We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sea of tranquility in a Maelstrom of Madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #12 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A sea of tranquility in a Maelstrom of Madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We travelled to Marrakech with our two daughters (7 and 9) and were a little worried about booking a Riad as the guides to Marrakech say 'book a large hotel' if travelling with children so there's plenty to do. We were constantly concious of having the only children in the Riad and it was a fine line between not upsetting the other guests and letting the kids be kids. However, whilst we were concious of the noise levels the other guests were great and this Riad really is a 'home from home' where you can enter and shut out the madness of the world outside.
Food was excellent and we ate here a couple of nights and had lunch most days. The prices in the Riad are on par with the other 'good restaurants' and the drinks were reasonable and most importantly the wine and beers always well chilled!
Michele's knowledge of Marrakech is second to non and she can direct you to wherever you need to go or advise on whatever it is you want to purchase. Booking taxi's and making dinner reservations are no problem to her and she will help you get the best experience you can from your visit. The team are great and are on hand to assist 24/7 if you need them.
Our only reservation from the Riad Assikina was brought on by travelling here with two small(ish) children. Would I stay again? Definitely, but I might be inclined to book a larger hotel if my children were any younger.
Michele, takes great pride in her decor and her taste and detail is excellent throughout. Her team appear very loyal and the lovely ladies in the kitchen could put up with my broken French although the English of the rest of the team is excellent.
Be wary of some of the other reviews that mention numberous cats! There is one cat called Zac who belongs to Michele and Grant. He spends most of his time asleep and when he's not asleep he's resting in the shade, there were certainly no cats around the tables or indeed any other cars in the Riad itself.
Our family slept about 10 hours a night which is a first for us - great blackout curtains and shutters and a very comfortable bed helped! We also had some great guests staying at the same time which added to the intimacy of the Riad atmosphere.
Book the Assakina with confidence, but if you have kids who just want to splash in a pool all day, maybe look for something a little less traditional and more commercialised.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastbourneFamilyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
368
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

A home away from home. During our visit to Marrakech, we could not decide where to stay in the many beautifully restored riads and palaces converted to hotels. So we ended up staying longer than expected and stayed at a riad (Riad Assakina), the historical La Mamounia, and as Aman Resort junkies, how could we leave out Amajena..

Our conclusion, our most memorable stay was at Riad Assakina. From the time we entered this haven till Michelle checked us out, it was a memorable experience hard to beat.

What does Riad Assakina have, that La Mamounia and Amanjena lacks- it had Michelle.

Thank you Michelle for the personalized guides and maps you gave us to help us make our way through the Old Town. She took the time to patiently answer all my queries and gave me detailed info as to what was the best way to go. WOW, she was a walking guide book.

We were served a scrumptious breakfast to start our day. They had different choices everyday and when we requested for anything, they went out of their way to satisfy our cravings. And each day, Michelle was there to make sure each of her guests’ plans for the day went smoothly .

The riad is a tranquil haven away from the maddening crowds in the Old Town. The rooms had the perfect combination of old world Morrocan charm with modern touches. The courtyard and roof-top lounge, a perfect place to rest when the day got a bit warm or after a long day walking about. The suites are worth paying extra for..

Thank you to Michelle’s staff Naouel and Hisham- always there for all our needs –

Michelle helped me pack my shopping and taught me how to ship it. Not even my local guide could help me on this. Saved me from paying overweight going to my next destination . And I got to buy more !!! Talk about going the extra mile for your guests

If I were to rate Marrakech City on it’s own, it would be a 6. But coupled with our stay at Riad Assakina, the entire vacation is a 10 !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CQM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Apologies for lateness of review but we have just returned from our family holiday( the Riad Assakina and Marrakech was just a treat for my husband and me!).

What can I say, we were bowled over by the Riad Assakina from the moment we arrived, when Michelle greeted us with peppermint tea and lots of useful advice for making the most of our stay in Marrakech. Michelle is happy to make dinner reservations, organise airport transfers, give directions and maps, and help out in any way she can.

Our room was just beautiful, as was the whole Riad, and it was obvious how much care and attention to every little detail had been taken. If you look at the book filled with photos of the Riad's "before and after", you will be amazed.

Breakfasts at the Riad Assakina were very good and plentiful, with things like pancakes with banana, french bread with cinammon and drizzled with honey, eggs done to your preference, accompanied by toast etc, and as much tea/ coffee as you wished. We also ate lunch on the day we left Marrakech and it was delicious too and we felt, very good value.
The staff were all so friendly and courteous and couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was Hisham guiding us to a cash machine so we could change some money then taking us to our restaurant on our first night, the girls finding us with our afternoon tea each day wherever we had secreted ourselves in the Riad,(usually beside the splash pool on the terrace as it was pretty hot!) or in bringing us our bottle of wine each evening as we sat way up at the top of the Riad on the roof terrace and chilled out, as we watched the sun setting and the storks nesting on nearby rooftops.
To give you an example, I left a pair of earrings in our suite on the day we left and hadn't even realised that I had done so. They were found when the room was being cleaned. When we got home, there was an email waiting for us from Michelle, saying that her husband would post them back to me, when he returned to UK shortly and this was what happened. Exactly the sort of service we had come to expect from the Riad Assakina.
In short, I cannot honestly think of one negative thing to say about the Riad Assakina. My husband and I both agree that it was our favourite holiday together, and this is due, in no small part, to the wonderful Riad Assakina, so beautiful, so calm and so civilized in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had a great time in Marrakech and it was made all the more special due to staying at this Riad. The owners and staff were excellent and the rooms and spaces are lovely. We found the location perfect, just out of all the bustle and received no hassle at all walking around in the evening. Could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markedgington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Riad Assikina is an OK place to stay, but to be honest, after my visit I am surprised with all the great reviews it gets.
As per an earlier reviewer had mentioned, the Complimentary afternoon tea was also not offered after 5:00pm to us.
Value wise , I do feel it was expensive for what it was, we had friends staying at another Riad within the medina, and they paid less, but they did seem to get a lot more for their money, including a complimentary car service to and from the airport (which we were charged for) and free soft drinks.
The food we had was good, but we did not go away feeling it was the best, we were with two other guests eating dinner, and the service was very haphazard. The staff did seem to be overworked.
I really did not appreciate the local cats either, they were round our tables as we ate, and were sometimes in our room, (we could smell that they had been there) If you are allergic to cats, as I am, you should be aware of this.
It was also the most expensive meal we ate within our four day stay in Marrakech.
The best meal we had was on the food stalls, wonderful value, and a must to try.
Unfortunately the area is not particularly desirable, with mopeds speeding up and down besides you, my husband was hit by one, he hurt his knee the driver just swore at him, and carried on riding.
There was rubbish on the streets, and the local children were constantly hassling us for money as soon as we stepped outside the door.
We did not have any good nights sleep, as there were unfortunately early morning arrivals and late night departures, and we could everything, and all the guests coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank candyuk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock_Critic, Owner at Riad Assakina, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
We are sorry to note that "candyuk53" had various issues with his or her stay, allegedly at our riad.

We have been voted Tripadvisor’s Best Bargain Hotel in Africa; and have won an award for Best Service. We also have a great many genuine 5 star reviews which we hope will give you comfort as to the true position.

We do, however, take strong objection to reviewers presenting factual inaccuracies.

We serve complimentary tea and Moroccan pastries whenever guests return to the riad; we are situated next to a Royal Palace with police at the end of the street (so there are no speeding mopeds); guests enjoy private dining (not dining with cats or even other guests); our street is cleaned every morning; etc. The inaccuracies are endless.

We invite you to draw your own conclusions as to the intentions of this reviewer; and look forward to welcoming you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarifa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at Riad Assakina at the end of June for our wedding anniversary. A lot of research went into our choice of where to stay and after much deliberation we feel we definitely made the right choice. In fact this is probably one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed. Perfectly located close enough, but not too close, to the hustle and bustle of the medina, it is an oasis of calm and luxury. Grant and Michelle (the owners) treated us as if friends and their local knowledge was essential when visiting for the first time. The Riad itself is exquisite. And if you want to be even more amazed at what has been done here take a look at the book of photographs that chart the progress from rubble to riad. The attention to detail is fabulous and the decoration of the Riad is so obviously a passion of Michelle's. Breakfast was divine, the service from the amazing staff as well, was second to none. We will definitely be back, and would recommend this idyllic Riad to anyone who enjoys a bit of luxury along with the friendly personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarifaJaneAndNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My wife and I have always wanted to visit Marrakech. Being a little wary as it was our first visit, we were glad we chose to stay in the Riad Assakina. We arrived quite late but we still took advantage of the free transfer from the airport to the hotel offered by our travel agency (we found this hotel on luxury-riads.com). That was just as well because Marrakech was a bit of a culture shock really. Anyway we were very pleased with this hotel and found the information supplied by the owners invaluable when trying to make our way around this crazy place. Would definitely recommend this place and if we come back we’ll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing