We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Petit Karmela
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$1,217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmeraie Palace(Marrakech)
US$241
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$634
US$621
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$733
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
45
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel facilitiesplace to stayclean roomsthe main squarean oasisroof terraceyogurton arrivaljoelmapcourtyardsoukssunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2009

El Nour was a serene, peaceful experience. It was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Overall the rooms were very clean and the staff friendly.

Joelle went out of his way to make sure we felt comfortable in his home. He took the initiative on the first night to give us an overview of the city and see that we knew our way around.

Overall I would strongly recommend this place. it was a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homely_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Great service and excellent room. We were given the largest room as there were no other guests at that time. Lovely breakfast served on the rooftop. Riad was a great escape from the noise and bustle of the medina and the punge pool was wonderful at the end of the day to cool off. Location very central and once we got our bearings the small alleyways were not as daunting as they had been on the first night. As long as you have some change in your pocket you will get help to find your way back. Marrakech gave us a wonderful experience of Morroccan life.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankandStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed in the Riad El Nour for a week in May 2009. Upon arrival we were given a nice platter of tea and biscuits at the sister Riad, Karmela. After filling in various bits of paperwork we were taken to Riad El Nour (located on the otherside of the alley way) and shown to our room. Having booked a double garden view room we were quite surprised to find we had been put in a twin 'alley' view room - however, they happily changed the bed to a double and not wanting to make a fuss we didnt mention the incorrect view as it wasnt all that important to us at that stage. In hindside we should have mentioned it as the alley can be quite loud at night and i imagine the garden view rooms are much more peaceful.
Our room was large, tidy and had a good air conditioning unit (essential in the Moroccan heat!) Unfortunately, however, our towels were only changed once during the week and the room didnt seem to be swept at all during our stay. As well as this there was often a very unpleasant smell of sewage in the bathroom which would linger for much of the day. There was no door between the bathroom and bedroom which obviously (regardless of who you're with!) can cause embarassment on occasions. This was a shame as the rest of the Riad really is an attractive and peaceful place - with a gorgeous courtyard and pleasant rooftop terrace.
Breakfast was bread, some cake and a small selection of cereals each morning. Unfortunately with the Riad being full, on our first morning we arrived for breakfast at about 9.30am and most of the food was gone. We believe the food is repleneshed gradually throughout the morning but felt that there wasnt really enough out to feed everyone. After that we went for breakfast at 8am to ensure we had enough to eat.
During the week we were asked to move to a different riad due to a mix up with the booking (we had booked 4 months in advance), which, after viewing the poor alternative, we declined - thankfully that was accepted without any trouble.
On the plus side the Riad is centrally located (8 minutes walk from the main Square).
Overall, our experience was average and unfortunately not very good value for money (we paid about £90 a night for B&B). Saying that we found the whole of Marrakech to be more expensive than we thought - with prices comparative to the UK. However, we are pleased we stayed in a Riad as we felt we experienced the real Marrakech rather than staying in a bland chain hotel in the New City.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadElNour, Owner at Riad Petit Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

Thanks for your feed back and sorry If I only answer now but I have had some comments about he door of the bathrooms which have been added following your comments so all bathrooms have proper wooden doors now ...Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at the Riad el Nour in mid December 2008 and it was a complete idyll.

The Riad is inside the walls of the old city and within the buzz of the souks and markets, yet it manages to be a tranquil haven of cool and quiet.

There was nothing we could fault or improve on;
*The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated;
*the breakfast is a delicious mix of continental bread and coffee and moorish pancakes/dainties and freshly squeezed orange juice,
*the staff were friendly, helpful and engaging, the gentleman brought us in a CD of Berber music to listen to and approved our purchases with gusto!
*The sunny roof terrace, internal seating area and resident tortoises were the perfect finishing touches.

The onsite Hamam and evening meals at the sister Riad Karmela are not to missed

Travelers tip, book the transport from the hotel, you will never find it on your own. The driver may have a sign for the sister Riad Karmela

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We stayed a week at Riad el Nour and it was just brilliant. We stayed in two different rooms which were both spotless with cool decor. The riad was quiet and nothing (mainly lots of tea for us British girls!) was too much trouble.

The location is fairly central and the streets surrounding the riad felt safe and we were happy to wander day and night. The riad was calm and peaceful and the hubbub from outside is not heard at all within.

The breakfasts were good, if a little bit samey - but that wasn't bad. I wouldn't hesitate to return to Riad el Nour. It was all in all, a very nice place. Wishing you happy holidays :o)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygirlmezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews