We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the pride of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Ranked #110 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan, Fast food, Middle Eastern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Layla Rouge is a hidden gem in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech, only 5 minutes from the square . We receive and welcome guests from all over the world and offer them the chance to know more about Moroccan traditions, especially the local cuisine which is well known all over for its fragrant spices and delicious dishes such as Tajines, Pastilla and Couscous . Our cooking classes are taught by experts, the friendly Aida and Sanae who teach you how to make Moroccan bread, salad, crepes and Tagine with expertise so you can recreate them at home. You will enjoy tea and rooftop views whilst your tagine cooks. There are fun surprises along the way and the day ends with the chance to eat all the food you have created on our beautiful rooftop terrace. Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finis
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the pride of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I visited Marrakesh mainly for this square (and the medina) and I had the pure pleasure to stay in a riad 3 min walk from Jemaa el Fna. Was everything I dreamed it would be, and so much more ! You find everything you wish for there (except silence, relaxation) from a colourful sea of people, snakes, monkeys, good and cheap food, souks, stores, bars, etc

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    305
    145
    57
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

After walking through the souks I decided to have dinner at one of the several food stalls that settled at the square around 18h. The place self nominated itself as number one on TripAdvisor, I ordered grilled chix and was given bread and sauce whilst waiting. At the end I was charged 5 dhs for the bread and sauce, 15dhs for the coke and still was asked for tip, I handed out a 10 dhs coin and told I wanted 5 back, never got it. I then went for some pictures with the snake sharmers, told the guy who was handling the public I wanted just pictures of the snakes , as I was setting my camera I was told I could take only one picture. Then I spoke to the water sellers, gave them some money only to be asked for more at the end. Before leaving I approached one of the orange juice vendors to buy only 3 oranges to take away, he placed a rotten one in my bag. It's not about the money but about the attitude, if you wanna go there, take a long range lenses and sit at the cafe glacier terrace, that's what I should have done.

Helpful?
Thank Sander O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“True Marrakech Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I saw a sign outside this place rating itself number 1 on trip advisor. Naively I bought into this thinking it was the number 1place to eat in marrakech only to return to the Uk and find out it is rated a lot less. I ordered lamb chops which were really chewy. It was really busy so was surprised we got seated and served pretty quick. The atmosphere was buzzing. I would recommend eating here to soak up the atmosphere. It is also very cheap

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YazzyQasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

You will get pestered to eat at various stalls, but it's all very good humoured and part of the fun. Friday night was particularly busy and lively with locals and tourists. We walked around and chose busy stalls where locals were eating as well as tourists. We ate here twice at different stalls - can't remember the first one (quite small) and had delicious fried aubergines, but then at 22 - great fun. Yes, as others have said, you may be brought food you haven't ordered, but a massive plate of assorted olives for 5 dirham isn't so bad, or dipping sauce for about 2 dirhams. Best to choose freshly grilled or fried food, which we did, and had no ill-effects.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sookee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Every night this square transforms into a spectacle full of food stalls where you can sit and eat local food for a good price or watch street entertainers ( well.. some more entertaining than others!!)

You will get harrassed by every single food stall to eat there. We ate at number 20 and really enjoyed it. Just be prepared to fight your way through the hundreds of people trying to entice you to eat with them. However you get this everywhere and so if you are in Marrakech and have been to the souks its nothing different!

All in all a great experience and a good dinner!

Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_De_Chypre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing