We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to explore Medina”
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #178 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to explore Medina”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stay at Riad for 4 nights recently. Very good staff, Dagmara help us with suggestions and recommendations. Our Francesca room was Ok (looking also at the price), location was nice, very easy to explore the Medina, Souks and all the Old City.
Only two disappointments: breakfast need to be improved adding some other choices (eggs, cookies, yoghurt..) and our bathroom has not good smell.
Nevertheless, we are satisfied and we probably come back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    41
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
257
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

.........the location is the best bit. At 10 minutes walk it isn't the closest to Jemaa el Fna but you might struggle to find a more entertaining walk anywhere in the world. All human life is in the medina and the souks and you have to walk through several to get to the square. Chaotic but not to be missed. There are more luxurious riad's (for which you pay a premium) but Riad Elizabeth achieved the right balance - clean and pleasant with plenty of charm. My wife liked it which is a massive vote of confidence and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

i have been travelling the world for the last 7 months and elizabeth riad stands out as one of the best experiences!
stunning contemporary yet authentic design. a newly refurbished riad where attention to detail is evident in decor and service, right down to the rose petals scattered in the room each day.
superb personal service, from pick up to farewell, dagmara is wise beyond her years regarding marrakech, its people and customs and will do anything for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
beautiful inside and out, 5 mins from the main square and souks at your door.
a 5 star stay for a 3 star price.
if you are lucky to find a vacancy, book it!
thank you dagmara, liz and john x
matt x

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our experience at the Riad itself was great and we could not fault it at all.

Overall it was a good experience but when we compared it to another Riad we stayed in Morrocco we did feel that there were some small improvements which could be made.

It is in a good location and both Dagmara and Elizabeth were both very helpful.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone wishing to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieonholidays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
one day closer to the tropics
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Had a great stay at the Riad, all of the staff including the owners John and Elizabeth are very conscientious , going out of there way to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and your needs are being met. They can arrange trips or guides as needed or organize reservations at nearby restaurants that you would never find yourself. The Riad has a good location a few minute walk to the souks and the main square

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This was my third trip to Marrakech in the last 8 years, but the first staying at Riad Elizabeth.
The location in the northern district of the Medina was perfect for acessing the Museum of Marrakech, the Medersa (religious school) and the colourful and vibrant souks as well as the main square. The hosts Elizabeth and John were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. They organised a sumptious dinner on the beautiful little roof terrace upon our arrival and orientated us to everything Marrakech had to offer so that we could make the most out of our experience. The riad is very clean, comfortable and the colour palette of black/white/ and hints of red and silver, make it an eclectic and stylish riad. The Semarine Souk in the Medina had something for everyone and the horse and carraige ride from the main square to the Marjorelle Gardens gave a flavour of the sights, sounds and smells of this atmospheric city with the backdrop of the Atlas mountains in the distance. The highlight of the trip was Elizabeth's suggestion of a hammam experience at Marrakech's premier bath house, Les bains De Marrakech near the Saadian Tombs. It is a beautiful oasis of calm and has a relaxing atmosphere with the most wonderful background scent of Bitter Orange Blossom in the air. I had a heavenly exfoliant scrub and deep massage over 2-3 hours and felt wonderful after the experience. Can't wait to go back. I packed alot into my 5 night stay in Marrakech at Riad Elizabeth and the hosts, the lovely Elizabeth and John, certainly helped to make that happen with their kind suggestions on what to see, shop and eat. I would highly recommend this riad. I shall be back in the New Year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed in a couple of Riad’s on our trip, and this was not the traditional Riad (it is decorated in a more contemporary style) But unlike many of the traditional Riad’s we stayed at, everything worked the rooms were a good size, the plumbing worked and everyone was so helpful and friendly. Dagmara was extremely helpful and put herself out to make sure that we weren’t inconvenienced, even going out of her way to get money back from the cab driver that ripped us off (a fact of life in Marrakesh. John was an excellent and congenial host and the honest bar on the roof was such a bonus late at night, it felt more like a guest in someone’s home who was looking out for you rather than a customer who was ripe for the picking (again a fact of life in Marrakesh) and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#102 of 499 in Marrakech
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baba Ali
Riad Baba Ali
#208 of 499 in Marrakech
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#70 of 499 in Marrakech
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing