We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, if you can look passed the hygiene”
Review of Aicha

Aicha
Ranked #189 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
424 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great food, if you can look passed the hygiene”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a crazy daytrip to arrive to Marrakesh.
We decided to head of to Jemaa el Fna for a very late dinner.

Because of the hygiene we decided to tak only well cooked meat and well cooked vegetables to safe our body from unpleasant surprises next day.

We had a good tangia, great kefta and good paprikas. ( between 3 and 6 euro per dish
Of course as everywhere else on El fna people are there to try to get u in.
Our waiter was very nice and friendly and not pushy at all.

I can definitely recommend this place but you have to be able to look passed the hygiene

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DjangoDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    139
    65
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Okay food, horrible service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went here on our third night eating in the square just to see what all the crowds were about. Unfortunately this stalls food was okay, but not amazing like some of the other stalls and the service was terrible. We were rushed to make room for others and the waiter asked 4 times for a tip before we were even done. We gave a tip to stop the hassling of the waiter, but it certainly wasn't deserved.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice food - terrible service and hygiene”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Decided to try out one of the food stalls and was pleasantly surprised at first with the nice tasting food at a reasonable price.
However it was only afterwards that the regret hit when the food caused stomach problems, which in hindsight is no big surprise given that the meat was on display with no protection all day in the hot weather. Perhaps being just unlucky, try this place at your own risk.
One thing to note is to check your bill at the end because the server will round up your bill to the nearest hundred and still have the cheek to ask for an additional tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After being ripped off by an 'a la carte' restaurant on my first night, I decided to take the plunge and try the market food. I was so impressed by Chez Aicha that I ended up going again for my next night in Marrakech!

You might be apprehensive about the hygiene but it was fantastic here and I was never worried by the food, for £4-5, it was a bargain. It's true that a lot of people try to sell their goods to you if you're sat near the edges but a firm 'I'm good thanks' and they are soon on their way... after all it's a game of averages and there are so many other people for them to speak to!

The staff were great and having a menu in english was reassuring. I had the same guy on both nights and they always make sure you are ok.

If you want to try authentic market food, then Chez Aicha is the place and it's easy to find... they literally are No. 1!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLF2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is what happends on your first night in town”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Number one restaurant on the Djeemaa El Fna square is too expensive and not very good. It 's the kind of place you eat on your first night, when everything is new and overwhelming. There are good places to eat on the square. And number one is not one of them. A good foodstall needs no waiters who talk the guests into their restaurant, pick the restaurants that are full with Moroccans. Or where people are queing to get a seat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aicha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Aicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing