We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #10 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Personal excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Highly recommended! Choosing Riad Assakina greatly contributed to making our trip so fantastic. We appreciated the warm welcome and the friendly service, as well as the atmosphere and stylish décor. You could tell that every detail was cared for. Most of all, we valued the personal tips and advice on where to go that enabled us to enjoy all the best bits and pieces of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
364
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Everything was welcoming, organised and most impressively always friendly for the three nights we spent at Riad Assakina... It was truly excellent. The rooms are marvellous as is the service and the smiles you meet everywhere in the riad. The food was fantastic and we received spot on advice for everything from shopping in the soukh to which restaurants to go to. The only regret for us is that we only stayed three nights! A very warm recommendation from here - it is like being welcomed into a family of staff, owners and fellow guests that make the stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW_Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We only had one night at the riad as guests of Grant and Michelle but were made to feel very welcome.
The riad is just lovely - decorated with Michelle's good eye and excellent taste and the small touches of help, advice, friendliness and thoughtfulness made for such a lovely short stay.
Anyone who wants a beautiful place to stay with excellent service, close to the action but not overwhelmed by it, should consider staying here

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Hi , my partner and I stayed here in November 2011 for 5 nights . it was part of my freinds 40th birthday celebrations .. Tim and I have visited Marrakech 7 times previous and always stayed in a large hotel , it was my friend that found this little 'jewel' through a friend of hers ..
Rhiad Assakina is absolutely the most beautiful Rhiad, it is perfectely situated just a short walking Distance from the hustle and bustle of the main square . the decor and Rooms are all extremely tasteful with lots of very interesting Artifacts to look at in each room .. The Ambience is that of complete relaxation..
Michell and Grant , who own the Rhiad and are both English , are the ultimate in hosts , nothing is too much trouble and anything you need and want is sorted , reservations, taxi's , shopping, Hamman appts , to name a few .

Tim and I will never be staying in a Hotel again in Marrakech, Rhiad assakina is now our 2nd home from home .
Thankyou. Bernadette Hone ( Sevenaoks. Kent)

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had a wonderful stay with my family and significant other this past month. We all delighted in the beautiful tranquility of Riad Assakina. We all remarked on the sharp contrast between the busy, dusty world of Marrakesh just outside the gates, and our beautiful, clean, airy home away -from-home at the Riad. Owners Michelle and Grant have struck the perfect balance of inviting homey-ness and stylish, up-to-date facilities which remind you that your temporary home is also a world-class hotel.

The service amazed me. Grant and Michelle bent over backwards to schedule day-trips, pore over maps of the city with us giving very personalized recommendations and meeting our every need while we were in residence. Isham, who works there, was so kind and helpful, bringing tea and cakes up to the rooftop for us as we watched the sun set over the city each night. He stayed on duty all night to let in late-arrival guests and made us feel very safe. Thanks to their chef- we decided to stay in and relax one night, on short notice she prepared dinner for eight of us and it was actually the best meal of the trip!

I recommend the Riad Assakina very highly, I'll never forget the fantastic experience they created for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hempstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful Riad for a few days in Nov 2011. The owners Michelle and Grant have made a truly amazing job in the design of this beautiful and elegant courtyard Riad, utterly peaceful and yet conveniently close to the very heart of the old city. From the roof terrace one can see over the city roofs to the Atlas mountains beyond. A fantastic location! Our room was luxuriously comfortable and the breakfasts delicous. Michelle and Grant are a delightful, friendly couple and endlessly helpful in giving directions, maps, advice about good places to eat and where to get the best bargains in the Souks. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough for anyone making a visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband, myself and our three adult children plus significant others have just returned from a delightful week in the capable hands of the delightful Michelle and Grant. Michelle, an interior designer by trade with a degree in Islamic art, has transformed from the ground up what was once a brothel in the Jewish quarter of the medina into palace of earthly delights. Form meets function as authentic Islamic art lavishly adorns super-comfortable rooms equipped with solid western plumbing.

Michelle and Grant both are a wealth of information, gladly given. Breakfasts are delicious and lunches and suppers in house were home-cooked and some of the best Moroccan food we ate during our stay. Meticulous attention to every detail makes the whole place sparkle.

Michelle's shopping advice is unparalleled with maps and agreed upon pre-bargained prices at her favorite shops in the souk, if desired. She untiringly researched options for a camping trip into the desert on camelback and a few days by the sea.

Zack the cat deserves special mention for antics and cuddliness.

Would I recommend this riad? ABSOLUTELY!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s_hempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing