We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best one seen in marocco!!!”
Review of Riad Massiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Massiba
Ranked #188 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Fuerteventura, Spain
2 reviews
“best one seen in marocco!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

liitle nice riad inside the medina, just a few room, so quit atmosphere.
lovely breakfast outside, big rooms and nice private bathrooms!!!
nice french owner and lovely personal!!
if we go back to marrakech once i will definitly come back to this riad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    43
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
44
134
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beziers, France
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very hospitable hosts, Convenient to the main square (Jamaa el Fna) and directly accessible by car/taxi. A particular feature was an immaculate breakfast on the delightful roof terrace. Full Marks! A peaceful haven in the madness of the Medina!

Room Tip: No Fitness Centre or Pool Hence the low rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincennes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was such a beautifyul expererience for my Family and I. The place is gorgeous, peopleare adorable and the breakfeast is just amazing. We had a great time, Vivienne adviced us great places to visit and eat and is a very nice person. The Ryad is peacefull, quiet. Do not hesitate to book a room a single second.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ06100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The riad was always a quiet and soothing place to relax. We spent most evenings on the terrace with a bottle of wine, watching movies on our laptop, and chatting. Breakfast was always delicious, with orange juice, coffee, tea, pastries, fruit and yogurt, and french toast or crepes with butter and homemade jam. The rooms are comfortable with fresh sheets and tasteful Moroccan decorations. Vivienne is a great french hostess - witty and charming but no-nonsense! Ahmed and Soumia were really great people who helped us with anything we needed. We stayed here on two occasions for over two weeks total.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Choosing a Riad in Marrakech is often the outcome of a long research with always a little bit of luck ... and I think the chance is sometimes really great things !

The 4 nights we spent at Massiba were just perfect. The Riad has it's very own peace. What a pleasure to wake up to the sound of the birds housed in the orange threes in the patio in early spring .
The rooms are spacious and refined , every little detail is reflected and highlighted soberly . Our room was the " Mauve " on the first floor of the corridor ... such a treat.

A big thank you to Ahmed and Soumia for their attention at all times . Vivienne , the owner of the Riad was able to give a real soul to this house. At Riad Massiba, you are not just a customer , you are simply greeted and treated like a friend who just returned from a long journey.

Choose Massiba with closed eyes and full confidence. The only risk ? A mad desire to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Nice place near to senter Medinaen.. We enjoyed the stay and felt us at home... Nice breakfast in the terass on top. Sunny place for relaxing in afternoon. We rekommend this place for 1 - 3 days vacations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terje053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I always turn to tripadvisor when i am planning my trips to get REAL reviews on hotels. This is the first and only time I have been truly disappointed and utterly amazed at all the glowing reviews this riad receives. I feel like I was had.
We stayed at Riad Massiba for 2 long days. We were greeted by Ahmed upon arrival and he was helpful in getting us settled as he spoke English. Vivenne was around but only said bonjour to us as she doesn't have a strong command of the English language.
After returning home from a long day of sightseeing, i stopped by the office to get a hair dryer. This is when I saw a different side to the quite lady from earlier in the day. Vivienne was clueless when i asked to borrow the hairdryer so i motioned to my hair and made hairdryer noises so she would understand what i was talking about. As she stumbled over to the cabinet to get a hairdryer, i mentioned i was vegetarian. I know they serve dinners at the riad so i am still not sure why she had such a hard time understanding what that word meant. The french word for vegetarian is végetarienne...not so different if you ask me. Vivienne verbally attacked me in french for 10 minutes about being vegetarian...every time i tried to leave her office she would yell at me to stay. She called Ahmed, who came to the Riad, and he translated for me and my friend whom Vivienne yelled at to enter her office. They both smelled of alcohol and during a part of the conversation, Vivienne knocked over the glass of what i can only assume was alcohol and didn't flinch. After about another 10 minutes, she skyped her son to talk about us being vegetarians...that's when we knew it was time to take ourselves out of the situation and leave her office. We went to our room which was across the courtyard and sat in shock for about 30 minutes as we listened to Vivienne continue to scream and cry. We felt very vulnerable being in our room as we couldn't lock the door (there are no locks provided).
The next morning at breakfast she passed by our table and said bonjour as if nothing has transpired the previous night.
We tried to stay away from the riad as much as possible as the situation made us very uncomfortable. On the morning of checkout, Vivienne presented us with the bill and we gave her our credit card....she declined it at first but after insisting that her terms of sale clearly state that she accepts credit cards, she begrudgingly took it. We had arranged for a desert tour and when our driver picked us up at the riad, without us prompting him, he mentioned that Ahmed reeked of booze....at 7am in the morning.
I'm always one to ignore the 1 or 2 bad reviews when there are 160 glowing reviews but i urge you to stay far away from this riad. If you take a chance and book the riad, you may be lucky and have a pleasant stay but you may run into our luck and have to deal with a drunken riad owner. There are too many reputable riads in Marrakesh to take the chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne P, Propriétaire at Riad Massiba, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Aduf,

After the rating given it a few days ago by your friend, we will end up thinking you're fiercely acting against our Riad. Our response will be fairly the same. Even though we write today with much more bitterness, we will intend anyway to respect as much as possible the rules imposed by TripAdvisor .

We do not understand why you wish to punish us with so much intensity and would appreciate if you could share directly with us your disappointment , if only it really existed. We understand even less the defamatory and untrue outbid, that you thought were to be posted, as your friend had already complained. After all, perhaps the pleasure to harm was the only aim.

TripAdvisor is a great tool, a great way to learn many useful things in order to choose the right facility for our stay! Like any good idea , it is sometimes the victim of unwarranted abuse , which is very harmful .. unfortunately.

We welcome travelers in our home since over 10 years now and we rely on the discretion of our future readers about the quality of our home and the comfort of our hotel ( our 160 reviews are here to testify ... ) .

Before being a business, Riad Massiba is a life project , a realization on a way strewn with pitfalls. Therefore reading such comments hurts us deep within ourselves in relation to our daily involvement .

Vivienne & entire team of Riad Massiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#278 of 501 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#180 of 501 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#84 of 501 in Marrakech
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#73 of 501 in Marrakech
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Property: Riad Massiba
Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Massiba 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing