We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dar Sholmes a Moroccan jewel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
Ranked #85 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dar Sholmes a Moroccan jewel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

From the moment we walked through the lovely entrance we knew we had chosen well. Dar Sholmes was the Moroccan experience we had hoped for in every way. The walk through the neighborhood and alleys after being picked up at the airport and driven as far as we could be was exactly as exciting as we had read about and looked forward to. The riad was romantic in decor, the mint tea ready for our arrival and the staff as helpful as we needed. The location was perfect for our exploring nature and gave us a feeling of being away from the tourists but close enough to walk to the tourist attractions. Sara, our hostess, even walked with us to be sure we were oriented to our location. After two full days of sight seeing locally and enjoying wonderful breakfasts and dinners on the rooftop of the riad I fell and needed medical attention. Luc,the owner of the riad took immediate control of the situation, got us to a first rate clinic where I received excellent care for my broken arm. We are so grateful to both the staff at the hospital and the riad and especially Luc for treating us like family and attending to my every need. Even before my fall we felt the attention we received above expectation. After two days of rest and great care from everyone at Dar Sholmes and personal attention from Luc, Sara and Suede we were able to continue our exploration of Morocco by train and hired car and driver. We can not say thank you enough to Luc and staff and even the other guests for the wonderful care we received and for the memories we created through our stay at Dar Sholmes. Thank you Luc, Sara and Suede for all you did!! Stayed as a couple, March 7th, 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathywathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    28
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
182
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our four day weekend in Marrakesh was made all the more enjoyable by knowing that each evening we were returning to this comfortable Bed & Breakfast. The room was a good size and very cosy, with a comfortable bed and a clean and large bathroom. The breakfasts were freshly-made and very filling - something different everyday from traditional French to Moroccan and Berber! The roof-terrace can be enjoyed all day - whilst eating your breakfast you can be warmed by the first rays of sunshine through til the evening when you can hear the music from Jamaa al Fna and the evening call to prayer. It’s also equipped with a Jacuzzi which we unfortunately did not have time to enjoy! The interior of the rhiad is spacious, very peaceful and well decorated with good lighting in the rooms. Although there is a little walk from the main road this part of the Medina is considerably less worrying than other parts of the city. The attentive staff are very friendly and always ready to help, answer any queries and give advice, not to mention they all speak very good French and English. They arranged for someone to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. They also offered to organize day excursions but given the limited time we decided there was enough to see in Marrakesh. Last but not least we had the chance to enjoy a delicious dinner prepared specially for us in the romantic patio setting. If we were to return to Marrakesh there is no doubt that we would choose the Riad Dar Sholmes! Thanks again to the team who were great hosts!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Dar Sholmes really deserves all the positive reviews and hype. The service from Luc and his fantastic team is first class, where they do everything to make you feel at home. Our room was spotless, tastefully decorated and so comfortable whilst the riad itself is beautiful and a calming retreat from the bustling Medina. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, served at whatever time you wished by the attentive staff.

Thanks to Luc for arranging pick-up transportation, purchasing our coach tickets to Essaouria and taking us to the station himself! A great host who really pays attention to detail and makes his guests feel so welcomed. Highly recommended for a great experience in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for the comment Emily, We do our best to bring you all the comfort and give you back your confidence .We were very happy to receive you in our small house. My entire team is dedicated during your stay in your well being, which is our priority.
I keep staying your wonderful smiles and good humor.
So until you comeback to Marrakech, one day....... take care of yourself and continue to make beautiful trips.
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

...but Dar Sholmes was a surprising disappointment. Sohail was really friendly, and Luc seemed like a nice guy, but he seemed to have so little time for us (and was clearly the only one running the show) that we were left feeling kind of neglected. A simple question about booking a coach ticket was left unanswered until 11pm the night before we were due to leave (Sohail walked into our room to tell us, while we were already asleep in bed!).
That might not bother you, but how about only having hot water for about 5 minutes at a time? Or a room whose door opens onto a couple's breakfast table? We had quite a small room for the money we were paying - although size isn't everything, of course - and it was looking a little rough round the edges, considering the praise lavished upon it in other reviews. It is also tricky to find, and down a dim alleyway, which may well be safe, but isn't too much fun to walk back to late at night.
Sorry guys, but having subsequently stayed somewhere much nicer - with a more genuine hospitality - for around the same price, it seems it is possible to have a bad experience here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comment. We are my team and I like sponges , we restore what we receive . I guarantee a state of mind in the riad Sholmes , which is us after a little over a year and two hundred comments, praise from our " customers."
I obviously regret that you keep your stay with us as a bitter taste ..... A riad is not a hotel, but a guest house, where everyone has the pleasure to meet in mutual respect .
Souhail , as you pointed out in your room is entered , it was 9PM , he was convinced that you were out , as you had told him earlier . It would do its job : Prepare your room for the night , as we do for all our customers ...... who enjoy this service. He apologized and I renewed myself to apologize the next day, before driving you personally and free to the bus station ......... I'm a good guy ....... but coming from so young and already so sad ......
Our neighborhood is quiet and so sure , maybe the choice of the Medina of Marrakech was not suited to your level requirement .......... You have my email and I invite you to contact me so that you can provide me guidance and advice , which we will get better .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The best thing about this place is the staff & the owner Luc. They are so nice, warm and welcoming by the end of my stay I felt like i was at home! the staff is very attentionate (a 5 star quality service) the breakfast (that was served on the terrace everyday) was v generous, available at any time (no restriction on schedules), the rooms were v clean. Location of the riad is ideal too as it is 2mn walk from the main street where a taxi can drop you. strongly recommanded and VERY good value!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Generous ...... You said generous ....... Yes the team Dar Sholmes gives himself tirelessly to make your stay a memorable one. I'm glad you liked our Riad and his great team. Our priority throughout your stay is your comfort, My continued presence ensures that we give the best of ourselves. Miss Z..... thank you for your comment so nice. We embrace you ...... Take care of yourself and come to see us one of these days and in the meantime continues to make beautiful trips. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Made a last minute plan to visit Marakkech, and based on Tripadvisor reviews + availability, I chose Dar Sholmes for my stay. Have to say I wasn’t disappointed.

Luc arranged a pickup for me from the airport, and I was dropped off near the entrance of the road to the riad, where Sara received me. Felt a li'l bit strange initially walking through a residential alleyway with some kids playing around etc. But, once you enter through the unassuming door, its an oasis of calm.. Luc, Sara and Suede were very welcoming, trying their level best to make you feel really at home. whether it was offering you unlimited moroccan tea, meals, or arranging trips for you around/ helping you with directions etc.. they were always at your service..

After getting lost walking in the souks, I realise the location of the Riad is in an area which is comparatively easier to locate - it is a 5 min walk from the main road into a residential area and within 10 mins from the big square..

The rooms are well done, with very nice touches around. It is very quiet in the Riad - you can hear the little sparrows chirping or the water from the little fountain.. there is a good rooftop terrace for lounging, and if the weather is good, to have breakfast/ lunch..

Hats off to Luc and this team for such a wonderful set-up and the genuine warmth and care with which they take care of the guests.. would happily recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech, who is looking for a home as against a commercial hotel…

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you infinitely M. B. ..........
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on your stay with us.
We've all been happy to receive you at the Riad. Your elegance, your kindness, your friendship, your humor were perceived with great emotions.
I loved sharing these moments with you and I want to hope that you come back to see us in the coming days.
Thank you for having loved the Riad and his team. In the meantime take care of you continues to make beautiful trips.
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this Riad! The staff was very very kind and helpful with all our problems! Thanks to them we had two nice visits to the cascades of Ouzoud and the Ourika Valley! We loved the traditional breakfast and the morrocan tea with biscuits! After a busy day in the souks it was lovely to come home to such a quiet and calm riad. We will definitely come back to Marrakech and we are already looking forward to visit this riad again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaatje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#60 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#96 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kumeia
Riad Kumeia
#132 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#35 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Mboja
Riad Mboja
#41 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alnais
Riad Alnais
#184 of 276 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Property: Dar Sholmes
Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing