We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical and good local food”
Review of Dar Mima

Dar Mima
Ranked #212 of 861 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical and good local food”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This restaurant is hard to fine but worth the search.
Very typical atmosphere with dishes different from the other places like the chicken trid or the milk pastillla. Very good!
Dar Mima only opens from 8pm.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Lovely authentic food”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had dinner here on our first night in Marrakesh in June 2011 after reading about it in our Rough Guide. After going down a dark alley and finding a shut door, we weren't too sure what to expect but once inside it's a lovely place. We had Moroccan salad to start and then tangines which were the best we had during our 3 night stay. The tables are set in a riad courtyard, making it a lovely place to sit and relax. The staff spoke just a little English but were extremely friendly. The service was excellent - I'd definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannilbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Morrocan restaurant”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My brother and I picked this restaurant, based upon the other reviews and it was well worth it. Dar Mima is a real authentic Morrocan restaurant run by a French lady. The staff (all women by the way) is very friendly and the food was delicious. Not easy to find and no indications whatsoever in the surrounding streets but well worth the search.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christinalens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We've travelled a great deal over the years through Morocco and this restaurant is at the bottom of the heap for our dining experiences. The service was realllly slow, and there was a bit of snootiness to the service that is not common in Morocco. The food was quite bland, and for Morocco, the prices were quite unrealistic for the portions and quality of food. The menu features a French take on Moroccan cuisine. The dishes provided neither an authentic Moroccan meal, nor quality French fare. In my experience, sometimes one needs a break from never-ending tagines and couscous, but this French-flare restaurant is not the place to get it. A much better option is the ambiance-rich and absolutely delicious Narwama. I wish we would have gone back to that Moroccan-Thai fusion restaurant rather than trying Dar Mima. In addition to bland food, the staff were pretty cold and reserved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kraym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Very average - I wouldnt recommend going out of your way to go here as is not a memorable experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelandstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Mima also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Mima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing