We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful, luxurious stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Abiad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Abiad
Ranked #360 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, luxurious stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This riad is full of character, with beautiful ornaments and furniture throughout. We stayed in the chocolate suite and the huge rooms were charming and luxurious. There was a gorgeous balcony off the living room space, and a huge bath/shower in the bathroom with rose petals to throw inside.
The staff were wonderful, always ready to help us, -or walk with us to the medina so that we didn't get lost!
Breakfast was enormous, freshly made pancakes, cake, buscuits, etc.
The location is great, a little hard to find the first time, but anywhere in the medina is hard to find! a short short walk through the medina donw to the big square is perfect for walking off all those pancakes after breakfast. The roof terrece was lovely, we spent some time sitting in the sun and reading our books away from the hectic medina.

One peice of advice: the taxi's ARE allowed to drive into the medina as far as Dar Abiad. Often they will tell you they are not allowed to. They drop you off about 10 mins away and then encourage you to use the 'help' of the local children to find your way, then when you arrive at the riad the children all ask for a ridiculously high amount of money for their help. It's a nuscience more than a danger but it does get tiring. If you need help it's better to ask a woman for her advice as they generally wont ask for money as men and children do.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boca132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Let me begin by emphasising how much in agreement I am with the previous glowing reviews. This excellent Riad is the Real Deal and will not fail to impress in every respect. Firstly the staff are extremely helpful and generous with their time and care. Despite arriving at an absurdly late hour owing to a delayed flight, our pre-arranged driver still met us at 4:00am and drove us to the door of Dar Abiad where Jamal gave us the "Big Welcome". Each morning a delicious and generous breakfast is laid out for us, at out leisure. There's always a slight variation in the tasty cake or hot pancake and a limitless supply of hot coffee or tea. Nothing is too much trouble for Karim (as he amply demonstrated when he was able to produce a hairdryer at the drop of a hat for my companion). We had booked the Violette Suite but were mysteriously upgraded to the Chocolat. We didn't ask why and we didn't much care as it was such a beautiful set of rooms with a private balcony overlooking a serene courtyard. The room also has private access to the roof terrace and a sumptuous bathroom. Every day the hidden hands of the ladies to whom we say hello in the morning, prepare our bedrooms and leave fresh linen with the flourish of some flower petals or else arrange my companions pyjamas in a little bow! Don't waste your time (and money!) trying to eat out in Marrakesh overmuch. Sure, you will want to step out and try your luck but you'd be missing a big trick if you didn't have dinner at the Dar Abiad once or twice. A quick mention to Karim in the morning is all it takes and almost anything is possible. We tried the delicious and exotic Moroccan tagines one evening and brochettes with salad on another. Frankly, these were the best meals we found in Marrakesh and very reasonable at €20 pp. Alcohol can be provided by arrangement and at cost although I have to say the bottle of Moroccan wine I sampled left something to be desired. I'd go with a beer next time. I can't understand the previous reviewer's gripes about the location. Sure, it's possibly a bit hard to find on first attempt but so is EVERYWHERE in the Medina. We had little trouble in daylight. Perhaps a single woman could find the neighbourhood a little bit threatening at night but the Medina is ultimately safe. Besides, both Karim and Jamal made it clear that they would happily come and get us any time we needed were we to phone. The first thing they did was to supply us with a clearly printed paper with both their cell numbers and the address if the Riad. You can't ask better than that! This place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherifof0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were a party of ten people who booked the whole of Dar Abiad for 10 days at the beginning of July 2009. It didn't disappoint. The riad itself is beautifully furnished throughout in typically Morocan style and has lots of greenery in the courtyard - very welcome in heat of July, as was the good sized pool. So If you want an ultra chic, minimilist, boutique style riad, this is not the one for you.

The service, headed by the wonderful Karim (who speaks excellent English) was near faultless. He arranged trips for us and recommended restaurents as well as offering useful tips and advice about negotiating your way through the sensory assault that lies beyond the tranquility of the riad walls. Staff were always on hand to provide mint tea/coffee and the food was excellent. A substantial breakfast is included, lunch and dinner is charged at 20 euros per person. On the 3 occasions that we ate dinner, the food was fantastic - a delicous array of starters and a memorable lamb tagine with prunes and almonds.

Dar Abiad gave us much more than a base from which to explore Marrakech, staying there was an experience in itself, made all the more memorable by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

Absolutely recommended especially for people who are not driving to Marrakesh.

The downside is the location. Like many other Riads in Marrakesh's Medina, it has a very low profile door on a little alley. Even some taxi drivers may not know it. BUT once you get there, it is hard not to fall in love with this place. Took us 10 mintues to walk to the souqs.

Staff was helpful, friendly and went out of their way to help without asking for money. One of them cycled out to the medina to lead us to the riad.

Very exotic and beautiful rooms. Tea is served all the time.

None of the furnitures are what you see on the street. You know there is a designer hand behind this riad's outlook.

Breakfast is delicious and is taken by the pool side.

Massage in your own room costs only 300drh an hour. Good one this was.

There's a shed for parking close by but it is truly a shed and nothing more.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank pige_paa_ferie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad les Oliviers
Riad les Oliviers
#262 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#121 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#69 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dama
Riad Dama
#290 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Abiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Abiad

Property: Dar Abiad
Address: 95, bis Sidi Ghanem - Zaouia | Bab Lakhmis - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Abiad 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dar Abiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Abiad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing