We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere”

Le Grand Cafe De La Poste
Ranked #92 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ideally located in the heart of Gueliz, this elegant restaurant gets back in touch with the authentic living ambiences of Marrakesh. The decor is in complete harmony with the Moroccan culture: it offers a pub, Moorish, and colonial spirit. The Grand Cafe de la Poste offers a French cuisine with Mediterranean accents.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Cafe de la Poste has a lovely atmosphere in a beautiful French colonial building. We went here twice, mainly because we were so relieved to get away from the chaos of the Medina and we were craving something other than Moroccan food. Cafe de la Poste has a mixture of french and Moroccan food, and as long as you choose wisely you will enjoy. The first time we share the fried goats cheese (served with honey so a little too sweet for me), then I had the red mullet with salad (nothing special) and my partner had the monkfish tagine (ok but have had better). Both the icecream and the frozen nougat desserts were lovely. The second time we shared the ricotta, eggplant and tomato cake, I had the steak and my partner had the wok fried chicken, this dish was a bit boring but the steak was perfect! Service both times was quite good - started out very well but sort of faded off towards the end.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeZippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    613
    252
    117
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expensive & Average”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful French colonial style building but tables too small! Staff attentive but we felt they were rushing us through our meal although there were plenty of empty tables. Food nicely presented which I found tasty but my husband did not. Expensive for local standards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank siewmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We saved this restaurant for our last night in Marrakech as we had read in our guide book that it was worth a visit.The welcome was average. Although we had booked in advance,it appeared that they had not reserved a table.For 5 people, the table was too small.The service was poor for the prices being charged in Marrakech.The food was good but not exceptional,which is what we were expecting,given its reputation.Ambience was great,but you cannot live on ambience alone...there are some other good restaurants in Marrakech which have great ambience with more attentive service.

It appears that it is currently living on its past .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crispin827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The worse management I've ever seen”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

+++ Good location

--- Bad management
--- No options for large groups
--- Rude staff and manager
--- bad food at expensive prices

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baladeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Almost fine dining - not quite”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

it's a beautiful place in a very traditional French-colonial style.
It sets an expectation of fine dining and tries to deliver on that expectation but just falls short.
The food is fresh and beautifully presented but lacks seasoning and thus flavour, and that lets the operation down.
The service is attentive and of a high quality, even for a non-french speaker.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatBoyJimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Cafe De La Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe De La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing