We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy place”
Review of Riad Marana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Marana
Ranked #108 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Riad Marana is a very cozy place right inside the Medina. It is clean and pleasant and the attention of the personnel is good. We enjoyed our stay here EXCEPT and beware: they offer dinner as an option if you let them know the night before. We took it because we were leaving very early the following morning. The food was average, a vegetarian cous cous and a chicken cous cous and a salad and they charged us Rh 170,00 per person. Yes, per person. Not even in the luxury restaurants a cous cous costs that much, so if you go for their dinner, buyer beware. Other than that, the breakfast was fair, continental with jam, bread, juice, delicious yogurt and coffee or tea. Of course, remember you will be inside the Medina so it is very difficult to find your way. You need to trace your steps very carefully or your will end up lost, like we did the first night, and scared the daylight out of us. We recommend this place and will stay here again if in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room off the courtyard. At first I felt a little odd right off where peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsita1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

During our time in Morocco, we have enjoyed staying in riads rather than hotels for their superior hospitality, atmosphere and location. This riad within the medina of Marrakech does not disappoint. The rooms are elegant. The staff is welcoming. The breakfast is very nice (homemade yogurt...mmmm). You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad M, Gérant at Riad Marana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour, Merci pour votre avis, et vous ete toujours bien venue au Maroc au Riad Marana., merci encore une fois.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It has nice rooms and location. Very close to the famous square and a safe area to walk around.
Rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts can be a bit more varied.
But we enjoyed staying here and we can go back in the future.

Room Tip: enjoy the square with short walk from the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My university colleagues and I stayed at Riad Marana in December. The Riad has an ideal location close to the famous square Jamaa El Fna . The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and served in wonderful atmosphere. The staff members of Riad Marana are very friendly and helpful. Some of my colleagues and I even did the cooking class, where we learned how to cook Tajine and many other things. Other colleagues did the hammam which they described as very relaxing. We are 100% satisfied of this vacation, and we really want to thank Riad Marana for making our stay in Morocco such a wonderful experience.شكرا جزيلا If we have the chance to come back to Marrakech-Medina in future, we will surely go back to Riad Marana. إن شاء الله

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorellaB772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

An amazing gem. Located in the crowds of the medina, amongst the narrow streets.
behind the non descript wooden door, a warm courtyard, with a quaint fountain. Very friendly reception with the traditional moroccan mint tea. the rooms are very well decorated with individual motifs. clean and comfortable hot running water. WIFI works well.
the breakfast is delicious and enough to fill you. the fresh squeezed orange juice is very tasty.
the beds are comfortable and the comforters are warm for a cold night.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms are better decorated than the upstairs but all the rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

When we first arrived in Marrakech, it was dark and, not knowing the Medina, the walk through the nooks and crannies was somewhat spooky. But once the door opens and you enter the courtyard, you leave the Medina maze behind. The room was beautiful, well appointed and clean. The dinner was one of the better we had in Morocco and the breakfast was typical. Once daylight hit and we figured out where we were, the close proximity to the Place Jemaa el Fna is refreshing and the riad is relatively easy to find. If you want to stay in the Medina, this is a riad I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in an upstairs room off the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMG4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Marana as part of our tour with Real Morocco Tours. This is a beautiful little riad located right off Jemaa el-Fnaa.

Despite it's close proximity to the busy market square, it is a cozy, peaceful oasis. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly, helpful and always eager to please.

There is a nice rooftop terrace, perfect if you want to enjoy a drink in the outdoors or just relax on a lounger and read a book.

The food was delicious and their mint tea was the best we tasted on our entire trip.

The complimentary WiFi allowed us to stay in touch with friends and family during our stay.

I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#262 of 500 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#30 of 500 in Marrakech
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Maialou
Riad Maialou
#48 of 1,187 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
#93 of 1,187 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#318 of 1,187 in Marrakech
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Marana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Marana

Address: 10, Derb Ahmer | Laqsour - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £62 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing