We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but there are better”
Review of Dar Marjana

Dar Marjana
Ranked #113 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Riad dates back to the 18th century and it has been in the family since then. In 1982, the Riad was turned into a restaurant known as Dar Marjana and still stands strong today. We provide a variety of delicious Traditional Moroccan dishes, colorful, and tasteful due to the wonderful varieties of the Marrakchi spices! We assure the best service possible, in order to make one feel like home. During desert time, your eyes and ears will be captured by the great entertainment of Gnaouas and belly dancers which will leave you mesmerized. The atmosphere is ever so beautiful, with an ancient Moorish architectural style, a tiled and marbled fountain in the core of the house, and a grand patio garden, with the enchanting voice of a lutenist in the background.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but there are better”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The meal here was good but not quite as great as other restaurants where we dined. It was nice to start with an aperitif in the central courtyard before moving to our dining table. The pigeon pastilla and pigeon pancake were both terrific and the dessert (a milk pastilla) was fantastic. But the mains (lamb tagine and couscous) were a bit underwhelming. We really enjoyed the musicians here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    14
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“So beautiful....”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

...stunning Riad with tinkling fountains, lush foliage, soft music, a cocktail, then into dinner at our table decorated with our names in sequins (bit cheesy, but, hey!), then very good food, but waaaay too much for us. You'd have to starve for a week to do it justice. Excellent starter of dips and salads, with the most gorgeous aubergine, smoky and creamy. Then a fabulous Pastilla of pigeon. We thought that was IT. And were rather horrified to see huge tagines arriving at other tables. They looked great but we declined, and the couscous that followed. The dessert was amazing. It arrived on a large plate, looking like the biggest pie ever seen. We were again rather taken aback as it was HUGE - enough to feed the entire restaurant, But the magic was that the waiter tapped the centre with a spoon, and it crumbled into shards of the lightest, thinnest, nutty pastry - no filling! Almond milk was spooned over the top. Amazing. V good local wines kept coming, then an eau de vie. The belly dancer was sweet, but sad for her that they restaurant was only partly full, and most other diners didn't seem to realise that a note popped into the belt for a tip is the way these girls earn their living. She was followed by local Gnaui (?sp) musicians who were v entertaining. A very jolly evening in the most stunning surroundings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great fun, food, belly and desert dancing”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A great place to meet up as a party as we did to celebrate a friend's birthday. As ever with Marrakech Dar Marjana has an unassuming front door leading down a dark passage to an equally assuming front door. During opening hours the entrance is manned by a giant of an Arabian guard who respectfully escorts you down the now candlelit passage through the front door into a huge open courtyard with palms and banana trees and all manner of foliage backli by subtle lighting.
The food was excellent and served for our party in a flow of courses served to the accompaniment of gentle Arabic music. This gives way to the energy of the musicians and dancers who pave the way for the beautiful belly dancer who does not believe in solo performance as all of us, men and women, are enticed to perform one by one.
A fantastic way to spend an evening with friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DodgerW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable group experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This was the venue for our final evening of a group tour through the imperial cities of Morocco. As such it fully lived up to the expectations, with good food (just way too much) over 4 courses, all drinks included, and music and bellydancing entertainment at the end.

The setting in a well restored house in the Medina was very nice, and our group had a separate room available - nice for the conversations.

I can not judge the price / quality ratio, since it was part of the overall package we did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joachim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
international
Level Contributor
177 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a restored Riad, complete with belly dancing”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I were recommended to try a meal at this Riad for our first night in Marrakech. It was highly memorable as an overall experience where the food was only but a small part. The restaurant is very easy to find and a candlelit path takes you to the main door which opens up into a beautiful terrace where you sit on couches and munch appetizers and sip wine...after this you move into a covered living room area where several groups of people can sit in a large group or several small groups. Course after course arrives, with more wine, dessert and then the belly dancing and music begins. Be sure to bring your sense of adventure and your humor as you will be led to the small dance floor one by one to experience a little Moroccan dancing. Some might find this a little too touristy, but we loved it. The owner is a lovely woman who grew up in the Riad and opened it many years ago as a restaurant. We enjoyed talking with her as well. The evening was 65 euros all included and was well worth it. it would be a terrific place for a large group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Marjana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Marjana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing