We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #5 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Riad Assakina is a wonderful Riad in a great location for many of the sites. The service and room were great. The breakfast was substantial - offering French and Morrocan pastries, orange juice and coffee or tea to start with! You can then select one of a number of dishes including eggs, tomato and potato; fresh fruit or fruit compote and yoghurt; cereals of various types. It is enough to take you right through to the evening! Though if you are hungry, they provide tea or coffee with Morrocan pastries in the afternoon as part of the package. If you give advance notice, you can have dinner at the Riad but we did not take advantage of this.

In the warm weather, there is a lovely roof terrace while in colder weather the living room is cozy and warm.

Grant had organized a taxi from the airport for us making our arrival hassle free and Michele greeted us with mint tea and gave us tips and a map on where to go; she also booked a hammam for us (persuading my husband that he would enjoy it too ... and he did!).

The local staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel 'at home'.

All in all we had a fabulous experience.

Martin and Viviane

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinandviviane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Riad Assakina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stunning, elegant and spotless place; inspiring, hardworking and caring owner; lovely, welcoming, and dedicated staff. If you want to treat yourself with a memorable trip to Marrakesh and don't have time to prepare anything, this the best place to discover this fascinating city. Riad Assakina staff will make everything and give you the best tips to make it a total success.

Room Tip: Depend on your budget, but all rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This Holiday was a year in planning. My best friend and I were discussing what I should do for my 50th Birthday, We wanted to go somewhere different. So we decided on Marrakech, husband and partners all in for the adventure. Taxi picked us up which was organised by the Riad, 15 mins later you are in the middle of the city, walking through your door to the Riad Assakina, an Oasis amongst the hustle of which is Marrakech. Our hosts the owners Michele and Grant were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, to organising taxi's out in the evening, to the recommendations to restaurants/historical interests, to where to go in the souks. Even walking us out to the best places to buy the wonderful mental lamps/lighting that you see adorn everywhere in the Riad. This holiday for me was made extra special and my partner, who proposed to me on my birthday, My fiance along with my best friend had been planning this for the whole year, along with Michele and Grant they had organised a beautiful meal cooked in the Riad, ever attention to detail had been given to us, truly a wonderful holiday, for me the perfect location. A holiday that i will never forget ever, thanks to everyone at Riad Assakina making our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Grant and Michelle are the most wonderful hosts! They made our stay (in this really extraordinary hotel) an absolute delight. The space, ambiance, staff, service, breakfasts and entire experience were fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryandClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent four nights at Riad Assakina and found it to be near-perfect. Hidden away in an interesting area of the medina, in easy walking distance of many sites. It's a little oasis in the hectic swirl that is Marrakech. Room was large and very comfortable, and the common areas were quite nice. Breakfast was terrific, as was daily tea, served whenever you return to the Riad. Best of all was service, including Michelle and her team, who organized meals and taxis, provided suggestions, etc. There are more glamarous and well-equipped luxury hotels in and outside the medina... this is not that. This is a cozy and intimate little spot and was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerMRNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

On the recommendation of our friends, we have come up with already high expectations into the Riad Assakina, all of which were exceeded. The hotel is a little paradise, and the two hosts are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are each individually very tastefully decorated in country style, and there are a splendid shaded patio, where you can enjoy breakfast and dinner, and the beautiful roof terraces with lounge chairs allow a wonderful view of the city with a sundowner. The hotel is very centrally located; you can reach virtually all the sights of the old town easily on foot. We will definitely come back. Relaxing place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaMorila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at Riad Assakina for 2 nights on the back side of our 4 day trip to Marrakech. The service at the Riad were extremely friendly and helpful, and Michele, one the owners, provided invaluable tips on where and where not to go in the short time we had there. The Riad itself is by far the most stylish we have seen in Marrakech (we visited quite a few other ones when we were there, as we intend to return to Marrakech), but they didn't quite pull everything together as Riad Assakina did (you can really tell that the owner is an interior designer). The location is also great, as it is within the Medina, and yet close enough the city gates that you can grab a taxi and be anywhere outside of the center very quickly. Breakfast, which was included, was delicious and the crowd matched will with our expectations (international, open-minded, discrete). We have recommended this Riad to all of our friends who plan to visit Morocco and plan to return here ourselves the next time we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 501 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 501 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 501 in Marrakech
817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#4 of 501 in Marrakech
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £111 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing