We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Oasis a short ride from the madness of the souks”
Review of Villa Amira et SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Amira et SPA
Ranked #322 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a fantastic place, i visited twice now and intend to go again soon. The place is run extremely well and all the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hbhbhb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed excellent service and home cooked food as well as a comfortable bed and and a genuine Moroccan experience.
It felt like we were guests in some-one's private Villa and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. they were brilliant!
On the downside....the acoustics of the Villa means that every little sound travels up to the bedrooms and we had disturbed sleep due to either noisy staff or guests.
It is a good hour's walk into Marrakech and most of the taxi drivers don't know where Villa Amira is. Combine this with the fact that most Moroccan's don't speak English and it can be frustrating. The Taxi rides are not expensive and the authentic décor and excellent service make this a must for discerning travellers. Do brush up on your French phrases as the staff speak very little English

Room Tip: Pool Side is probably better than road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

An excellent and spacious Riad only minutes away from the heart of Marrakesh but far enough away for the frenzy of the medina. Excellent staff and owner who are available whenever you need them (nigh or day) and made the stay memorable and laid-back – a special thanks to Hassani who made the stay extra special.

The breakfast is just right you get you started first thing before any excursions or sightseeing. I highly recommend the having at least one meal at the Riad, as this was undoubtedly some of the best food we ate in Marrakesh. The hammam and massage facilities are also excellent and well worth trialling.

I think the Riad is best suited for couples unless you have the whole place to yourself (a group of 8 lads was probably a bit too noisy for the other residents)

Highly recommended A++

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sohail_a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for romantic anniversary break - really glad we chose to stay far from the madding crowd... Ring the bell by the unasuming outer door and then enter into the beautiful oasis beyond. Greeted with refreshing mint tea in the stunning lounge (think we spent hours staring at the wooded fretwork ceiling and mosaic walls going 'Wow'!) Then shown to our lovely room (front, above dining area, not a great view but that really didn't matter in the slightest and we came to enjoy watching things happen in 'African time') The wonderful night shift lady (sorry, not good at remembering names!) made us feel at home straight away, as did all the staff who were delightful. Nice big room, comfy bed/pillows, traditional furnishings, TV, bathroom with beautiful double sink with mosaic detail, spacious balcony with Morroccan style chairs & small table - loved the stained glass window in the balcony door and wooden doors - yes you really do get a padlock but you'll see why when you go! Always felt safe and secure due to entry by bell. If I had to find fault it would be that I couldn't see a thing in the huge wardrobe, lack of lighting. Loved the fact that the kitchen was the heart of what was your home for your stay and if you needed 'anything' someone was there ready to help (drinks - fresh sweet orange juice, taxi - arrange a private tour, room service or restaurant recommendations...) Didn't really use public areas much but the water feature in the main hall was charming, the pool area relaxing, spa and bar looked inviting (we didn't use) and the roof terrace was a bonus and a lovely sun trap in February. Yes it's a bit of a walk to the old town sights or a haggle with the taxi drivers (which we found frustrating as the hotel told us how much to pay - it's just no-one had told half the drivers so we ended up walking half the time!) But it suited us to be in the 'new town' area and we were surprised to find some rather decent local wines (and the stores that sold beer and wine!) Plenty of places to eat within a short walk, eat with the locals - 2 courses, with a soft drink, approx £4! We ate at the Villa for our anniversary and the food was amazing! It was quiet when we stayed but please don't be put off Marrakech by what's happened in the past (or we'd never go anywhere would we?) The 'square' was amazing (as mad as you hope it will be!) and the souks far less hassle than we expected, there are some stylish, trendy bars and some even better seedy ones! Just wander and see what you can find. Do visit the tombs and try to get out into the mountains, the scenery is stunning (villa arranged private taxi as well as airport pick-up).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireDCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I went to stay at the Riaad for 5 days early February.
The house: lovely, cosy and beautifully presented this Riaad is like a home away from home.
Very quiet location, only a 2 Eur taxi ride away from the main square and 20mins walk to Jardin Majorelle. I stayed in the Zagora room which looks into the courtyard with the swimming pool, decorated in black and white style.
Staff are all very nice, helpful and lovely and all speak French but apart from the owner Paula only one of them speaks good English (however you get by with a mixture of hands, Spanish and English :-) ) They will assist you in anything you might need - going out, restaurant and taxi bookings, etc.
Great Hammam and massage as well though recommend to do this in the old town for a cheaper and more Moroccan style if preferred.
Perfect breakfast with all you need to get through a long day of walking about the Souks - served up for you at ANY time in the lounge once you made it out of bed!
All in all a wonderful experience that made you feel at home instantly - especially if you are travelling by yourself. Recommended!

Room Tip: Zagora room is on the first floor with big windows and view onto the Pool in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I only found this Riad halfway through my holiday....what a fantastic surprise it was on arrival, its like stepping into a stunning princess palace, Paula and her parents were absolutely wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble, very tranquil, relaxed and absolutely stunning riad.
My Volubilis double room was beautiful, lovely terrace overlooking the pool and courtyard. It was a delight after a long day sightseeing to come back to heating (its chilly at nights at xmastime) and the treat of a hot bath.
Breakfast is whatever time you wake up and can be taken in your room, the lounge or on the patio.
I took up the set meal on xmas day evening as i was visiting alone.
The food was excellent and consisted of moroccan salads, deep fried cheese samosas (these were scrumptious) followed by vegetable tagine and chicken n prune tagine (my odd request), both were delicious but oh my god so much food, i waddled up to bed and could barely move afterwards i had eaten so much. There was easily enough food there for at least 3 to share all for approx €20, an absolute bargain.
Breakfasts were a good assortment based on continental style, breads, jams, cake, fruit, yoghurts, pancakes.
It was a beautiful Riad, very lovingly restored with lots of attention to detail to keep it within moroccan tastes, the spa downstairs looked great (i didn't try as i had been to one the previous day) and the sheesha area was lovely if a group of you visiting together.
I couldnt fault this place at all and can honestly say when i return in 2012 it would be my first choice to stay at by a long way.
It is about 3 km out of the medina and souks area but having stayed in the medina before here i found it too noisy at night so this place was a welcome relief and very restful.
taxis to the souks were roughly around 20 dhms so very cheap and still easy to get around, only a short 10 min straight road walk to Yves Saint Laurents Majorelle gardens which were recommended by Paulas mum as a must visit place, i have to say she was correct , they were truly beautiful and i was glad i didn't miss them.
Paula and her parents, staff are very welcoming, full of information you may require and made me feel part of their family over xmas, nothing was too much trouble and always asked if i'd like to join there group in the lounge at night .
Fantastic place to stay and it made my stay perfect after my disastrous first hotel...i only wish i'd found them first.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool do get warm sun during day, all suites are large and all have proper bathtubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expatabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Me and my partner found the Villa Amira and spa after searching for days on the internet.
Located a 10min drive from the Medina (you can walk in approx 45mins but don't try it in the midday heat!!), Hidden behind a black door is a stunning riad.
Greeted with mint tea on arrival, shown around the riad and then into our room.

The room was a perfect size for us and great value for the price! Nice double bed, bathroom with traditional morrocan tiling and a small balcony overlooking the pool.

Breakfast was served whenever you got up and usually around the pool, which was beautiful.
Eggs, fruit, breads, jams and yoghurt...simple but tasty.

The 1st night we ate at the riad and they prepared a delicious traditional home made Morrocan 3 course meal. We had the dining room to ourselves and found it was a perfect way to start our holiday.

The riad serves a selection of wine and beers, which I wasnt expecting, as well as shisha! And a couple of evenings were spent around the pool in just that way.

The staff were incredible - nothing was ever a problem and they went out of their way to ensure you were happy and looked after.

I would definitely consider staying there again and the distance from the Medina is not too bad a long as you are prepared for it.

Beautifully decorated, great staff, perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TSab_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Riad Amira
Riad Amira
#376 of 1,170 in Marrakech
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.8 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amira et SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amira et SPA

Address: 78, rue Sakia El Hamra, Semlalia, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £52 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Amira et SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Amira et SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Amira Et Spa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing