We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfect...”
Review of Riad Idra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Idra
Ranked #10 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simply perfect...”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were lucky enough to find Riad Idra upon recommendation from another Riad. Riad Idra was our perfect oasis in the crazy Marrakech Medina. The design is impeccable to every last detail from the marble floors, to ornately carved plaster, bathroom fixtures, lighting, hand painted built-ins in the bedrooms, vintage carpets. Can you tell I love this stuff? The Riad is beautiful in every way but the real strength of the Riad is the people. Their team is so warm and inviting, they make you feel like you are honored guests staying in their home. We traveled with our two children (6 and 10) and they accommodated our every need without us ever asking. Karine, the Riads friendly and upbeat Manager anticipated our needs, helped us plan our daily itinerary, helped track down objects in our shopping expeditions and even proactively checked in to make sure we were ok when we were late returning to the Riad (on more than one occasion). Omar was so kind to our children, he was warm and genuinely vested in us having a wonderful stay.

Our only regret is we didn’t spend more time in the Riad. We hope to be back some day.

Note to owners: you have a real gem in Karine. We have stayed all over the world, the property itself is fabulous but there are a lot of fabulous properties, Karine and team really makes Riad Idra stand out as one of the best hotels that we have visited.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimB_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you very much Tim for all those compliments.
We also really appreciated to welcome you, your wife and your amazing children.
Hope to see the all family soon....
All the best.
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
281
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is my first review on tripadvisor, and until now I had no reason to write a review, I also have travelled to many places as well... But Riad Idra is worth sharing our views, as I would recommend this place to everyone wanting to visit Marrakech. It is a seven bedroom Riad, in the Medina area of Marrakech and it is a little place of tranquillity, charm and peace. Firstly I need to advise that the photos on the website are a true reflection of the Riad, they have not been adopted or edited with photoshop. We stayed in the Kamal Room and it was truly delightful from the quality of the decor and the design of the room, to the bed linen, towels, bed, furniture etc. Even the air conditioning unit had a cover over to fit with the decor. We had fresh flowers in the room and in bathroom. We looked a number of other rooms and again the standard was amazing. It was newly renovated and has been open less than year. The whole Riad was bright and had an airy feeling. The roof terrace is great place to eat and relax, if it is not too hot. If not the air conditioned French feeling dining room is equally pleasant.

Food – without fail it is the best place to eat in Marrakech we ate in 3 top restaurants, we then spent the rest or our time eating in the Riad. The Chef is brilliant with a great ability to mix European and Moroccan flavours. One day we just fancied a vegetable soup for a quick lunch and the Chef made it especially for us and it was stunning.

The Manager, Karine, provided the highest level of customer service I have ever experienced. A week before our arrival I asked her advice on want to see and do, and she created an itinerary for our 5 days that was perfect and booked all restaurants, trips and guides that we needed. I also experienced the Hammas within the Riad, and the massage was brilliant and on a par with many top London Spas. On our last day shopping (Karine advised which shops to go to, according to our taste) and we brought a painting, that we could not take on the plane home. She rang DHL and got a price to send it back to the UK, then took it to the DHL depot on our behalf.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for all the lovely things you've written about the Riad Idra.
We hope to see both of you soon.
Greettings from all the team...

Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

had the 1st dinner in marrakech at riad idea terrace ..... super setting and fantastic food and service..... counldnt have asked for a better start to the holidays !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rameshmenontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at Riad Idra for 2 days and nights, but it felt like much longer because it was so relaxing being there. It is in a great location, right in the Medina, hidden down a little alley way. Their concierge came and met our taxi at the end of the road to ensure we did not get lost, and also delivered us back to our taxi at the end of our visit. We stayed in one of their suites which was so beautifully designed with amazing attention to detail. We had wonderful breakfasts on the roof terrace as well as a lunch and a dinner while we were there. The food was great and they discussed the menus with us first of all so we could choose what they would prepare. The staff were very friendly, it was just such a lovely place to stay, I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you very much Cathie for your nice review about your stay at the riad.
We will be so delighted to see you next time you come to Morocco.
Best regards to you and to your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Riad Idra is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Me and my mum went to Marrakech for a 4 day mum and daughter treat. Walking into the hotel from the hustle and bustle of the medina was like walking into another world. It was like paradise. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and throughout our whole stay nothing was too much trouble. The manager Karine spent a lot of time with us explaining where we should visit and giving us lots of tips and advice. When we asked her where we should change our money into dirham she didn't hesitate and immediately sent a member of staff to the bank to do it for us. Our room was absolutely beautiful. So clean and the decor was stunning. We managed to sneak a look at all of the rooms and they were all equally lovely, especially the honeymoon suite! The air conditioning was a godsend as the temperature was around 40 degrees while we were there! We ate a gorgeous breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning and the one evening meal we had in the hotel was delicious. Omar makes sure you have anything your heart desires and is such a gentle, caring man. It was lovely to sit in the picturesque courtyard with a mint tea after coming in from doing some serious haggling in the soukes. I recommend having a Hammam treatment in their spa too followed by a relaxing massage. I honestly can't think of a single negative thing to say about Riad Idra. The staff truly care about their lovely hotel and they are the nicest most genuine people I have ever met. I have never stayed in such a beautiful place with such amazing service and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin110875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Robin,
Thank you very much for all those nice things you said about the Riad Idra and about our team.
We really enjoyed the time we shared with you and your mother and we really hope to see you here again.
Regards from all the team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stay in high-end, luxury properties (some large, some small) all over the world and have to say that our experience at Riad Idra topped them all. From the moment we entered, it felt like a dream. After walking through the dusty, hectic streets of the medina, you ring the bell of a beautiful door without any idea of what's inside. Then the door opens to an oasis of beauty, exceptional service and calm.

We were greeted by Karien (manager) who was always friendly and attentive, helping us every second with reservations, car bookings, anything we needed. She spent time with us explaining the city, pointing out sights on the map, she was our wise and sage guide! Not to mention the fact that she was on top of everything that happened at the hotel at all times--she cooled the rooms down so they would be the perfect temperature for when we arrived, had the chef prepare a custom menu as we liked it for our final night dinner on the amazing rooftop, and was one step ahead of us at every turn. The rest of the staff was beautiful as well--especially the amazingly kind Omar.

We even called the hotel looking for a lunch spot (from a restaurant we'd wanted to try but ended up being closed for lunch) and weren't sure exactly where the new recommendation was located. We made our way from the directions Karien gave us over the phone--and at a key intersection, we paused to check out the map and magically Omar appeared and escorted us the rest of the way to our waiting reservation. The service, our rooms, and the hotel, at all times, were absolutely perfect. THANK YOU to the staff and for one of the most memorable stays we've had anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askaroundtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments.
We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Riad and we really hope to welcome you next time you'll come to Marrakech.
You have now a home in the Red City, Riad Idra !
Kind regards to 4 of you.
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Riad Idra is just heaven on earth!
The manager Karine and her trustfull staff are just amazing, putting all the efforts (from the wonderfull breakfast til homemade late dinners) to make you feel at home and/or even better as since I travel I have never experienced suh a level of service and involvment in making sure you re having a wonderfull time! (even in Relais & Chateaux).
This Riad is a combination of everything you can dream : peace, elegance, silence, smells of roses.., an amazing hammam and spa, a solarium and shower..., high standards rooms.
Nothing reminds you that you re in a hotel except maybe for the entrance!
The location is perfect, safe, walking distance to everything and if needed you can fully trust their driver, very convenient in Marrakech. Anyway, Karine will be very happy to help you organize your stay.
I have to say It was my third time in Marrakech and thought it would be my last but now I could go back anytime just to stay and relax at the Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you very much Marine for all those compliments, we really hope to welcome you and your family next year at the Riad.
A big hello from all of us to you and to your friends.
Kind regards
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
2,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Property: Riad Idra
Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Idra 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing