We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Idra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Idra
Ranked #7 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Superb Riad in Marrakech
Wonderful place in the heart of The Medina: silence and privacy are guaranteed and the interior decoration is both traditional and functional with very well selected pieces of furniture. Comfortable bed and top class linen, very well equipped bathrooms with soft sponge bathrobe. The fancy traditional leather babouche are included as a souvenir. The breakfast is rich and very good 3 course dinner a can be booked in a cozy setting by the modern fireplace. Don't miss the hammam for 2 with the scrub: something to die for.
What makes Idra superb is not just all I wrote above, but mainly the staff. Karine was a perfect host, always ready to provide any kind of information and every single staff made its best to make this experience unforgettable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bordigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Ciao Andrea,

Many thanks for your review about your recent stay in our Riad.
We're glad you had a great stay with us us and we hope to see you again.
All the best,

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
269
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

An ideal Riad from which to base any trip to Marrakech. Clean, great showers, comfortable bed, good food, friendly staff, and a manageress (Karine) for which nothing was too much trouble. Do ring to arrange a transfer from the airport - well worth it. If you want to book any trips Karine will do that for you as well and probably at less cost than you would pay by prebooking. Definitely a place I would return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanL579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Ian,

Many thanks for your review !
We are delighted to know that your stay at Riad Idra have met your expectations and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Riad Idra for our first visit to Morocco. The riad is simply beautiful with the most wonderful roof terrace where you can relax in sun or shaded areas. Everything in the Riad is an object of beauty in its own right, from the wonderful lighting right down to the cutlery, the attention to detail is probably the best I have ever seen and is on par with the very best of hotels we have stayed in the UK and Europe. The food was out of this world, we had more salads, fruit and vegetables than we have ever eaten on holiday before and all of it fantastic so as well as wonderful meat and fish, we had very healthy food! Our hostess, Karine and her team could not have been kinder or more helpful. The Riad does not serve wine as they do not yet have a licence but we did not find that a problem even though we like a glass of wine with our evening meal when we are on holiday. On Karine's advice I did not cover my hair when I was out the Medina and saw lots of women who did not cover their hair either and did not experience any problem. We did have some hassle but when you say "non merci", most people leave you alone, but the men with snakes in the square really bothered me as I hate snakes! We found the people kind and helpful and had only one guy try to hustle us for money which was not pleasant but not the end of the world, if someone offers to guide you somewhere (as opposed to just giving you directions) be warned, they will want money and it can be intimidating. Be prepared for the poverty, it is distressing and there does not seem to be anything you can do to help. The streets mainly do not have names on them so it makes following a map completely impossible, be aware of this as it means you will get lost. We saw the museum of photographie and it was really interesting. All in all, the wonderful Riad Idra with its great food and warm, professional service from Karine and her team, made our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodluvr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Rita, Dear Simon,

We’re glad you enjoyed your first experience in Morocco and we thank you for sharing it on Trip Advisor.
Streets without sign, snakes in the square, the hustle and bustle of the souks are part of the charm of our city, specially for a first visit, and we get used to it very easily ;) !
We really hope to see you soon in our “Lovely Marrakech” .
Kind regards,

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

we have just had the most wonderful long weekend to celebrate our joint 50th birthday with 6 friends we could possibly have imagined . Even before we had arrived Karine our wonderful host had helped to prebook airport transfers ,events and restaurants and helped to answer queries prior to our first stay in Morocco. Our four rooms were equally stunning , immaculately clean with beautiful decor ,fresh flowers and attention to detail. Whilst the riad is situated in the medina less than 2 minutes from the hubbub of the souks [and the bureau de change!] once you step into the Riad and close the door you enter into a hidden haven of peace and tranquility . It was ideally placed to visit and reach all things marrakech either on foot ,by horse and carriage or by taxi . The service given by Karine,omar ,redwane and everyone of her team was impeccable-nothing was too much trouble. A substantial Breakfast, each morning slightly different ,served on the roof terrace was a great way to start the day and you must have at least one night eating in as the evening meal was exceptional the table also especially beautifully decorated. Take advantage of the Riads own spa /hamman a moroccan experience in its own right ! and chill out sipping mint tea on the sunny roof terrace . Thankyou Karine and team for your hospitality i fear nothing else will now match up to it !!

Room Tip: we had a range of 4 rooms out of 7 all shapes sizes and prices all were equally accomodating, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sandy, Dear Mark,

Many thanks for having chosen Riad Idra to celebrate your joint fifty’s birthdays.
We were delighted to assist you in planning your 4 night’s stay in Marrakech and to welcome you and your friends in our Riad.
Our team thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor !
We look forward to your next stay at Riad Idra.
All the best,

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Riad Idra for four nights at the beginning of January for our honeymoon and had an absolutely perfect time, would highly recommend! We were so warmly welcomed and nothing was too big a request - Karine was so helpful, as were all the staff! Four nights was long enough to see the sights of Marrakech, however we could've stayed longer just at the Riad. Breakfast was amazing and kept us full until dinner time. The rooms were beautiful and so much thought had gone into every detail of the decor. We had the Hammam scrub, which was an interesting experience but a 'must do' whilst in Marrakech! We would definitely return to Riad Idra, given the opportunity - it was the perfect mini honeymoon break.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteS s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Charlotte, dear Will,

We’re glad you had a pleasant honeymoon break in our Riad and in our lovely city.
That’s very kind of you to recommend us on Trip Advsior, thank you !
A stay of 4 days is absolutely perfect to discover Marrakech and its sightseeing and to appreciate the Moroccan lifestyle.
If you plan a next trip to Marrakech, you could arrange 2 nights in the city then I would recommend you to explore the Atlas mountains for few days.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Karine & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Riad during the Christmas holidays. It is beautiful with excellent service and amazing food. Karine, Omar, Sala, Redwane and the team go out of their way to make you feel at home. We love the personal touch and the rooms are beautifully appointed. Will definetely return. I will recommend it to anyone, it is way better than staying at the larger hotels.
The wifi was a bit unreliable though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oulzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Ouli,

Many thanks for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in our house.
In fact, staying in a small Riad is very different than staying in a big hotel. Service is personified and food is freshly prepared and homemade.
We will do our best to improve our Wi-Fi system but I’d like also to mention that the internet connection in the medina can be sometimes unstable.
We hope to see you soon dear Ouli  !
All the best.

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

What a wonderful riad! Best location, wonderful owner, great style, smelled wonderful and a brilliant chef. Very friendly to us and our young son. Highly recommended and we will return. Thanks Riad Idra!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyD1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Poppy,

Thank you very much for choosing Riad Idra to spend your new year’s holidays in Marrakech.
We were glad to welcome you in our Riad and to meet your kind and bright son Noah.
You’ve spent time to share your opinion about our house and we are very grateful for that, many thanks !
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Karine and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Property: Riad Idra
Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Idra 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing