We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Elizabeth - Great Stay in the Heart of the Medina”
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #192 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just back from a week in Morocco during which I spent 4 nights in the Riad Elizabeth with my wife and daughter. From the start our hosts were fantastic, organising pick-up from the airport by a friendly driver, and mint tea and supper awaited us on our arrival even though we were an hour later than expected. On the first morning, Elizabeth walked us down the narrow streets, through the Souk and into the Djemma el Fna, pointing out the main points so we couldn't get lost.

Over the rest of the stay, our hosts and staff were marvellous: John drove me to the airport to pick up a hire car, pointing out directions and what to look out for on the Moroccan roads on the way; good recommendations of places to visit and how to get there; the food was fab, and everyone worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The location to the North of the Souk was perfect, putting the main square in walking distance as well as being close to some of the less touristy areas. I would thoroughly recommend Riad Elizabeth to anyone planning a stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Riad Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Elizabeth in March this year as a result of a recommendation from my daughter and friends who stayed there last year so we were not going there without some previous knowledge.

From the initial contact we were efficiently responded to virtually immediately and that was how it continued. On arrival we were met and made to feel at home, we were given a walk through of the souk and a map to make sure we never got lost in the mazes of the souk.

Weate at the hotel on the first night which was excellent sitting down with some of the other guests and the meal was great.

Our room was very clean and the bathroom was stunningly constructed.The location was so good for the main attractions of the Medina, all an easy walk.

John and Elizabeth were extremely helpful with advice and organising any trips or taxis but it was always lovely to return to the calm oasis of the Riad with the lovely roof terrace to relax and dip in the plunge pool to refresh from the heat.

A lovely break and we have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Riad Elizabeth is immediately welcoming - mint tea & pastries in the reception area downstairs, and an introduction to Marrakech by our hosts John & Elizabeth. They were very helpful advising on restaurants, trips, and general dos & donts on a first trip. They organised a guide for our 4 day walk in The Atlas mountains, taxis to and from wherever we needed & even guided us into the Souk on our first morning. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was fantastic & the staff absolutely first class. We had a fantastic time and it was great to be able to return after our trek to the calm of Riad Elizabeth, for a touch of civilisation (and a Hammam massage at Les Bains de Marrakech)

Liz, Alan, Nick & Nikki

Room Tip: The rooms all seem very good - opening into a central courtyard area on the first floor (see photo)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just turned from a fantastic visit to Marrakech, at the Riad Elizabeth. Excellent hospitality. The staff went out of their way to cater for our every need, Nothing was too much. The Riad is in an excellent position for all sight seeing and to witness the Marrakech way of life. Very clean and fantastic decor allow you to enjoy a relaxing holiday with excellent advise and safety the foremost of all guests. The food is equally delicious, Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

After much deliberation we chose Riad Elizabeth for a long weekend break. We were not disappointed! The Riad lives up to everything that I was expecting, and more. Elizabeth is very welcoming and greeted us with pastries and mint tea. She then very kindly showed us the way to the Place Jemaa el Fna, through the alleyways and the Souk, explaining everything. Without this help we would have been totally lost!!!

We had booked the "Louise" room and as we were the only guests staying we were upgraded to the "Olivia" room which was very nice indeed (as was the "Louise" as we had a peek!). We ate in the Riad on the first evening which was delicious and plentiful. Breakfast was fantastic and lots of it! The "Honesty" bar is a very nice touch, especially as we hadn't really thought about the alcohol issue before the trip!!

Kamal, the manager, and Elizabeth were very hospitable, asking what we would like to do and making bookings for us. Their recommendations were fantastic. Le Fondouk restaurant was excellent and it was lovely to have the night guardian, Yousef, show us the way. Our Hammam Experience at Les Bains de Marrakech was very relaxing and luxurious. We felt safe by having everyone's contact numbers when we were out and about. Kamal arranged for taxi driver Mohammed to bring us home each evening which was reassuring.

We will definitely stay here again should we return and would most certainly recommend it to everyon. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable at all times during our stay.
(Sorry for the late review!)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - you have to expect a little noise from the alleyways but this just...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband & myself stayed at this place for 4 nights last week & absolutely loved it.I could go on & on about this place but won't have the space! We were slightly apprehensive during our taxi ride as it was dark & we seemed to be travelling all the back streets..Once inside though what a contrast...beautifully done up in a black & white theme - we were welcomed by the manager Kemal who hadn't gone home as he was waiting for us to arrive. We were served tea & biscuits & then shown to our room. The room was lovely.same black & white theme with a slight rustic feel...it is necessary to keep the lights on when the door & window is closed as there is no natural light.5 of the bedrooms are situated on the 1st floor mezzanine type area & all face inwards. Lovely roof terrace where we had dinner the 1st night-1 word YUM! breakfast inclusive which was nice & dinner on the last night there which was also delicious. staff were as friendly as they could be considering the language barrier. We would definately stay there again. I would like to add the manager Kemal was the best manager we have ever met. friendly, helpful & very personable & always ready to help.we were given his contact number to call him if we needed to whilst we were out & once when we went out in the evening he told us to call him when we wanted to get back so he could arrange a taxi for us - this would have been after he had gone home for the evening! Recommended restaurants to us & places to go & how to hande to the persistent locals & the souks! Kemal you are fabulous! Definately recommend if you want to stay somewhere within the old city, amongst the locals & close to the sights/souks but want modern amenities.

Room Tip: Downstairs room (Louise) is noisier early in the mornings
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We made a very late booking and stayed at Riad Elizabeth in late August and enjoyed our stay there a lot. The Riad is very clean and tidy and very well run, it's close enough to the Souks and main square to be walkable in a few minutes, but far enough away to give peace and quiet.
The staff are very friendly and easy going and helpful and as it was very hot we spent many hours on the roof terrace and in the splash pool.
Days in Marrakesh Medina are geared around shopping in the Souks so if you don't want to shop you need to plan an activity. Nights in Jama El Fna square were great fun and only a short walk back.
If visiting Marrakesh I would ensure I had a daily itinerary already planned for most days, but I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this Riad as a base for either a couple or a larger group.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.1 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#146 of 502 in Marrakech
1,028 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#375 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#438 of 502 in Marrakech
1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#301 of 502 in Marrakech
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing