We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As beautiful as I had hoped!”
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #6 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“As beautiful as I had hoped!”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently stayed at this beautiful Riad, such a treat In fact it was a special Birthday treat. It was a real struggle dragging ourselves away from the restful tranquillity of the Riad into the hubbub of Marrakech every day!
The info pack and the additional tips received from the staff were extremely helpful (directions on how to get to places, where to go, sights to see etc) It was a great way to experience Marrakech for the first time. Cant wait to go back...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleyK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
375
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Everything about Riad Assakina was impeccable, from the decor and ambience, cleanliness of the rooms, to the way you were treated by the Riad owner Michele and her team. From the moment we arrived Michele bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed, she sat with us to help plan our trip and made fantastic recommendations on where we should eat and sights we should prioritise - on a short trip to Marrakech this was invaluable.

I booked this Riad on the back of all of the Trip Advisor reviews and so I had very high expectations, but happily Assakina far exceeded all expectation. The attention to detail in every part of our stay was phenomenal and I can't wait to return.

I travel a lot and without hesitation can say this is one of the best places I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Don't look anywhere else for accommodation in Marrakech, and if you can't get a room, then change the dates of your trip!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spannalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We were so well looked after by Michele and all her smiling staff. Our trips, shopping, meals, spa visit were all arranged for us leaving us to enjoy ourselves and work hard at sipping wine in the sun on the roof terrace. We had a lovely dinner in one night and excellent French toast breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolak32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Elegant, stylish and very authentic Riad, beautifully restored in exceptionally good taste. Location 10-15 minutes’ cozy Medina walk to Djema-El-Fna is ideal. Owner Michele is extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She was there to help us with any query we had, and lots of valuable tips and recommendations as to where to eat, where to shop in the souks, and what to see and do. Michele even took the time to show us around in the local area when we arrived, which made us feel comfortable and ready to take in the exotic Medina right away.
Riad Assakina’s smiling staff was friendly and very professional, complimentary afternoon tea and breakfast was lovely, and the courtyard and rooftop terrace magnificent. Unfortunately we did not get the chance to meet Grant, who was of great assistance and helped us by booking taxis to Essaouira and back to Marrakech before our stay at Assakina. Lovely homey place. Great people. And very clever, sweet and playful cat – Zak.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestfriendintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2011

In general, we really appreciated our stay at this riad and we overall rated it very good. We would have like to rate it as good but no intermediate rating stop were available between average and very good. The details that will require more attention are the bathrooms. The quality of the amenities is significantly lower than the competition, plumbing system relatively simple and insufficient, against compare to other riads experienced in Morroco. Bedding will also probably need to be based on a better mattress and bedsheets to sustain its satisfaction ranking. Great breakfast for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeletaxi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock_Critic, Owner at Riad Assakina, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
We have absolutely no record or recollection of any clients from Bangkok ever having stayed with us. Nevertheless, on the assumption that the review might somehow be genuine, it is certainly worth responding to. Our plumbing is new, our beds are the finest (super-king size, imported from the UK) and our bed linen is 100% pure Egyptian cotton. We take all genuine client input very seriously, but when someone alleges that the quality of our amenities is lower than the competition, one really has to wonder. The breakfast is, indeed, great, though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We travelled to Marrakech October 2010 for our honeymoon, Michele (Riad owner) arranged for us to be collected from the Airport to be taken to the Riad, our driver was ready and waiting for our arrival.

Once we arrived at the Riad Asskina we were amazed at how much of a beautiful place it was and we were really pleased with our choice of accommodation. It is a truly beautiful place with fantastic decor and excellent staff, a real gem hidden in amongst the crazyness of Marrakech.

We were greeted by Michele and her team, our bags were taken from us and put straight into our room. We were offered mint tea, cake and Michele gave us the low down on Marrakech, then she booked us a table and showed us exactly where to go (detailed maps, full of helpful info was given to us by Michele)

Michele's knowledge of Marrakech is very impressive, she gave us lots of infomation on Marrakech, where to go, places to eat....she really knew her stuff and from the second
we arrived to the moment we left she was there to awnser any questions, give us really useful tips on haggling (which came in very handy!)

We have to say that staying at Riad Asskina really made our Honeymoon, once youv'e been in the madness of the Souks/Jemaa El Fna it was fantastic to head back to Riad Asskina and relax in the peace and tranquility of the Riad, be served delicious mint tea and cakes by friendly/helpful staff and watch the sun set over Marrakech from the rooftop terrace.

Over all it is a fantastic place to stay and I really dont think that even the most fussy traveller could be disappointed with Riad Asskina, absoulty everything was perfect, food, staff, location, room, all truly exceeded our expectations. Wonderful place, great staff, friendly/knowledgable manager who was there to awnser all of our questions, if Michele didn't know then basically it wasn't worth knowing!!

If your considering a visit to Marrakech then go for it, its such an amazing place to visit but make sure you book into this Riad, you really will be impressed and it will certainly make you visit worth while.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimrawling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Riad Assakina is a wonderful place to stay. Michelle and Grant are the perfect hosts, friendly , helpful, warm and welcoming, it was like staying with friends we felt so at home and comfortable. The Riad is in a great location as its in a quiet area just a few minutes walk from the souks and all the excitement that Marrakech has to offer. Our stay was a Five star experience, the service was excellent and the team are lovely. The design and decor in the place is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are beautiful. The effort that went in to building and creating this Riad can be seen throughout. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice and I would highly recommend the french toast - best I have ever had! Check out the website to view the pictures as it is as good as it looks! We were offered tea every evening when we returned and there was always a nice suprise served with it from home made cake to small pastries. Attention to detail is excellent and nothing has been overlooked. The Terrace is really comfortable and the perfect place to enjoy the sun. I highly recommend Assakina and wouldnt stay any where else whilst in Marrakech. Looking forward to the next time already!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing