We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in a hot desert”
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #182 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
blackburn
1 review
“An Oasis in a hot desert”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

If you want peace, luxury, excellent food, charming & engaging staff who smile, sing and chatter as they go about their daily duties, giving the place a feel of 'home from home'. Hosts for whom nothing is impossible or too much trouble to arrange, a perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of the main square, but yet close enough to some of the main attractions, a rooftop terrace with sun loungers and 'honesty bar', a place to make new friends from all over the World.....then look no further because this is a true Oasis in the hot Moroccan desert. This was our fourth visit to Marrakech in the past 3 years, and the second to Riad Elizabeth during 2009. This is the place we come to in order to get away from the daily chores at home. It is a true 'bolt hole' for us....and the short 5 day break feels like 5 weeks.........we returned home refreshed .....albeit to the pouring rain and a temperature of 6 degrees ! John & Elizabeth are truly caring Hosts.....and their friendly staff are an extension to their philosophy of not only making you welcome, but to ensure you that they are there at any time to make your stay a happy & memorable one. A car meets you at the Airport (additional cost) and returns you on time for your flight home. The best tables are booked at several fantastic Restaurants (The Foundouk being our favourite), and Chez Pascal. Lunchtime 'watering holes' are Cafe de la Poste and Elite Restaurants along Mohammed V towards Gueliz.....but a must visit is the Kosybar in the Place des Ferblatiers close to the El Badi Palace.....sit on the rooftop with a bottle of wine and a plate of Sushi.....and watch the Storks fly overhead, and then land again on the Palace walls within a few metres of your table. We truly recommend a visit to Riad Elizabeth...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    41
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
257
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We are just back from staying in Riad Elizabeth which I can recommend. All the rooms were of an equally high standard and suitable for group bookings. John and Elizabeth were extremely helpful booking taxis and restaurants for evening meals and escorting us through the Souks on the first day. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble.
I would certainly recommend this Riad with its lovely terrace and self service honesty bar.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Ringers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed for 3 nights, our first stop in Morocco. The riad arranged our reasonably priced taxi from the airport (EUR15), who was duly waiting for our arrival. Seeing the driving in Marrakesh I was very glad we'd not decided to hire a car! John welcomed us to the Riad with a friendly local cuppa and a truly personal tour of the riad - including the relaxing roof terrace. The Riad also arranged dinner for our first night, a lovely introduction to Moroccan cuisine.
Being completely new to Morrocco, having not read a single guide book in preparation, it was wonderful to be able to ask John all our questions within fear of offending! Elizabeth took a couple of the new guests to the souk the following morning, allowing us to orientate ourselves without the need of an expensive guide. We were completely as ease finding our way around after this.
We stayed in the Olivia room - lovely big bed, nice bathroom, better water pressure than we get in London. The only small quibble was the noise of the air conditioning, which at times sounded like a force 10 gale, but we were so exhausted in the heat it didn't even disturb our sleep. I was expecting a riad so near the souks to be noisy throughout the night but not the case at all - everything was incredibly peaceful and we were very glad to be able to nap during the day as the heat was stifling (37c in october, unseasonably warm!).
All in all John, Elizabeth and their smiling staff made this a truly relaxing and easy break when my first impressions of Marrakesh were all quite overwhelming. All email correspondance prior to our stay was very promptly answered and I would have no problem at all recommending this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at Riad Elizabeth. John and Elizabeth are the perfect hosts. From the moment we were met at the airport we were made to feel so welcome. On arrival at the Riad we were given mint tea and home made pastries. John and Elizabeth then walked us through the souks to the main square giving us lots of advice along the way. They gave up maps with their mobile numbers on in case we got lost which was reassuring. During our stay they also organised taxis and recommended and booked restaurants. We also ate at the Riad two evenings which was excellent. The riad itself is absolutely beautiful and John and Elizabeth have obviously given a lot of attention to detail. Their staff are also excellent.
We would definitely recommend Riad Elizabeth, not just for its location and facilities but also for the invaluable advice and service that John, Elizabeth and their staff provide. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Looking at the other reviews for Riad Elizabeth, there is a chance this one will be slightly repetitious! Everything about our stay was fabulous and easily arranged with John, Elizabeth and their staff at the Riad. From transfers to excursions, from restaurant recommendations to a personally guided tour of the hustling, bustling markets - nothing was too much trouble and it allowed us to make the most out of our 5 days in Marrakech.

The Riad itself was a home away from home. Stunning decor, laid back and relaxed you could sun yourself on the roof terrace or plunge into the (welcomingly) cool pool. We tried our hand at cooking a Moroccan tangine after shopping in the markets, spent at afternoon being scrubbed and massaged at the Bains de Marrakech and drove up into the Atlas mountains with the very friendly and knowledgeable Karim - all recommended and arranged by John. We visited a traditional Berber house for tea and witnessed driving rain and hail stones not 30kms from Marrakech on an almost deserted mountain side. We hiked our way through groves of walnut trees in the mountains to beautiful waterfalls - all ably guided (another recommendation).

Basically, John and Elizabeth's team at Riad Elizabeth gave us the chance to pack more into our holiday than we thought we could whilst allowing us to get some much needed R&R. Whilst there are some larger and more expensive Riads, Riad Elizabeth brings together all those "little extras" which allow a holiday to be truly memorable. The team at the Riad deserve great praise and yet another 5 star review.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritOzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Our first visit to Marrakech, we stayed here for four nights at the end of August.
The Riad is a beautiful calm oasis in the middle of bustling Marrakech and brilliantly placed for easy access to all the places you want to see. After a hard day shopping and sightseeing you can go back for a refreshing swim in the pool and relaxation on the roof terrace, looked after by the very capable Riad staff.
John and Elizabeth are excellent hosts who organised our airport transfer, tea and cakes on arrival and dinner on the first evening. We had a personal guide for our first visit to the souks - invaluable in pointing out the landmarks to get you back again. Also, we were keen to buy a carpet and John and Elizabeth not only recommended where to go, but took us there as well.
In a nutshell, we would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PVHholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I have traveled to Marraquech in the hot August and I have been very confortable in Riad Elizabeth, a hotel where you can feel the atmosphere of the Medina. I stand out the terrace, the swimming pool, the quiet environment, the situation (5 minutes to the Zouks) and, of course, the hospitality and the excellent service of Elizabeth and John. When I come back to Marraquech, I have my place. For sure.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Serguei35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#143 of 501 in Marrakech
1,014 reviews
3.1 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#72 of 501 in Marrakech
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#180 of 501 in Marrakech
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#436 of 501 in Marrakech
1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#225 of 501 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#268 of 501 in Marrakech
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing