We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A worthwhile splurge!"”
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #7 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"A worthwhile splurge!"”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Following a tour of Morocco in October, my husband and I splurged on a five night stay at a riad as part of a 30th anniversary getaway. I was thrilled that a suite at Riad Assakina was actually available when making plans a few months ago. I had fallen in love with this place online for about two years and we were not disappointed. The place is even more beautiful than the pictures thanks to Michelle's touch... and Grant's witty charm added to the whole experience. Impeccable service from the hosts and all the staff. We looked forward to the fabulous breakfast served in the beautiful courtyard every morning. Information was generously dispensed on anything needed. I even found an antique fibula (berber brooch) at a fair price. Thanks Michelle! And thanks so much, Hisham, for taking care of us in the evenings when we returned from the madness of Marrakesh. Loved this city...loved this riad!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upupandaway825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
374
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went to Riad Assakina as a group of 6 - (3 couples) to celebrate my 40th b'day. It was my first time to Marrakech. They organised our transfer from the airport to the Riad which went very smoothly and is only 15 mins away from the airport. It's in a perfect location and you can walk everywhere really easily. We rang the bell and went into the Riad where we were met by Grant & Michelle. They were so hospitable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Riad itself is extremely tastefully decorated and bearing in mind the chaos and hustle and bustle of the streets outside - once inside the Riad you are filled with a feeling of peace and tranquility. We had the best time and will defo be back as sooon as possible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but we stayed in the Kaid suite which was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tots186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I can do nothing but echo the fantastic reviews by others of Riad Assakina.

As an experienced traveler to Marrakech over the past six years, I can say that Grant and Michelle have created a wonderful Riad experience and I will be back.

From the first contact prior to booking, their personal touch and commitment is evident. The attention to detail by the owners and their staff strikes a fantastic balance of privacy and service. We arrived with our kids, for three nights, and they made sure we had just the right combination of rooms to suit our needs - in order to maximize the enjoyment of our stay. They touched base at the right times, while we were there, to make sure we had directions, restaurant reservations/recommendations, afternoon tea/beer, shopping advice, transfers.....

Riad Assakina is in a fantastic location, in easy walking distance to everything in the Medina and on the doorstep of a number of sites you will surely explore. We walked everywhere and felt safe the entire time.

The design of the space in the Riad is crisp with great attention to detail throughout. Rooms are generously sized and the terrace offers great lounging space, fantastic rooftop views and sunsets while you put your feet up.

If you're looking for the genuine Medina experience but with the comforts and service of a beautiful, new boutique hotel - look no further than the experience Grant and Michelle have created at Riad Assakina.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in Riad Assakina in mid-November for 3 nights. I must say I chose Riad Assakina largely based on the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and because I just loved the Almohavid Suite's pictures. We were picked up at the airport by a driver (arranged by the Riad) and were welcomed by Grant and Michele with whom we had mint tea and moroccan pastries whilst they talked us through important information about the Riad itself, places to eat and visit. The Riad was just amazing - beautifully decorated, relaxing, peaceful, clean and the staff very kind and friendly. We had dinner on our first night at the Tanjia (recommended by Grant) and had a wonderful time there... both food and ambiance were great (belly dancers). One of the highlights of our stay was the candlelit dinner we had at Riad Assakina... great experience and the food (prepared by Meryem) was excellent - we finished every single bit of the chicken couscous, tajine and pastilla! Michele and Grant are very kind and hospitable hosts always keen to help with bookings, tips about shopping, where to eat etc. We highly recommend Riad Assakina and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Almohavid Suite - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed here with my best friend in early November for 3 nights. We were met at the airport by a transfer arranged by the Riad, and upon arriving we were welcomed by the wonderful owners and hosts Michelle and Grant.

I could wax lyrical for ages about the Riad but I think that I would be repeating a lot of what has already been said! Wonderful, friendly helpful advice from Michelle and Grant- they went far beyond the expected whilst booking tables for dinner and a relaxing hammam session, and they worked their socks off to make our stay an individually tailored and very special one. They prepared maps for us, showed us around the area, arranged copious mint tea and cake pit-stops, and took the time to sit and chat with us as well as all of the other guests over a glass of wine in the evening.

Assakina's amazing staff were just as attentive and helpful- I cannot fault a single thing. It really felt like we were staying at a friend's house for a few days- exemplary and impeccable service and far beyond what we ever expected. Zack the rescue cat was also a welcome addition to the Assakina family and he made an excellent (somewhat cheeky) companion when we crept up to watch the sun rise over the city early one morning.

The Riad itself was beautiful- it was tasteful, quintessentially Moroccan and incredibly luxurious. Lots of small details that really added to the feel of the place. My friend and I spent a lot of time relaxing on the Riad itself where as usually we would have been out exploring the city, as it was just such a lovely place to be!

Riad Assakina deserves every iota of praise it gets. If you are staying in central Marrakech, do not think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceewilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Reading the other reviews, I would echo all the positive comments about Riad Assakina. We stayed for 4 nights in October with our two children aged 11 and 8 years. We were warmly welcomed by Michelle and Grant, who really do provide such a personal touch to this Riad. They explained how to get about, all the best places to see, shop and eat, and answered any questions we had. The Riad was a safe, serene and yet friendly place. It really did feel like an oasis in the Medina. The location was perfect, with the main square and souks all within easy walking distance. Many of the historical sights and palaces were literally on the doorstep. The Tangier restaurant, complete with what my children called "belly-button dancers" was a safe 5 minute walk away at night. We had 2 nights in the smaller adjoining rooms (Berber room) on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Perfect for a family like ours. We had another 2 nights in suits on the first floor next door to each other. The decor in the suites was beautiful and it again worked well for us. The Riad was very quiet at night, a pleasant surprise. The rooms were all air-conditioned. There were plenty of cosy private spots to sit and read a book during the day without feeling crowded, although equally there was a great banter over drinks in the evening on the roof terrace with the other guests. The evening meal we had in the Riad for my birthday was of a high quality, and very tasty with good choice of traditional Moroccan cuisine. I would say that the Riad would be most suitable for older children (8+) who hopefully would be less likely to disturb the peaceful ambience. Luckily, mine were on their best behaviour for once! Michelle's tasteful collection of gifts and jewellery was well worth a browse, and I bought one of her beautiful handmade kaftans. With Zac, the Riad's cat (with a colourful character), to entertain the children, the whole experience was absolutely perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Assakina to anyone. If you are staying in Marrakech with children, check out the Ousira water park, just a short taxi ride away: a great break from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel is a wonderful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The accommodation is absolutely wonderful and the owners, Grant and Michele, really go that extra mile to make sure all guests get the full benefit of their Marrakech experience. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and their staff are just a helpful and attentive. As well as making sure that our experience of the Riad was faultless, they also make sure that taxis, restaurants, trips etc are all booked for you. They are also there to provide any support and guidance you might need. This even extends to helping with shopping and restaurant tips. I cannot speak highly enough of the Riad, which is conveniently located within the medina and close to all the main attractions of the old city. It is also a short and reasonably priced (don't forgot to negotiate!) taxi ride from all the sights of the newer areas.

Room Tip: We managed to see most of the rooms and all were very clean with an impressive decor and array of lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing