We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First Trip to Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #171 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our First Trip to Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

For our first trip to Marrakech we picked Riad Elizabeth by going through all the reviews on Trip Advisor. But nothing tops our wonderful first hand experience at Riad Elizabeth. Prior to our booking and arrival we communicated with the owners Elizabeth and John making (incessant) inquiries about details regarding the accommodations and all their responses were prompt and helpful. From the moment we landed in Marrakech and to our departure, John and Elizabeth and their wonderful staff made our stay very comfortable.
Riad Elizabeth is in the heart of the Medina and is literally a 10 minute walk to the souks, cafes and the Place Jemma el-Fnaa. The riad is also within walking distance to the Musee de Marrakech, Ben Yousef Medersa and the highly rated restaurant Le Foundouck.
The riad is located in a quiet corner of the Medina and is beautifully decorated. It includes a relaxing roof top where we had our breakfast every morning. We would highly recommend trying the home cooked dinners at the riad lovingly prepared by their staff.
Elizabeth and John were very flexible and helpful and arranged for all our travel in Morocco, including our excursions to Ourika and Fes.
Can't wait to go back to Marrakech and stay at Riad Elizabeth!
Wishing you all happy journeys,
K&N from NY

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaajandNaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    41
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
257
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I travel quite frequently and most of the time stay in large corporate hotels. The Riad Elizabeth was booked for me by a friend who said that I would love it. And she was right.The Riad Elizabeth is a very welcome change and one that I heartily recommend.

Firstly, it is right in the heart of the old town so only a few minutes walk to the wonderful markets and restaurants that make Marrakech so fascinating. The hotel only has 6 or so guests rooms so everyone gets very personal service. There is a rooftop lounge and dining area which is very relaxing.

If you are planning a visit to Marrakech I recommend that you stay one of the towns many boutique riad hotels. A riad (Arabic: رياض‎) is a traditional Moroccan house with an interior garden or courtyard. The word riad comes from the Arabian term for garden, "ryad". Riad Elizabeth is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just back from a week in Morocco during which I spent 4 nights in the Riad Elizabeth with my wife and daughter. From the start our hosts were fantastic, organising pick-up from the airport by a friendly driver, and mint tea and supper awaited us on our arrival even though we were an hour later than expected. On the first morning, Elizabeth walked us down the narrow streets, through the Souk and into the Djemma el Fna, pointing out the main points so we couldn't get lost.

Over the rest of the stay, our hosts and staff were marvellous: John drove me to the airport to pick up a hire car, pointing out directions and what to look out for on the Moroccan roads on the way; good recommendations of places to visit and how to get there; the food was fab, and everyone worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The location to the North of the Souk was perfect, putting the main square in walking distance as well as being close to some of the less touristy areas. I would thoroughly recommend Riad Elizabeth to anyone planning a stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Elizabeth in March this year as a result of a recommendation from my daughter and friends who stayed there last year so we were not going there without some previous knowledge.

From the initial contact we were efficiently responded to virtually immediately and that was how it continued. On arrival we were met and made to feel at home, we were given a walk through of the souk and a map to make sure we never got lost in the mazes of the souk.

Weate at the hotel on the first night which was excellent sitting down with some of the other guests and the meal was great.

Our room was very clean and the bathroom was stunningly constructed.The location was so good for the main attractions of the Medina, all an easy walk.

John and Elizabeth were extremely helpful with advice and organising any trips or taxis but it was always lovely to return to the calm oasis of the Riad with the lovely roof terrace to relax and dip in the plunge pool to refresh from the heat.

A lovely break and we have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Riad Elizabeth is immediately welcoming - mint tea & pastries in the reception area downstairs, and an introduction to Marrakech by our hosts John & Elizabeth. They were very helpful advising on restaurants, trips, and general dos & donts on a first trip. They organised a guide for our 4 day walk in The Atlas mountains, taxis to and from wherever we needed & even guided us into the Souk on our first morning. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was fantastic & the staff absolutely first class. We had a fantastic time and it was great to be able to return after our trek to the calm of Riad Elizabeth, for a touch of civilisation (and a Hammam massage at Les Bains de Marrakech)

Liz, Alan, Nick & Nikki

Room Tip: The rooms all seem very good - opening into a central courtyard area on the first floor (see photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just turned from a fantastic visit to Marrakech, at the Riad Elizabeth. Excellent hospitality. The staff went out of their way to cater for our every need, Nothing was too much. The Riad is in an excellent position for all sight seeing and to witness the Marrakech way of life. Very clean and fantastic decor allow you to enjoy a relaxing holiday with excellent advise and safety the foremost of all guests. The food is equally delicious, Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

After much deliberation we chose Riad Elizabeth for a long weekend break. We were not disappointed! The Riad lives up to everything that I was expecting, and more. Elizabeth is very welcoming and greeted us with pastries and mint tea. She then very kindly showed us the way to the Place Jemaa el Fna, through the alleyways and the Souk, explaining everything. Without this help we would have been totally lost!!!

We had booked the "Louise" room and as we were the only guests staying we were upgraded to the "Olivia" room which was very nice indeed (as was the "Louise" as we had a peek!). We ate in the Riad on the first evening which was delicious and plentiful. Breakfast was fantastic and lots of it! The "Honesty" bar is a very nice touch, especially as we hadn't really thought about the alcohol issue before the trip!!

Kamal, the manager, and Elizabeth were very hospitable, asking what we would like to do and making bookings for us. Their recommendations were fantastic. Le Fondouk restaurant was excellent and it was lovely to have the night guardian, Yousef, show us the way. Our Hammam Experience at Les Bains de Marrakech was very relaxing and luxurious. We felt safe by having everyone's contact numbers when we were out and about. Kamal arranged for taxi driver Mohammed to bring us home each evening which was reassuring.

We will definitely stay here again should we return and would most certainly recommend it to everyon. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable at all times during our stay.
(Sorry for the late review!)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - you have to expect a little noise from the alleyways but this just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#195 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#81 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#18 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#131 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#30 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing