We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of tranquility amongst a sea of madness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Petit Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Petit Karmela
Ranked #593 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility amongst a sea of madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

I've stayed at many Hotels throughout the world but never have I been treated so politely and with such professionalism. Riad El Nour is absolutely perfect for visiting Marrakech, close to all amenities and very close to El Efna Square. Approaching the Riad you'll wonder where on earth you are going as it is situated down a narrow dark alleyway, typical of Marrakech.Knock on the door of Riad Karmela (sister of El Nour) to 'check-in; it’s almost directly opposite El Nour and you’ll find it opens up into one of the most beautiful interiors I have ever seen. Allow Joel the owner to organise your transport and book your meals with him, you won't regret it. If you do nothing else when visiting Marrakech please stay at Riad El Nour or Riad Karmela.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mewalshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Enjoyed stay very much! Everybody has been very friendly. The Riad was an oasis in the middle of busy marrakesh

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corinnsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in Riad El Nour for 9 nights and we were not dissapointed! From the moment of arriving at the airport our taxi transfer was waiting for us to take us to our Riad, he was very helpful and lead us through the narrow souks to our destination. Upon arriving we were greeted warmly and given some delicious mint tea and biscuits in Riad Karmela, we were also given a map which clearly showed us how to get to places of interest.
Our room in Riad El Nour was lovely as well as the surrounding court yard. This Riad is much more peaceful than Karmela and you really feel as though you are in the small haven away from the hustle and bustle of the souks.
We had dinner in Riad Karmela for 3 nights and each night the food was superb and worth every penny. All the staff there are very warm and friendly and make you feel at home.
You must also try the hamman and massage - amazing!
We would definately go back if we go to Marrakech again - the staff and the surroundings really made the whole experience much more special and memorable!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anytown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

El Nour was a serene, peaceful experience. It was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Overall the rooms were very clean and the staff friendly.

Joelle went out of his way to make sure we felt comfortable in his home. He took the initiative on the first night to give us an overview of the city and see that we knew our way around.

Overall I would strongly recommend this place. it was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homely_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Great service and excellent room. We were given the largest room as there were no other guests at that time. Lovely breakfast served on the rooftop. Riad was a great escape from the noise and bustle of the medina and the punge pool was wonderful at the end of the day to cool off. Location very central and once we got our bearings the small alleyways were not as daunting as they had been on the first night. As long as you have some change in your pocket you will get help to find your way back. Marrakech gave us a wonderful experience of Morroccan life.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HankandStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed in the Riad El Nour for a week in May 2009. Upon arrival we were given a nice platter of tea and biscuits at the sister Riad, Karmela. After filling in various bits of paperwork we were taken to Riad El Nour (located on the otherside of the alley way) and shown to our room. Having booked a double garden view room we were quite surprised to find we had been put in a twin 'alley' view room - however, they happily changed the bed to a double and not wanting to make a fuss we didnt mention the incorrect view as it wasnt all that important to us at that stage. In hindside we should have mentioned it as the alley can be quite loud at night and i imagine the garden view rooms are much more peaceful.
Our room was large, tidy and had a good air conditioning unit (essential in the Moroccan heat!) Unfortunately, however, our towels were only changed once during the week and the room didnt seem to be swept at all during our stay. As well as this there was often a very unpleasant smell of sewage in the bathroom which would linger for much of the day. There was no door between the bathroom and bedroom which obviously (regardless of who you're with!) can cause embarassment on occasions. This was a shame as the rest of the Riad really is an attractive and peaceful place - with a gorgeous courtyard and pleasant rooftop terrace.
Breakfast was bread, some cake and a small selection of cereals each morning. Unfortunately with the Riad being full, on our first morning we arrived for breakfast at about 9.30am and most of the food was gone. We believe the food is repleneshed gradually throughout the morning but felt that there wasnt really enough out to feed everyone. After that we went for breakfast at 8am to ensure we had enough to eat.
During the week we were asked to move to a different riad due to a mix up with the booking (we had booked 4 months in advance), which, after viewing the poor alternative, we declined - thankfully that was accepted without any trouble.
On the plus side the Riad is centrally located (8 minutes walk from the main Square).
Overall, our experience was average and unfortunately not very good value for money (we paid about £90 a night for B&B). Saying that we found the whole of Marrakech to be more expensive than we thought - with prices comparative to the UK. However, we are pleased we stayed in a Riad as we felt we experienced the real Marrakech rather than staying in a bland chain hotel in the New City.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadElNour, Owner at Riad Petit Karmela, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
Thanks for your feed back and sorry If I only answer now but I have had some comments about he door of the bathrooms which have been added following your comments so all bathrooms have proper wooden doors now ...Best regards Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at the Riad el Nour in mid December 2008 and it was a complete idyll.

The Riad is inside the walls of the old city and within the buzz of the souks and markets, yet it manages to be a tranquil haven of cool and quiet.

There was nothing we could fault or improve on;
*The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated;
*the breakfast is a delicious mix of continental bread and coffee and moorish pancakes/dainties and freshly squeezed orange juice,
*the staff were friendly, helpful and engaging, the gentleman brought us in a CD of Berber music to listen to and approved our purchases with gusto!
*The sunny roof terrace, internal seating area and resident tortoises were the perfect finishing touches.

The onsite Hamam and evening meals at the sister Riad Karmela are not to missed

Travelers tip, book the transport from the hotel, you will never find it on your own. The driver may have a sign for the sister Riad Karmela

  • Liked — Location, very friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#229 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#309 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#139 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad du Petit Prince
Riad du Petit Prince
#284 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Zemrane
Dar Zemrane
#497 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Petit Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Petit Karmela

Property: Riad Petit Karmela
Address: 7 Derb El Ferrane Azbetz, Marrakech 40 008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Petit Karmela 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 bedrooms riad, very quiet, in the Medina. Place Djemma El Fnaa is 8 mn walk, summer jacuzi on the terrace, can accomodate 10/12 people. Located in front of Riad Karmela where you can bénéfit all the services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Petit Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Nour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing