We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #11 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our stay at the Riad was nothing short of exceptional. Grant and Michelle not only made us feel right at home, they went above and beyond to make our stay as good as possible. From specially prepared maps of the Medina and its many sights to afternoon tea, from fashion advice to shopping tips, everyone made sure that everything we did not want for anything. I am especially grateful for the larger room we were given, once it became clear that my mother was joining me on the trip. All in all, they were incredibly attentive and gracious hosts.

Their attention to detail also shows in the design of the riad and its daily workings. It is clearly apparent that every little detail was chosen with great care, and as the pictures demonstrate, the riad is beautiful. Every room has its own theme (note the color coordination of room and room-keys), and I want to come back just to have the chance to explore another one. Also, the roof terrace is wonderful, and there is nothing better than drinking mint tea in the evening breeze after a long day of exploring the bustling souks.

All in all, both me and my mother loved it, and we hope to be back soon. This place is truly a gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hybrid_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
368
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had a 7 night stay and found the hints and tips from our hosts Grant and Michelle to be invaluable, they could not do enough for our party of 6. The accomodation was of an excellent standard and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts and food was of an outstanding quality and taste, and the staff who looked after us couldn't be more helpful and friendly to any requests.It was a pleasure to return to our oasis of calm and luxury and enjoy the sights and sounds from the rooftop terrace. Can recommend without hesitation you won't be dissapointed with Riad Assakina, we weren't. Marrakesh is a city that grows on you, it is buzzing and at times mad, however that's what makes it so very different.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talisker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had long anticipated a return visit to Riad Assakina having first stayed for a week in April 2010. Everything about this Riad is fantastic, Michele and Grant, with a fantastic team behind them, continue to provide that little bit extra that made our second visit as memorable as our first.
Nothing is too much trouble for the team at Riad Assakina plenty of advice on where to buy all the genuine Moroccan products and where to eat in the evening after a long day spent in this busy city. After a welcome pot of mint tea and pastries Michele and Grant will always organise taxis to recommended restaurants, but if you want a more relaxing evening take advantage of dining 'in-house' for a romantic dinner under the stars served by our hosts themselves within expert help by Hicham. Also if you want some high class shopping without all the hassle Michele sells a range of carefully selected products from her beautifully decorated boutique.
Riad Assakina is centrally situated in the Mellah district within easy walking distance of many of the key places to visit including Djemaa El Fna square and the Souks, Bahai Palace, Place de Ferblantiers and the Spice souk with the northern part of the city just a short taxi ride away.
We certainly hope to make a return visit and as ever will recommend Riad Assakina to anyone who dreams of visiting Marrakech, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I went with my husband to Marrakech for the first time in March and we stayed at Riad Assakina for few nights. We had arranged for a airport pickup which I highly reccomend. When we arrived at the riad it was like meeting friends, we were greeted with such hospitality. Michele helped us pick a restaurant the first night and Hicham kindly walked with us to the restaurant. The room that we stayed in was beutifully deckorated, the bed was really comfortable and the breakfast delicious. (Sometimes I dream about the french toast :-) )
Riad Assakina is really well located in the Mellah, Jewish quarter of the Medina, in a walking distance from the Souks and a minute walk from the Bahia Palace.

The reason why I would choose Riad Assakina is the personal aspect, it felt like staying with friends. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and Michele exceptionally likeable and friendly. Unfortunately we didn't meet Grant since he was away in UK.

I hope that I'll have the chance to visiting the Assakina again sooner than later.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steinunnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

It’s been two years since my husband and I visited Riad Assakina and I hoped it would live up to my high expectations. Happy to say it certainly did. Michelle greeted us with mint tea and walnut stuffed dates and we caught up on what’s new. Due to a cancellation, she kindly upgraded us to a larger room for free. The riad looked even more beautiful than before – Michelle’s attention to detail is faultless. We had afternoon tea and Morrocan pastries most days and wandered round the city taking in the sights. Michelle told us what exhibitions were on – we enjoyed the photographic exhibition and revisited some old favourites including Yves Saint Laurent’s wonderful Marjorelle Gardens in the French quarter. The riad provided a welcome sanctuary from all the hustle and bustle and one evening we enjoyed a fantastic home-cooked dinner there which was as good as you might find in any top restaurant. The flavours of our tagine and pastille were phenomenal. Michelle arranged to have one of her team buy spices for us at the local market (at a fraction of the cost and probably much fresher than we could have got ourselves). The friendly, welcoming team looked after us very well and we had a lovely relaxing holiday again! We will be back I’m sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I visited Marrakech last October with a friend, staying at Riad Assakina. We had an amazing time and could not fault any aspect of our stay, infact I enjoyed it so much I decided that I really should take my husband, who I knew would love it as much as I had. We have just returned after spending a few wonderful days. Michele is an incredible host, nothing is too much trouble, the staff are extremely courteous and friendly and make you feel so much at home, and it is obvious that they all really enjoy working with Michele too, it is heart warming to see them happy too. If you have the opportunity try and find time to have a meal at the riad, superb food in romantic surroundings. The riad is beautifully furnished and Michele has paid so much attention to detail. We would thoroughly recommend that if you decide to visit Marrakech then try and book Assakina - you will not be disappointed and am sure that like us you will want to return. The only sad thing about our visit, Grant was back in the UK - it would have been lovely to see him again too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisejlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

It was our first trip to marrakesh so we were a little nervous not being arabic speakers,daft really...As organised the Riad's cab[pre- paid] collected us from the airport and duly delivered withj some sightseeing guidance en route.From the moment you enter off this side alley the home team seemingly cannot do enough.acting as restaurant guides to supplement the guides,instructing taxis to even buying fresh herbs..matters were dealt with.Nice breakfast and snacks complemented the ever open bar.After a day dealing with the locals,who can be pains in the proverbial and on the con,it was always such a joy to be settled down by our hosts Michele and Grant,who really took an interest in us.The small boutique probably offers the best quality and value for money in town--stunning clothes made to order.Our room was Kaid,massive bed and loads of space...delightful.Rooftop terrace everything I had imagined and was brilliant when sun was out.never got to eat in very romantic central courtyard real shame.Worst bit was leaving.This is a place that deserves to be full.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlesavilerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing