We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Foucauld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Foucauld
Ranked #661 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The room war alright for the price. There was no hot water though.
The staff was not friendly, the guy who simply took our one piece of luggage luggage without asking and carried it upstairs for 10 seconds shamelessly demanded money for it.
Breakfast was alright, payment was cash upfront. Thankfully had to stay there only for a single night.
The best part about it is the greal location near the Jamaa el-Fna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonidasAbrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    15
    11
    13
See reviews for
8
24
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A group of seventeen girls and women on an aid trip in the mountains used Hotel Foucauld as our 1st and final night in Morocco. It was perfect for what we needed. We only had rooms with 2 each which meant one person was alone but this did not matter too much as it was probably cooler than being with someone else, the aircon was hit and miss. The first night our air con worked fine but wasn't cool enough for the extreme temperatures that had hit us! I reccomend taking your own sleeping bag/pillow case as the sheets on the first night were not spotless! The food however was delicious and there was lots of it, the evening meal was full of authentic food which matches the nature of the hotel. If you want a real feel of Morocco i would definately reccomend Hootel Foucauld but not for more than 1 night at a time. If you're a heavy sleeper it helps as there is a busy market until early hours and an early morning wake up call from the mosque.

Overall a welcoming hotel with a true Morocco feel.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I love the Foucauld because it´s so authentic: you have a real sense of Moroccan life here. The rooms are a bit basic, but always comfy and clean and with hot water (and cheap too!). Try to get one on the roof, where you can wake up to the buzz of the street coming to life below, with fantastic views of the Koutoubia, the people and - only five minutes away - the Djema el Fna square, heart of the Medina.
Breakfast is delicious local bread with honey, yogurt, eggs. Great coffee. The restaurant is a fantastic work of Islamic art and architecture, with low red sofas and cushions and fabulous Moroccan food - tagines and cous-cous and so on (and they will send out for the local Moroccan red wine if you request it).
Staff are quirky but welcoming and in reception speak Arabic, French and English. All are Moroccan thank God. Forget riyadhs and go to a real Moroccan hotel!

Room Tip: Like I said, get on on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I took our son to Africa...
Let me preface this by saying that I am a relatively successful businessman who likes to find decent services and experiences for his family, so I am approaching this from perhaps slightly the wrong angle

With this hotel, it's hit and miss with which room you're in. One had hairs on the beds... Another was alright and actually had a working shower. Lovely view and tasty food though. But remember to bring sun cream because It's Gonna Be Hot In MRCO! Very close to the market, still don't know if that was a good thing. My son almost got hit by a taxi as soon as he stepped out the door - it goes right out onto the main road! It is close to a KFC if you want some 'safe' food. Anyway, this really should be for no more than a night...
Also... If you're unfortunate enough to be anything other than the heaviest of sleepers, get ready for 25 degree nights and prayer calls from the VERY nearby mosque at all sorts of unknown hours. So do try and go somewhere like this for a true feel of Morocco but please, whatever you do, have somewhere else lined up too.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the mosque are quieter - that is sort of behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Surprisingly I really enjoyed my one night in this hotel. From the start I requested a deluxe room and I was glad I did. My Moroccan travel companion had the room next door which was a standard room and it was tiny with a big step up to the bathroom. My room however, had a queen size bed and a single bed, a comfy chair, a desk and chair, French doors opening onto a balcony at the front of the hotel overlooking the park in front of the man square and a large and clean bathroom with buckets of of hot water. The tv had limited local channels but it was actually nice just to sit on the balancing listening to the racket that is Marrakech and watch the locals. I had no problem sleeping once the French doors were closed. Reception was very helpful in guiding me to a man to fix my broken boot heel but unfortunately no help in getting my suitcase down the stairs. Breakfast was basic but for the price it seems churlish to complain. As I recall the price was either 400 or 600 dirham per nightand another hundred got me a late checkout. Cheap as chips I thought. I have stayed in a lot worse places in Morocco for the same money. It is about 100 meters walk t the square past the ATM machines. Taxis and buses opposite.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room for oodles of space and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you want a simple and cheap hotel to stay in Marrakech the choice is Foucauld. Rooms are old and very basic. The breakfast is acceptable and buffet dinner at 10 Euros is very good. Don't forget to go to the fabulous terrace to take pictures of the mosque. The hotel's location is excellent and is only 2 minutes away from the most famous square in the world, Jam El Fna.
So, it worth by the price and especially by is location.

Room Tip: Don't stay in front or terrace rooms as they are very, very noisy ... if possible choose the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
765 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you ever want to have a total Moroccan experience, Hotel Foucauld is the place. Named after a French missionary, the hotel offers a stay that lets you live as the local people do. Every room is decorated in a local home style fashion with window air conditioning that only half works, and there is no elevator. You are essentially in a Moroccan home and carry your own suitcases to the second floor where all of the sleeping quarters are located. Your window looks out over a dusty busy street with noisy taxis and the muezzin's call to prayer from a nearby mosque joining in with strong body odors smelling of spice and the aromas from sweaty horses drawing carriages. When you step out of the hotel you are right in the heart of the "Jemma al Fna" where monkey handlers and snake charmers entertain colorfully dressed tourists, vendors hawk orange juice and dried nuts, and there are open air restaurant stands. The scene may not look too appetizing to some, but I try and trust what they have to offer: couscous with vegetables, cumin flavored brains, intestines in spicy ras el hanout sauce, seasoned beef hooves in saffron sauce, etc.... This is how I like to travel and enjoy the adventures of North African countries, and I give stars to an establishment if it offers me the experience that I have dreamed about. If you are looking for a Bristol multiple stars accomodation with smoothly working AC, a jacuzzi bath tub, and 95 TV channels, Hotel Foucauld is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#195 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#105 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#434 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#444 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#430 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#437 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foucauld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foucauld

Property: Hotel Foucauld
Address: Avenue El Mouahidine, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #661 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Foucauld 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Foucauld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing