We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live the local adventure”
Review of Hotel Foucauld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Foucauld
Ranked #695 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Live the local adventure”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you ever want to have a total Moroccan experience, Hotel Foucauld is the place. Named after a French missionary, the hotel offers a stay that lets you live as the local people do. Every room is decorated in a local home style fashion with window air conditioning that only half works, and there is no elevator. You are essentially in a Moroccan home and carry your own suitcases to the second floor where all of the sleeping quarters are located. Your window looks out over a dusty busy street with noisy taxis and the muezzin's call to prayer from a nearby mosque joining in with strong body odors smelling of spice and the aromas from sweaty horses drawing carriages. When you step out of the hotel you are right in the heart of the "Jemma al Fna" where monkey handlers and snake charmers entertain colorfully dressed tourists, vendors hawk orange juice and dried nuts, and there are open air restaurant stands. The scene may not look too appetizing to some, but I try and trust what they have to offer: couscous with vegetables, cumin flavored brains, intestines in spicy ras el hanout sauce, seasoned beef hooves in saffron sauce, etc.... This is how I like to travel and enjoy the adventures of North African countries, and I give stars to an establishment if it offers me the experience that I have dreamed about. If you are looking for a Bristol multiple stars accomodation with smoothly working AC, a jacuzzi bath tub, and 95 TV channels, Hotel Foucauld is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    15
    11
    13
See reviews for
8
24
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived at this hotel after it was dark, we didn't want to keep searching because we'd be like fresh meet in a shark pool for all the "friendly" locals wanting you to show a place to stay. The next morning we saw posted prices for rooms and realized we were over charged. We asked for the posted price and the owner got upset, gave us the posted price for the second night and wouldn't let us have breakfast (which is included in the price). We stayed there two nights because we arrived so late the night before and need the day to explore Marrakesh. The only reason to stay here is to be close to the big square in the Medina, you do not want to hang out in the room. One positive is that there is actually hot water to shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyudmila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived late, the place we wanted was full, it was a short term, stop gap. It served that purpose and was more than adequate but if you're here for any length of time, dive into the Medina and find one of any number of Riads for the same money. Basic room, basic en suite, thin curtains, beds adequate. Nothing flash.

The breakfast was very good, probably the best of our seven nights in Morocco, buffet style gallettes, crepes, Moroccan pancakes, baguettes, pain au chocolat and croissiants; (with jam, honey and butter) lashing of tea (mint and English), coffee and juice. Very, very comprehensive.

It's ideally located, on the airport bus route (the number 19 leaves from the stops across from the front of the hotel) and you can get a petit taxi for the same price 60Dh, if you barter. The Main Sq is a 2 minute walk.

Stay a night, but it's not worth any longer

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The service was good, the room was good, heat, internet in the rooms, TV, all the luxuries for a 350 DH room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpmatsalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed for two separate one night stays either side of my trek up Mount Toubkal. I had a room on the first floor on both stays. The room had a balcony which overlooked the main road which was busy most of the night, and quite noisy as the balcony doors wouldn't shut properly. The air conditioning worked though which I gathered from other members of my group was a bonus, as was the provision of towels. It seemed to be hit and miss as to whether your room had towels or a dressing gown provided. The rooms were clean and basic, fine for a couple of nights. There was a very deep step (about 20in) into the bathroom, I've tried to attach a photo to illustrate this. We had breakfast and evening meal included which was buffet style with lots of choice. The hotel is a 5 minute walk (across a very busy road) to the Medina Square and Souk - which again can be heard from the hotel if you have a roadside room. I stayed here on a Saturday night, and the following Friday night so during the week may have been quieter. Although the noise kept me awake it was strangely relaxing to listen to all the hustle and bustle - you'll also hear the call to prayer from the mosque across the road at 5.30am. Overall a cheap and cheerful hotel with good food right in the centre of Marrakech.

Room Tip: Inside room if you want peace and quiet, or there are some rooms that open straight on to the roof t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights as part of a geography trip with the school. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Medina Square (where all the shops are). I cannot fault the service as they were more than happy to help when we regularly locked our key in our room! They were charming and extremely helpful. The restaurant is a buffet and was a lovely array of moroccan cuisine. The rooms themselves were very basic but satisfactory and were all we needed for our stay. The hotel was perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Bad hotel, kind of dirty. Poor service. Kind of expensive. Mediocre, expensive dinner. Oh yeah, the tour of the city is an obscene waste of our time and a ripoff, although it sounded legit when we signed up.

But the ease of the amazing location might be worth it if you're looking for a quick one night's stay to get in and get out of the city, which I would highly recommend (Marrakech isn't worth more than a day).

Another plus was that they were able to call somebody to arrange for a driver. The lady was very professional, no nonsense.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PracticalTravelerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#407 of 500 in Marrakech
219 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#272 of 500 in Marrakech
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#198 of 500 in Marrakech
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#433 of 500 in Marrakech
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#335 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foucauld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foucauld

Property: Hotel Foucauld
Address: Avenue El Mouahidine, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #695 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Foucauld 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Foucauld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing