home instantly. We were welcomed with a mint tea and baklava by Brahim. All the staff is very nice and helpful. Both places are located centrally in the souks. Breakfast was served on the terrace and included a variety of bread, croissants, pan au chocolat, pancakes, jams and fresh orange juice. Because both riads only have 4-5 rooms, socialising with the other guests is easy. Brahim gave us loads of tips for sightseeing and eating. We also booked a one day trip to the Atlas mountains through Brahim. It was a highlight of our holiday and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I and my girlfriend spent the most enjoyable 4 nights in Dar Tah Tah. It was very comfortable and friendly - we were able to chat to others there about our experiences in the souks etc! over a delicious breakfast. Dar Tah Tah suited our needs perfectly as we were not looking for 5* hotel standards just somewhere where we could experience the moroccan way of life in Marrekech in a truly authentic way. The location is extremely good being so close to the Souks. The staff were so helpful and charming and I highly recommend staying in this most characterful and attractive Riad.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We booked a four night break at Dar Tah Tah because it seemed nice and central, and wasn’t too expensive (we paid £308 for four people for four nights bed & breakfast). The house is hidden down a narrow street off Rue Rahba Kedima, which leads into the old spice market. The position is great, being close to the main square of Jemaa El Fna and only yards from the souks, yet still beautifully quiet, which you need after braving the souks!

Through the large wooden door, you enter a passageway through to the glass roofed courtyard, where there’s a table & chairs for breakfast. Also on the ground floor is a twin bedded room with a small shower room, the kitchen and sitting room/salon with fireplace, tv, board games, books and a few videos. We were welcomed to use the fridge & coffee making facilities.

Our rooms were on the first floor, rooms 1 & 2, which comprised the “family suite”. Room 2 opened off the central terrace, had 2 fairly narrow single beds & a tiny shower room/toilet. There was a wardrobe but unfortunately, the fact that there were two beds there meant it was impossible to open! Luckily, that wasn’t a hardship for my two (adult) children – they were happy to live out of suitcases.

Room 1 was up a short flight of stairs, and had two single beds pushed together, and a roomier shower room with toilet & bidet. There was another single bed so the room could easily have slept three, as it was enormous, with very high ceilings. The window was quite high up, so you couldn’t actually see out. The room was also air conditioned & had a radiator for colder months, plus extra bedding in the wardrobe.

Up the stairs from the first floor was a little roof terrace, with a table & chairs, a divan with cushions & a parasol, & two sunbeds. There was another room up on the terrace, which would be a lovely place to stay (as long as you don’t mind stairs!).

You get your own key to the front door, as the staff don’t stay overnight, but are always contactable by phone.

Breakfast is adequate, continental style (French bread/croissants/jam/butter etc)

The whole dar was nicely decorated in Moorish style and had a homely feel to it – it would be great to hire the whole house for a family or group of friends.

We were looked after by Ibrahim, who couldn’t have been more helpful & also spoke very good English. He arranged our transfers to & from the airport, and also a day trek to the mountains, which turned out to be the highlight of our visit.

Dar Tah Tah was very good value for the price, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — No locks on internal doors
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#230 of 499 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,945 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tah Tah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tah Tah

Property: Riad Dar Tah Tah
Address: 8 Derb Tah Tah | Zniket Arahba, Rahba Kedima, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tah Tah is hidden down a narrow which leads into the old spice market of Rahba Kedima. Its position is exceptional, being close to the main square of Jemaa El Fna and only yards from the souks, yet remaining a quiet haven in which to retreat from the bustle of the Medina. Five bedrooms, one sleeping up to 4 pers, all with private shower/wc. Relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere with helpful and friendly staff .English spoken. Tiny Lilliputian courtyard, large salon with chimney,roof terrace with table and chairs. 3 rooms have air-con. The others have fans. Trekking in the High Atlas and Desert trips arranged. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tah Tah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing