We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS SHORT BREAK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Elizabeth
Ranked #144 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SHORT BREAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

What can I say - three and half hours flight to a whole different world. The owners John & Elizabeth couldn't do enough for us (large party celebrating a "big" birthday for one of the girls) and organised our transfers to & from the airport - taxis whenever we wanted to go anywhere - an afternoon at the spa - booked our restaurants for dinner - organised a lovely dinner at the Riad one evening too. The Riad is beautiful & has a gorgous roof terrace to sit in the sun when you've had enough of the square & souks. Kamal the Manager is lovely and made sure we were all looked after morning, noon & night. The ladies who work there make the best food ever and the Riad is spotless. Have recommended to friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oosie_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    41
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
257
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Highly recommended.
Excellent accommodation.
Great Food.
John and Elizabeth Gilbey are both lovely people, who are concerned for you right from the start of your holiday and make you feel very very welcome. It was just like home from home with your friends poping in.
We went to Marakkesh to attend the wedding of our Son which took place in the Sahara Desert. We stayed with John and Elizabeth Gilbey at the Riad Elizabeth. This Riad is absolutely wonderful, its very tastefully decorated, very comfortable with a sun terrace where breakfast is served. There are very comfortable loungers and sun loungers if you wish to stay and take in the sun in a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. You can help yourself to drinks, whether it be tea coffee or something a little more potent. Food is available to you at anytime of the day, providing you let the staff know in advance, as they purchase everything fresh daily. The bedrooms are spacious with good size comfortable beds. John Gilbey was extremely helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble he will even go and and shop for you. We even had a quided tour down to the Market place on the first morning, through the narrow alleyways and soukes, which was very much appreciated, and were given exact directions to find our way around without getting lost.As we were there specifically for a wedding, we didn,t know quite what to expect, The wedding took place in the Sahara Desert with John as the Wedding Co-ordinator, and he did a marvellous job. If you are thinking of getting married in the Desert, you cant go wrong with John as your Co-ordinator. You will want for nothing. The Desert Tour took us right through the Atlas Mountains, and to say that the scenery was absolutely spectacular is quite an understatement. John organised everything, and the hotels along the was were excellent, we could not have done better. The actual Wedding was also a dream to remember, with camel rides at Sunset receiption and belly dancers made the evening truely special.
Would we return to Riad Elizabeth,- you bet we would.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were a group of 12 girls that stayed at Riad Elizabeth and we all had the most amazing time.
We were looked after every second of the day and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had the most pleasurable stay. The food they cooked for us was delicious, the rooms were stunning and everything about the Riad was just perfect. We could not have wished for anything more!

We were in constant contact before we even arrived with Elizabeth & John, the owners, answering 100's of questions for us!
Kamal the Riad Manager was incredible and made sure we always knew where we were going and what we were doing each day.
I would recommend this gem of a Riad to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
358 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed at Riad Elizabeth for four nights during October and highly recommend it. The whole process was seamless and we had regular email communication from Elizabeth and John confirming everything for our arrival - this included being met at the railway station and a delicious private dinner on the roof terrace on our first evening.
Kamal was there to welcome us to the riad and he explained everything we needed to know over mint tea overlooking the plunge pool. An enormous benefit was our personalised introductory tour through the Medina the first morning - our guide was Kamal who has spent his life in the Medina and who knows everything about the locale and the people! Every guest gets this benefit - either from John or Elizabeth or Kamal.
All the staff at the riad could not have been nicer or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. An example of this - Yusuf, the night manager, insisted on walking us to Le Foundouk one evening - even though we could easily have found it given a little direction. He also served us breakfast (amidst strewn rose petals) at 4.30 am prior to seeing us into a car for a ridiculously early flight out of Marrakesh (I can honestly say I've never had a petal enhanced breakfast at 4.30 am anywhere else on my travels!!!!)
Elizabeth and/or John are there each day, and make a point of circulating among their guests to chat, and to ensure that all is well. They will give you as much help as you need (or want) to make your visit a success - from booking restaurants, to advising on shopping, and so on.
We found lively interesting company among the other guests - with a very enjoyable dinner for five on the roof terrace on our last night in Marrakesh, as well as much story- and advice-swapping over breakfasts.
All in all I would stay in a beautiful riad such as this every time over the very sterile atmosphere of a smart hotel. The best of all possible worlds!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

This riad exceeded all our expectations. We were welcomed to the Riad by Kamel who looked after us so well. He could not do enough for us. He can orgaise your whole trip once you are out there. The rooms are so lovely. We got upgraded which was a nice suprise. We had dinner on the lovely roof terrace on our last night and it was great food. Breakfast was also great. You could have breakfast at whatever time you liked, they were so accommodating. We only stayed 2 nights but wished we could of stayed longer. Will definantly be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Sadly we only had one night here, but I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh, especially those who haven't been before and may need some help acclimatising to the madness!

John and Elizabeth, the owners, were incredibly helpful not only in advance of our stay,. but also during our visit. Also, they have a wonderful manager in the form of Kamal, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The map and tour provided on arrival was incredibly helpful, and Kamal also organised for a masseuse to come to the Riad on very short notice for me.

A wonderful place, will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at Riad Elizabeth for 4 days and 4 nights. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and had a wonderful meal, it was the best meal we had, even better than eating at the Foundouk restaurant.
Elizabeth gave us our tour the following morning through the many souks, we didn’t get lost as we think we had the best teacher.
Elizabeth and Jon, and Karmal are very kind and helpful and can organise restaurants, taxis and excursions for you.
Riad Elizabeth is a peaceful riad to escape to after the hustle and bustle of a busy day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOMO38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#98 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#186 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#18 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#23 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#231 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Property: Riad Elizabeth
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing