We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the Medina”
Review of Riad Petit Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Petit Karmela
Ranked #514 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent for the Medina”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Unless you are familiar with the medina you will never find this hotel on your own. We had the services of one of the hotel staff but there are plenty of willing helpers, who of course will expect payment (20 dirham or mad per case will do it)

The hotel is in a reasonably central location and once you know your way around you can get to the Jemaa El Fna square in 10 minutes. This hotel is effectively split into 2 sections the Karmela is the better known but you share the same facilities and breakfast is taken in the Karmela. The El Nour is quieter with 5 rooms, each room has ensuite facilities and either twin or double beds. There was an air con unit and water supplied on a daily basis. Breakfast was good - with what we now know as standard for Morocco - made up of yogurt, cereals, fresh bread, meat (well sort off) and fruit.

We were welcomed with mint tea and biscuits and a chat with a member of staff about the location and the sights to see and with the help of markings on a map the location of the hotel.

I have done a separate review of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vólos, Magnisia, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When we arrived the owner informed us about everything and gave us a map. Very nice riad cheap and they know how to work. Riad karmela is the main riad. There you can go and sit drink eat. The owner knows how to work the riad and he is very professional on his job. If I come to marrakech I will stay there again and again. Breakfast was good and the guys that work there always smiling and the service was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the El Nour as part of a Peregrine tour of Morocco. It's part of the Riad Jarmela, located centrally in the Old Medina, near the souks and Jamaa el Fna square. It was a fabulous end to the trip - the Riad was absolutely gorgeous. Rooms were comfortable, large and stylish, plus the upstairs terrace with plunge pool was absolute heaven! Service was fantastic, the best I experienced in Morocco. Owner Joel knows what he is doing there and runs a tight ship. Breakfast (served across the lane on the rooftop in Jarmela) was phenomenal. WiFi is strong in this one as well. Very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend/ go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to morocco for something different. My wife and I are experienced travelers and have been all over. This Riad was an exciting treat. It was in very good condition, within walking distance to everything in he Medena, and the staff made it that much more amazing. We stayed on the El Nour side of the Riad. It felt like our own private Riad. There is only a few rooms in that Riad, keeping it quiet and seemingly to our selves. There is a pool on the terrace, with plenty of seating and sunning areas. There are many lounge areas in the center court yard, as well. They do serve alcohol at this Riad, including a must have, BEER. They also have wine, and other spirits. All these can be charged to your room and paid at time of checkout (credit card or dirhams). They do serve a full course supper at the Riad, but we took the quick want to the market every evening. There is only maid service on the El Nour side, so all the amenities of Riad Karmela are at your disposal and you must go across a narrow alley to access the reception and drinks/food. There is a continental breakfast served from 8-10 on the Karmela side. You are welcome to hang-out on the Karmela side if you want to interact with people, or just a change in scenery. We very much enjoyed having access to both a quiet more private side, and having a few beers in the evening on the Karmela side.
The staff at Riad El Nour/Karmela were second to none. Very friendly and helpful with info about the city. They give you an into to the city when you arrive, along with a map, directions to important landmarks, and mint tea. If you have been looking at staying at another location, reconsider, this is the place to stay in the Medena of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mt_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The El Nour is part of the Riad Karmela, all the services provided are in the Karmela but the rooms and communal living area (like a lounge bit) is in the El Nour. We liked being away from the main Riad, they are literally across the the way so not far at all. The breakfast was lovely, lots of bread! and the service was fantastic - Joel & Bouchra were great at recommending places to eat, and even provided us with a 'walking taxi' to some of the restaurants in the medina (away from the main square) in the evening - as 2 ladies on our own 1. we would have got lost and 2. those parts of the medina didn't feel too safe as it's very quiet on that side but the recommended restaurants are def worth visiting.

The room itself is clean, and very authentic, which also made it quite dark and difficult to see in the mirror when getting ready!! We stayed in room Naima, as a base in the centre of the medina it suited us fine, don't expect lots of hotel facilities these are basic rooms as they traditionally designed - still beautiful though. They will bring you tea /Coffee with snacks anytime you ask. And are always willing to help - thats all the staff!

Room Tip: El Nour is a bit cheaper while still accessing all the facilities of the Karmela!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misha52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Although we initially booked at Riad el Nour, we ended up staying at Riad Karmela. It was an amazing place with very friendly, helpful and lovely staff. The Riad is a welcome relief after the hectic souks and the roof terrace was beautiful. The meals were great and we had a sensational holiday here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanaprato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the Riad El Nour for one week in July 2010. It was the first time to Morocco for the both of us and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. From the moment we stepped in the door we were welcomed with an extensive and bespoke brief about the many wonderful things Marrakech has to offer. The riad itself was beautiful, fantastically clean and comfortable and querkily, individualisticaly, unlike anywhere we have ever stayed before. It was also incredible value for money. The dinner we had in the adjacent Riad Karmela (under same ownership) was delicious and the setting just as beautiful. The breakfast that was also served here was very good too. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to sunbathe, read and relax, and the dip pool was wonderful to cool off in.
The taxi from the airport provided by the Riad is much recommended, the driver was lovely and very helpful. The staff were all friendly, polite and extremely accommodating. The room was kept very clean daily with a fresh bottle of much needed water every morning, clean towels and the rooftop terrace kept tidy with towels and shade provided.
We took on board much of the advice given to us by the Riad owners and found it to be spot on. We would thoroughly recommend dining at both La Tanjia restaurant and Le Fondouk whilst in Marrakech if anyone gets the chance!
Should anyone be planning a trip to Marrakech anytime soon we would be only too happy to recommend to them the Riad El Nour or Riad Karmela for a perfect trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#220 of 499 in Marrakech
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#363 of 1,139 in Marrakech
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#195 of 1,139 in Marrakech
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#71 of 1,139 in Marrakech
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#126 of 1,139 in Marrakech
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Petit Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Petit Karmela

Property: Riad Petit Karmela
Address: 7 Derb El Ferrane Azbetz, Marrakech 40 008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Petit Karmela 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 bedrooms riad, very quiet, in the Medina. Place Djemma El Fnaa is 8 mn walk, summer jacuzi on the terrace, can accomodate 10/12 people. Located in front of Riad Karmela where you can bénéfit all the services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Petit Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Nour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing