We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories to keep!”
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
Ranked #97 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Where do I start.... from our arrival at the airport where Luc (the owner) met us, to our departure with tears in my eyes where Luc waved us goodbye at departures our Marrakech experience was amazing. Riad Dar Sholmes in situated in a residential area just in the gates of the medina close to the Palace where guards stand by the gates 24 hrs a day. It was slightly daunting being dropped off and escorted by Sara (the manager) who waked us through the alleyways to the Riad, but once inside it was beautiful. We sipped mint tea and were told what to expect from our stay and how safe and friendly it is. Our room was on the first floor which was quieter than the ground floor, it was very clean with towels moulded into the shape of swans and dressing gowns presented beautifully on our bed, the toiletries in the bathroom were gorgeous and our bed was turned down every evening ready for a restful nights sleep. The rooms have a hair dryer and also have air conditioning and heating in case needed. The weather was fantastic so we took the opportunity to have a bottle of Rose on the lovely roof terrace and have a quick jacuzzi before exploring the city. The square and souks are only approx a 10 minute walk past the mosque, or if you fancy a quieter few hours the amazing Mamounia Hotel and the New City are also close by. We had a lovely dinner served at the Riad that evening and a plentiful breakfast served every morning, pastries, coffee, fresh fruit and juices, all served with a smile. The Dar Shomes is indeed a peaceful haven with fantastic staff who treat you like VIP's. Thoroughly recommend doing the Ourika excursion with Luc, it was the highlight of our holiday full of adventure and surprises, and put a huge smile on our face before our departure home. We will definately be returning to this amazing city and will have no hesitation to come back to the amazing Riad Dar Sholmes!

Room Tip: First floor are quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ES70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Dar Sholmes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

The owner, Luc, told us to feel at home, and we did. His friendly staff made us feel welcome, and we really enjoyed our stay. Marrakech is a world apart from anything we knew, and we came to love it.
The riad is close enough to the 'big square' (nobody calls it by its official name, at least not to tourists) to allow for an easy walk, and if you're tired of the noise, just ask any taxi to drop you off at the hospital (the entrance is close to the riad). Brilliant location, beautiful night sky, great view from the rooftop terrace.
Did I mention the outstanding staf that took care of our every need, and that served us good breakfasts and meals? Luc, you've got a wonderful place, and your insights and tips helped us enormously throughout our five-day stay in Marrakech. Personal attention, eye for detail and a healthy dose of humour. Loved it!
Completely justified high ranking on every site you find this riad!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, no noise whatsoever!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed with my husband and 6 freinds for 4 nights in this lovely Riad, Luc and his fantastic team looked after us very well nothing was too much trouble, they made our last night memorable arranging a Moroccan evening of music and belly dancing, with delicious food and wine
We made full use of the facilities, the hot tub was a great hit!
The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, with lovely robes, fluffy towels and nice touches like water and dried fruit
Breakfast was plentiful and varied , nothing to fault
The Riad is within easy walking distance of the Souks and we rather enjoyed the alleyways and local life, at no point did we feel unsafe in Marrakech,
Luc was the perfect host , ordering taxis, Recommending restaurants and best of all arranging the most amazing Hamman for us all, a must try in Marrackech!
Would highly recommend Dar Shlomes, and would happily rebook to stay there again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nan0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This riad is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech. The staff were very kind and helpful. They offered us tea and delicious biscuits several times. We particularly loved having our breakfast on the rooftop each morning. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Even before you arrive in Marrakech, the staff is preparing your stay. They help you to organize transportation from any point of the city. The smalls and busy streets to get to the Riad are misleading, but when you get there, you are welcome by the friendly staff, especially Luc and Sara. The Riad is well decorated in every detail. The rooms are fantastic! Everything you could ask for in Marrakech. The breakfast is really nice and you can take it whenever you want. The hotel provides you with a cell phone, which can be really helpful when you do not know the language. The roof has a great view over the city and has a Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, I went during winter and did not use it. But I can’t wait to go back. And if I do, I will definitely stay at dar Sholmes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeinBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A fantastic experience staying here! The Riad itself is exquisitely decorated, attention has been paid the minutest detail, from the shawls on the terrace sunbeds to the lovely fluffy towels in the rooms. Our room was beautiful, very nice to come back to after having spent the day walking round the chaos of Marrakech. The courtyard/dining area is a treat to eat in and wonderful to relax in; although this space is quite small we felt at ease relaxing here in close proximity to other guests who were using the area. Breakfast was of a very high quality and having extra warm, fresh bread was never too much trouble for the very friendly and welcoming staff. Luc is an incredible host, he is warm, generous, informative and will go out of his way to ensure that guests have the best possible experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: They're all brilliant - although go for one on the first floor if you can.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay here. The staff were very helpful, efficient, and friendly. Luc the owner and Sara the Manager were most charming. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with top quality toiletries. Breakfast was amazing and really set you up for the day ahead. The location couldn't have been better, only 10 minutes walk from the center in a quiet residential area. Will definitely stay again next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muirster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chems
Hotel Chems
#356 of 502 in Marrakech
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kumeia
Riad Kumeia
#191 of 1,160 in Marrakech
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#73 of 1,160 in Marrakech
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#56 of 1,160 in Marrakech
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#27 of 1,160 in Marrakech
297 reviews
14.5 mi away
Le Palais Paysan
Le Palais Paysan
#89 of 1,160 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £41 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing