We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant But Not Self-Conscious Moroccan-European Style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Saad
Ranked #140 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant But Not Self-Conscious Moroccan-European Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

After two weeks of traveling in the Rif and Atlas Mountains, what a delight to pull into the Dar Sa'ad and discover a lovely riad with quietly framed black and white photographs of old Morocco on the walls and the warm welcome of staff with hot hand towels! The place itself wanders from a handsome riad style set of accomodations to a comfortable sitting area followed by steps leading to nooks for breakfast and for being by the pool. WInding stairs lead up to bigger guest rooms and meeting areas, both of which look down at the airy, inviting pool. Further large and comfortable rooms are secluded away, down what seem invisible stairs which if one follows is rewarded by trying to contemplate the puzzle that is the blueprint of this sublime retreat..

The terrace, which is accessed by two (and maybe more) stairwells, offers an exquisite setting for breakfast, should you want it, couches for reading or dozing, and framed views of the neighborhood. The beds are good, the breakfast ample and varied, and the location pretty wonderful. If you leave the Riad and turn right, you reach taxis and the new town, and if left, you are soon in the souk with ready access to the Djamm-al-Fna and other vivid attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first section of the riad are smaller that ones deeper into the riad but are probably l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vividjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    39
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
103
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had the most amazing time at the Riad Dar Saad. Abdul, Samira and Karen took such great care of us and made our stay feel like our home away from home. Every detail was taken care of. Anything we needed, any questions we had - they were there to help. They arranged a day trip to Essaouria where we rode camels on the beach and ate freshly caught seafood.

The rooms were spacious, clean and very beautiful. The terrace and pool side lounge area was delightful to relax at. The location of the Riad was perfect. It was in the souks but in a quieter area where we could relax and close to all the main attractions.

We were truly sad to leave but hope to be back again. We highly, highly recommend staying at this property. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice. We loved the Salmia room which had a hot tub built in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed in Riad Dar Saad for 3 nights January 2012. It was low season and we had the place pretty much to ourselves.

We got excellent service, lovely breakfast served on the roof terrace and we enjoyed a glass of wine in the evening next to the fireplace.

If you go to Marrocco you must stay in a Riad. It's so much more personal and interesting than the ordinary hotel visits.

Dar Saad is situated about a 10 mins walk from the Djamaa El Fna (main square) in Marrakech. A lovely walk through narrow streets or you may choose to walk through the souk on your way there. 5 mins away you have Ben Youssef museum and Photography museum, both very interesting.

You'll get used to this, but very annoying to be pulled and shouted to for every 5 metres you walk. If you stop to look at something in a shop window they more or less carry you inside and then convince you to buy it. You will have to use some serious barganing skills and never ever pay more than max. 40-50% of price first asked. One third is about right. However, always make up your mind what YOU think its worth and then STOP at that price.

If you don't want to buy anything, be polite, say "no thank you" and move on.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest they offered and it was excellent. Not large, but perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The place was clean and charming. Our room was the most romantic room I have ever stayed in - beautiful carved wood doorways and closets, tasteful decorations and a nice muted color scheme, an airy organza canopy above the bed, fresh rose petals scattered all over, a light woody perfume in the air, a friendly tiled bathroom.
Wifi worked well, and while the heater could not make the room very warm, it was comfortable enough. Noise in the morning is expected of a Riad.
The common areas are equally beautiful and inviting.
The location is great - catch a taxi to Dar El Bacha (a small Royal Place), and follow the Dar El Bacha street for three minutes or so - Dar Saad will be in a little alley on the left.
The staff - Samira, Mohammad and Abdullah are friendly and accommodating. The hamam is great, and a 5 euro breakfast on a sun-lit terrace is well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VStraneChudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Having read reviews on this site, my expectations were fairly high, but they were definitely met - if not exceeded - throughout our stay. The riad is in a good, central location, practically in the souks and close to the main square. The building itself is beautiful, stylishly decorated, and much more spacious than the photos imply; especially the main courtyard which was the perfect setting for a quiet (and delicious) evening meal by the fire. The huge terrace is spectacular and catches enough sun for it to be perfect for breakfast even in mid December. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, and were even very obliging when we returned to Marrakech a few days after our stay and needed somewhere to store our bags while we went shopping in the souks for a couple of hours before our flight home.
Overall, it was comfortable, relaxed, quiet, and very clean; just what you need after a day spent exploring such a busy, sometimes hectic city.
Thank you to Samira and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are around the first courtyard, which overlooks reception and the kitchen so can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I had booked this hotel after reading all the good reviews. Immediately making the booking i found out the first thing wrong with this hotel. Once you have made booking online, you practically cannot cancel at (look at their horrible cancelation policy). Then 2nd thing i realized was that there is no "free breakfast" which is almost offered by all the riads there.
Swallowing these hard new found facts, I manage to get there (in the meanwhile i got a offer from a much better riad right on the Djemma, but could not change it due to saad's horrible cancelation policy.
Once there, they will use all their tactics to shove their ugly bad tasting cold breakfast down your throat for 5 euros each. They will very politely ask you for tea in the morning and bring a few stale pancakes with it, my advise dont touch it, this is their breakfast and we eventually saw those in our bill. When challanged, the manager lady will see "cant you pay 5 euros for your breakfast"? are you this poor?
Now the worst part of the stay, please read this carefully. We were told that you can come anytime you want during night. I came back one night at 3 in the morning and then started knocking on the door. To my horror no one opened up the door for 45 minutes. Me alone in a dark alley was very frigthening. I went to a policeman/guard and a local guy helped to talk to him about the situation. He finally called the hotel in his arabic language and then got me the guy Mohammed on phone, i asked him to please open the door and he said "no he cant". Probably he was half drunk and half asleep. Then he called him again and he banged down the phone on him as well. Finally he called the 2nd number on the phone and now the manager lady picks up the phone and she lazily asks whats going on. Then she calls mohammed apparently and he now "agrees to open up the door". Can you beleive this?
My advise, get any other riad, there are plenty to choose from. Dont stay here as they dont care. The owner is some french guy living in france who may not even know what is going on with his riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shakaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Amazing riad. Large enough to find your own little sanctuary of quiet but small enough to get personalised service. Staff are great and polite and really seem to care about your enjoyment. The decor is AMAZING. We stayed in chiba and gertoufa suite. Both awesome. Had a look at all rooms and they are lovely. I suspect Louisa and timja get a bit of reception noise so bear that in mind. Will definitely return soon

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#223 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#310 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#154 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#113 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#3 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Princesse Jamila
Riad Princesse Jamila
#271 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Property: Riad Dar Saad
Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing