We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from the madness of Marrakech”
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
Ranked #98 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had an excellent stay at Dar Sholmes - from the moment we arrived Hassan (the manager) gave us lots of useful information, and couldn't do enough to help us - for example ringing about 5 different hotels to ask about using their swimming pool! The other staff were great also, particularly the younger guy who was always on hand to make us delicious mint tea.

Our room was great and cleaned immaculately every day, we especially liked the decor of the bathroom and the bathrobes thrown in. We also enjoyed the rooftop hot tub in the evening.

The riad is a short walk through a busy part of town to the main square, a good distance just far enough from the madness of the souks.

Thanks to all at Dar Sholmes for a great stay, and we are sorry we left too early to say goodbye to Hassan!

Highly recommended, and by far the best riad we stayed at in Marakech (out of three!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophll26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Dar Sholmes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this Riad on the basis of reviews in Trip Adviser but some of these seem to be through rose coloured glasses.
There has been a change of management and as a result the Riad had lost all details of our booking and we were not met at the airport as promised. We took a taxi which dropped us at the end of the alley way to the Riad. The taxi driver did not know how to get to the Riad and so some local lads showed us the way through a long and winding alley way. Arriving about 10pm Hassan greeted us and explained he did not know we were coming but luckily a room was kept for these emergencies!! No food was available only coke and water....nothing else We were not booked into the Riad during our stay (4 nights) so there is no record of our presence other than payment of the final invoice
Overall the Riad is pleasant enough but not exceptional. The room (2) to which we were eventually allocated on the first floor was good; clean and tidy, with some nice touches such as bathrobes and nice toiletries; however, the safe did not work and as noted by a previous reviewer hot water was variable. We did eat one meal in the Riad which was average and the price of a bottle of wine was excessive (not available by the glass). Service is the hotel was pleasant but minimal. Breakfasts were OK not exceptional. Internet service is variable depending where you are in the Riad
The trip to the main Square is some distance along the twists and turns of the alley way and a side road before hazardous crossings of main highways to the Koutoubia Mosque and Jemaa el-Fna Square (about 1km).
By contrast, the Riad we stayed at in Essaouira for a similar price was, except for the room, far superior in every respect; service, location, food (exceptional breakfasts and evening meal) and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open onto the dining area and cannot be pleasant or private.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Crack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this riad at the end of our Marocco trip. The Dar Sholmes was easily the best Riad we stayed in Marocco. The staff was very friendly, open and helpfull. The rooms were clean and tidy. There is a mobile phone in the room! I find this a very cool idea. Food was marvelous.

We recommended this place to all our friends travelling to Marakech, a place not to miss!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wonderful place, beautiful people. The staff at Dar Sholmes helped make out trip to Marrakech a delight. Within the chaos and excitement of this amazing city the staff at Dar Sholmes did everything they could to make us feel relaxed and very special. They had the balance between friendliness and professional care perfectly right. If you are considering visiting Marrakech treat yourself by booking in here. Nothing will disappoint.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own charm. I cannot single one above the other as that would seem to suggest on...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned reluctantly from Marrakech, where we stayed at Dar Sholmes for 4 nights.

This is a little Jewel, pretty, comfortable, quiet, clean, with wonderful staff, well located for trips out into the hustle and bustle of the Medina to the new town or to the mountains.

6 pretty and comfortable individually decorated rooms on two floors around a quiet courtyard. A roof terrace with views of the main Mosque in Marrakech as well as one of the Royal Palaces.

But best of all the staff are great. They collected us from where our Airport transport dropped us off, made sure the return transport collected us, organised Taxis and a Tour up into the Atlas Mountains. Our room was spotless, breakfast on the Terrace was great and when we ate in the Riad in the evening the food they prepared was very good.

If we come back to Marrakech Dar Sholmes will be at the top of our list of places to stay. Hopefully all the good reviews will not put the prices up.

Andrew, Margo and Finlay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I could write a million reasons you should stay at Riad Dar Sholmes when you visit Marrakech, but the ones that stick out the most are the genuine and sincere kindness and care of the entire staff, the willingness to give so much of their personal time, and the obvious pride they have for the establishment which reflects through the cleanliness, décor and overall amazing vibe of this Riad! Hassan, Hafid and Souhail made sure every need was met. We never had to ask for anything twice, and the lovely girls who work there are supremely talented in the art of housekeeping and Moroccan cuisine. Our room was spotless every day when we returned, our items folded and hung in the closet…and the food here is something you can’t miss. You have to eat here at least once during your stay, you will not regret it! Don’t forget to try some of the Moroccan wine...The location is perfect, in a very quiet, secluded residential area full of very friendly people. Not too far from the square, but not too close either (yes, there is such a thing as too close if you enjoy sleeping at night – it is pretty noisy in Marrakech!). I feel like we made some very special friends here, who treated us as more than just guests, and can’t recommend this Riad enough. When we return to Marrakech (which we certainly will!), this is where you’ll find us :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vitopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights when we arrived in Morocco. Luc was extemely helpful arranging transfers and with information. We ate in the Riad on the first night which, while not cheap, was easily the best meal we had the whole week and very much worth it. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely. Location quiet but safe and only five-ten mins from the hustle and bustle. Highly recommended and thanks to Luc and all at Dar Sholmes for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chems
Hotel Chems
#355 of 502 in Marrakech
711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kumeia
Riad Kumeia
#193 of 1,159 in Marrakech
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#73 of 1,159 in Marrakech
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#57 of 1,159 in Marrakech
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#27 of 1,159 in Marrakech
297 reviews
14.5 mi away
Le Palais Paysan
Le Palais Paysan
#89 of 1,159 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing