We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Importunate and encumbering host”
Review of Riad Dar El Masa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar El Masa
Ranked #208 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Importunate and encumbering host”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I ended up in this Riad because the one we originally had planned to stay in was overbooked.
The rooms and other facilities of the Riad are tastefully decorated, the rooms are very spacious. The breakfast served was delicious.

But the absolutely no-go is the host Mustafa. He didn't miss anything by behaving as a cliche Moroccan man. Seeing us to girls traveling alone he made a pass at us whenever possible and although we more than once made clear we weren't interested in his advances he kept going on. Further, he was offering us different things for apologizing that our other Riad was overbooked (eg. a beer, a hammam entry) but at the end all he was after was that we paid for all this extras.

The host is the business card of the Riad and there is absolutely no apologize for his behavior. I don't recommend to stay in this place, especially if you are a single traveling woman or a group of women only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capunsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc d, Propriétaire at Riad Dar El Masa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We havé learn your comment about our Riad comming back from a few days outside
We are so sorry of what happen With mustapha. He is working With us for long Time and we Never had such trouble .we apologise for the trouble you have With him
I am going to have a explanation With him in a few days.
Can you send me on e mail of the Riad the amount of the extra charges whitch hé says was offer and our account bank number i Will sent to you a bank transfert.
If you come back to Marrakech come to see us,just for a drink just to change your feeling about the atmosphère of the Riad
Odile and marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
49
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic welcome from Mustafa (gardian), Odile and Marc (tenants). They will do everything they can to make your stay a wonderful experience!

Water, tea, and plenty of fruit are available at your convenience. Feel free to ask then anything else! Their home cooking smells awesome (we haven't tried it), the breakfast (included) is copious and served on their rooftop.

The Riad itself lacks a bit of typical decoration, but the rooms are large enough and very comfortable. Don't get scared by the way to the Riad, you'll have to walk through little hidden streets, but that's what it takes to get an undisturbed peace during the nights.

Warmly recommended by a couple of Swiss (30 y.o.) travelers.

Helpful?
Thank Volleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marc d, Propriétaire at Riad Dar El Masa, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you si Michel for whatever you havé written aftershave your stay in dar El Masa
Mustapha send you all his best regards
See you soon in Marrakech
Marc Odile and mustapha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at this beautiful riad at the beginning of March this year. This oasis of peace and tranquility is just a strolling distance from the hustle and bustle of the souks and the hectic trading at the Jemaa el Fna. The hosts Marc and Odile made us feel welcome and so at home with their helpful suggestions for shopping and delightful fireside chats over a pot of mint tea in the evenings. Infact Odile accompanied us for an inevitable trip to some specialist shops in the town - a gesture we really admired. Mustapha the manager of the riad is a real assest, always helpful, willing and wonderful company. We were invited to join birthday celebration dinner for friends we met at the riad on the last evening of our stay - a throughly enjoyable occasion!
Many thanks Odile Marc and Mustapha for a really relaxing time in your riad.
Muzaffar & Stephanie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzaffar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at this incredibly friendly and hospitable Riad. Our room was spacious and remarkably quiet (apart from the sardine-salesman at 9.30 am shouting out his wares) considering we were only 8 minutes walk from Place Jemaa el Fna. Our hosts - owners Marc and Odile and manager Mustapha - could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were welcomed with mint tea from Mustapha followed by red wine from the owners. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and we were provided with a meal consisting of soup followed by a lamb tagine and a fish tagine (my wife is a non-meat eater), a speciality pastilla, wine and even G&T as an aperitif - all that for 25euro each. They had arranged for friends we had met at the Riad to join us and them -all in all a great birthday party to remember. Mustapha and Odile were always available to help with shopping - spices, pots, olives etc. The other highlight was the trip in a private taxi to the Atlas foothills, then our own guide for a 4 hour gentle walk through the hills - the scent and sight of the blossom was gorgeous, a visit to a berber potter's house where we made our own tagines under absolutely no pressure to buy completed by a home made "real" roast chicken at our guide's house. Again all arranged by the Riad at a total cost for the whole day of Euros 100!!!!!! Thank you to all of you for making a great holiday and a memorable birthday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc d, Propriétaire at Riad Dar El Masa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Tank you a lot for tour comment on tripadvisor
We havé the pleasure to have dinner for your birthday
And we havé truly spent vert good time
See you soon in Marrakech marc and odile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just completed our stay at the fantastic Riad Dar El Masa and already cannot wait to return! We were a group of 11, 3 children and 8 adults and every member had glowing reports of our visit.

Madam Odile and Monsieur Marc were fantastic hosts and warmly greeted us with open arms an fresh mint tea on our arrival- their hospitality only grew during our stay, and we felt like we were staying with family. Riad manager, Mustapha was a delightful guide and our resident chef Bushera prepared abolsutely stunning food for us daily. Having 2 children with severe food allergies, they did a spectacular job.

The Riad itself is based very close to the central Souks, so was central and idyllic spot. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean, and after a busy day at the souks was the perfect retreat- quiet and peaceful.

We wish Madame Odile and the rest of her fantastic team our warmest wishes and cannot wait to see them all again!

Best wishes,
Melissa and Shahnan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc d, Propriétaire at Riad Dar El Masa, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mélissa,It was also à great pleasure for us to welcome you and all your family in our Riad ,and I hope to see you next year in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at this riad for four nights in December 2012 with our 7 and 9 year old kids. We really enjoyed our visit here and was able to relax. The riad was beautiful and clean. The hosts Jamal and Fatima were really very nice but not overwhelming. The value was great because they let our two kids stay in the same room without charging extra. Jamal went out twice to get us medicine at night and didn't even want to charge us. It is the small things that make you feel the good service and this was one of them. I would def. stay here again.

One suggestion- more variety for breakfast.

Thank you Jamal and Fatima. We miss you already!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Arranged to be collected in a moden 4WD that took us close to the riad where Jamal met us to guide the rest of the way.

Jamal looked after us throughout the trip.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated.

Had a meal here and it was quite tasty.

They have a pool but too cold at that time of the year - the sun terrace was nice though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#40 of 1,153 in Marrakech
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#237 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,153 in Marrakech
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Masa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Masa

Property: Riad Dar El Masa
Address: no 35 Derb jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad Dar el Masa:- Very well located in the heart of Marrakech- Swimming pool- Traditional homemade Moroccan Cooking- Sunbath on roof top ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar El Masa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing